We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and hip cafe”

The House Cafe Tunel
Ranked #1,116 of 13,724 Restaurants in Istanbul
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Beyoglu
Moscow, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice and hip cafe”
Reviewed 20 February 2013

nice place to have dinner next to tunel. Nice decor and people around. Tasty soup'n'pie with chicken, slowly and not really friendly staff

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank PurplLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THC_Management, Manager at The House Cafe Tunel, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The House Cafe Tünel,
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.

First of all, we would like to thank you for your complements on the design and our joyful atmosphere. Our whole staff members are trained on a regular basis and checked properly. We are sorry to hear that your experience about service did not meet your expectations. We took note of your comments and we would like you to contact us with further details about your visit or any other point you would like to share with us.

We hope to see you again and welcome you back to The House Café.

Kind Regards,
THC Customer Relations Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    32
    12
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bursa, Turkey
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Still the best chain”
Reviewed 13 February 2013

The House cafe was the best chain cafe/bistro in Istanbul to have this house style. Followed up by many other chains, The House for me is still the best. Non of the other chains have this much selected food and drinks menu. Everything here is specially designed and nothing is simply served. All the plates are treated as art. You ask for an espresso. They bring you a small fruit plate, cookies and a cup of water with apples. 7 TL is not too much for this service, considering that you pay more or less the same for a simple cup.
Yes, the chain grew very fast and yes they had problems to standardise the waitresses. But today they are the best chain cafe/bistro in Turkey.
They also accord themselves to the location they are. The branch in Asmalimescit reflects all the spirit of Tunel Area.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HED81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice surprise Came out for dinner”
Reviewed 28 December 2012

We were walking around at Tunel area after a long long touristic day and after reading the menu we found The House Cafe appropiate for a slow diner. Good food, nice service, relaxing music, adequate Distance between tables and good selection of drinks, including cocktails. The only thing we didn't like was The price of wine by the glass.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fernando P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food isn't excellent. Interior design, service, and staff are.”
Reviewed 16 December 2012

I stayed in Istanbul for a year due to work, and The House Cafe was the place I visited the most. From breakfast to dinner, you can have every meal here. Food isn't the best but it's definitely not bad. (Perhaps I was spoiled by how amazing the food is in Istanbul in general. If I didn't have more delicious meals at other restaurants, I'd say The House Cafe's food was great, but when I compare now, I can only use the word 'good'.) So why did I pick this place? It has a very home-like interior design as its name hints at. The presentation of drinks and food are both lovely. And especially The House Cafe in Ortakoy had a wonderful view. Staff is very friendly.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SophiaB83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Elegance restaurant”
Reviewed 13 December 2012

Elegance restaurant and cafe chain in the main attractions. For exampe there are two house cafe's on Taksim district. one of them is in Tunnel, the other is on İstiklal caddesi after Galatasaray Lisesi on the left side.Ortakoy's view is fantastic.There is also one in Teşvikiye.But i am recommending one of them in Taksim district and ortaköy.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank pearlingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The House Cafe Tunel also viewed

 

Been to The House Cafe Tunel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing