We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a delightful find”
Review of Neyzade Restaurant

Neyzade Restaurant
Ranked #81 of 13,715 Restaurants in Istanbul
Price range: US$25 - US$35
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Sultanahmet
Description: REGIONAL TURKISH FOOD
South Pasadena, CA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“a delightful find”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We arrived tired from a flight from Los Angeles to Istanbul and delays related to a lost bag at the Istanbul airport. The staff at both Neyzade and the Sirkeci Mansion hotel (where the restaurant is located) could not have been more helpful and accomodating and we had a delicious meal. My lamb was superb. Breakfast was a treat every morning that we stayedin the hotel.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MrSteve316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    382
    129
    17
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great food and view”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

They've recently opened up their rooftop for seating which offers a view of the palace gardens and the streets below. The food is great, they have vegetarian and a couple of vegan options as well. The hotel itself is wonderful too so all in all a great experience.

Helpful?
1 Thank binnyliu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
55 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“An Excellent Dinner”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

The NEYZADE Restaurant in Istanbul, Turkey is a small restaurant but it is a real gem. I do not recall the name of the street on which it is located but the restaurant is located between Topkapi palace and the hotel Prince. We came across it because it was almost next door to our hotel and we were looking for a decent place for dinner within walking distance. Although the front of the restaurant is unpretentious, it is quite spacious and it was full to capacity. It seemed at the first glance that most all customers were tourists from across the Atlantic. Although we did not have a reservation, we were accommodated graciously. The wait person spoke English reasonably well and welcomed us with a smile. The service was immaculate and the courses followed in a timely fashion. We particularly appreciated some personal touch. Our daughter is very allergic to all kinds of nuts. It is our standard question in every restaurant whether any preparation contains any nut at all. When our waiter (I regret that I did not jot down his name) came to know of this fact, he got a special hummus made for her without any nut at all for her appetizer, although we insisted that it was not necessary. That gesture bowled us over. The dishes were delicious and were elegantly presented, as one would expect in a much more expensive restaurant. My lamb preparation was excellent. All in all, we had a very pleasant dinner in Istanbul.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveler_Worldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful on a Quiet Street”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We had our last dinner in Istanbul at Neyzade. It is in the Sirkeci Mansion on a lovely little quiet street with street views. The menu offered many choices of regional dishes. The Lentil soup was the best I have ever had. They also have a very nice wine list and the wait staff is very attentive. It was a great conclusion to our time in Istanbul.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank MKW-AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
379 reviews
253 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“A great finale!”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Our dining experience in Istanbul just got better and better! The restaurant is of the same group as the Ilkay Hotel and a flyer in the room was left unnoticed until the last evening of our stays. The restaurant is next to the lobby of the Sirkeci Mansion and when we walked by the restaurant and didn't see that many people we were a bit scepticle at first. We were warmly greeted and welcomed by the waiter and the manager as soon as we entered and seated.

The menu offers a range of regional dishes, including the Cazlak Kebab (braised then baked beef medallion) and the Fener Baligi (Monk fish) we ordered. The beef was superbly tender and juicy and the fish was fresh and not overcooked. Service was great too and prices reasonable for the quality of food and ambience.

It was a great evening to wrap up our 4 days in Istanbul!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Billy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Neyzade Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Neyzade Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing