We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING HOTEL. AMAZING CITY. AMAZING STAFF”
Review of W Istanbul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
W Istanbul
Ranked #121 of 1,160 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2011

This hotel totally is one of the best I have ever stayed in. Everything was just right.

Location is in the upscale, modern area of Istanbul. Great location for visiting all the sights. Tram is a short walk away. Taxis are cheap.

Staff: AMAZING. We stayed for 5 nights and they were all great. Very helpful and knowledgeable.

Rooms: WOWOWOWOWOWOW!!! Not sure what ours was called but it had a lovely terrace area where we ate breakfast and relaxed. Stylish and modern. When I asked reception if I could have the bedding changed for anti-allergy it was done within the hour.

Food/Drink: We had breakfast in the hotel every morning. Lovely stuff. Although the staff were slightly confused by our strange requests for poached eggs and omlettes etc. Had to explain a few times! Not their fault. Serves us right for being so fussy!

Bar: Lovely. Try a Kisstanbul cocktail! I had a few too many. :)

Door Staff: Very helpful getting taxis for us and helping with directions.

Istanbul is an amazing place. Highly recommend to all. So much to see and do and the Turkish people are so friendly. A real melting pot of cultures. We loved it!

Room Tip: Go on a boat trip! See East and West!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TIpperGee13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,416)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,033 - 1,039 of 1,417 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2011

The location is the real issue as the traffic in Istanbul is terrible so it takes forever to get anywhere. We stayed in another hotel in the old city for a few nights and would highly recommend anyone going to Istanbul to stay in the old city.

Another thing that got me upset is that there was no coffee facilities in the room! for the price you pay you really should have tea and coffee facilities. Also WIFI was a complete Rip off. I still don't understand why some hotels charge you for WIFI when the local backpackers around the corner gives it away for free!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luke K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TiaInIstanbul, Public Relations Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2011

Dear W Guest,
We are delighted that you chose W Istanbul for your stay. Thank you for also taking the time to share your feedback with us, it is extremely valuable. It is true, that there is a lot of traffic in Istanbul - over 16 million people! If you are coming to Istanbul and want to only visit the historic sites in the city, the "Old City" is the location. We are located in the middle of city and so, you can travel to the Old City (I recommend taking the tram) to Taksim, Beyoglu, Cihangir and Galata by taxi and by walking to Ortakoy to take a boat ride up the Bosphorus. There are also gorgeous and less touristy areas up the Bosphorus, which give you a completely different perspective of the city. Arnavutkoy is charming, Bebek is chic and fun, and the super clubs and amazing waterfront restaurants are in Kurecesme. All of these places are not too far from the W.
We apologize that you were dissapointed with the in-room internet charge and lack of coffee machines.
Thank you so much,
The W Istanbul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2011

very trendy hotel however, we thought it was a bit too expensive for what we got. the location is alright, could have been better if it was on the water. the food was good to. the bar was brilliant. but somehow it lacked that something special.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gaurav797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2011

I've seen different W hotels, mainly in the US and always loved them for design, quality of facilities and great service. Obviously, I expected the same from this W. Sadly, my expectations were not met.
The hotel is located on a hill. So if you are on the first or second floor (that's where I was - don't know what the other floors are like), you are basically underground with no daylight - the rooms are facing back of the hill.
The room itself was horrible. There was no bathroom. Instead, toilet and shower are small closet-like spaces with doors opening into the front part of the room. If you are claustrophobic, forget about taking a shower.
Any hotel room, even in smaller-brand and cheaper hotels, usually has some basic things like shower cap, personal kit, etc. Not here. Even when requested, it took some time for them to understand what it was I was asking for. And of course, during the following 4 days of my stay the items were never replaced.
Service. What kind of service can you expect from people who are called not with titles assuming their functional responsivilities (like 'bell boy', 'room cleaning', etc.) but instead - 'talent'. They walk around with this huge chip on their shoulders knowing that they are 'talent'. And the guests are there, of course, to appluad. Except there is absolutely nothing to applaud for.
Like one of other reviewers mentioned before me, the staff is only interested in bar guests because those are the ones who spend lots of money there (W bar is one of the well-known hang-out places in Istanbul)
The week before my experience with W, I stayed at Park Hyatt. This was the best hotel experience I've had in a long time. Besides absolutely gorgeous and well-equipped room, this was the place where one feels cared and provided for every minute of his/her stay.
So given this benchmark as well as my prior stays at other W hotels, I think this one is a disgrace to the W name

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chukcha_reader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TiaInIstanbul, Public Relations Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2011

Dear Guest,
We are so extremely sorry that the design and service of W Istanbul did not live up to your expectations. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us and others. The hotel is in the middle of the Akaretler Row houses that were built in the 1870s and some rooms have private gardens and cabanas, we are sorry that your room was too dark for you.
The hotel is very design led and the open-concept bathrooms are unique. In the Fabulous Rooms and higher, there is a more traditional bathroom concept.
Warm regards,
The W Istanbul Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

The W is a beautiful hotel with gracious service, clean and comfortable rooms, and hip public areas. As other contributors have pointed out, the hotel is not walkable to any major attractions, and the tram is 15 minutes away by foot. On the one hand, it can be nice to stay away from the tourist areas and experience a newer part of town. On the other hand, constantly shlepping and paying for cabs can be trying after a few days. Still, 100% worth it if you're staying on points.

On a positive note, the service at the hotel is bar none. Doormen are always at the ready to help with luggage and hail a cab. Keep an eye out for Turgay, who works at the front desk; after arriving bleary-eyed and exhausted, he made sure our check-in process was smooth and expedited, and kept an eye on whatever we might need for the remainder of our stay. We also found both concierges to be hugely knowledgeable. We had done lots of restaurant research before going and thought we knew enough, but they supplemented our lists with gems of places that were delicious and not frequented by too many other tourists.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank staceyinnyc17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2011

The W in Istanbul meets all the expectations of a luxury chain hotel. The service is smart, well intentioned and organized. The rooms are clean and kept that way during your stay. The bed, towels, toiletries, and other amenities are are of good quality. The clientele is mainly foreign business executives. The breakfast is overpriced but generous. I highly recommend the concierge for his help with drivers, excursions and restaurants.

The location in Bekistas has its ups and downs. It is on a wide newly improved street, part of a neighborhood regeneration project, transforming the former public built row houses into smart art galleries and eateries. Thus in and out of the W is elegant and secure. The neighborhood is full of life, young people, bars, restaurants, clubs. A good place for a meal or meeting up with friends for a beer just about any time of the day. And Bekistas is a respite from the hectic touristy rest of the city. However, at rush hours (after 3pm) the road from the center becomes a parking lot, and taxis in the center may refuse to take you. But there is a super convenient tram 200 mts from the front door of the W, and a metro stop not far up the hill.

The only things I didn't like about the W is the design. It is a gloomily dark unsuccessful, downright weird, star trek enterprise. in my standard room, the bathroom is a shower closet and wc across the entrance of the room from a basin area where the towels are. i was constantly soaking the area as i would forget to hang a towel on the peg next to the shower closet. and the sink didn't drain well. the lights take some learning. the reading light is too low.

The spa is a bit of a broom closet tucked away on one side of the hotel. Seemed a bit of an after thought. It's size makes it feel a bit cramped and dingy. Would not recommend it. The exercise area in the mansard of the hotel has 6 cardio machines and small other apparatus. the sky lights make it a good place for a workout, and the business clientele looking for a funky/designer business hotel didn't seem to workout, and thus I had it to myself. water and apples for free.

Overall, a decent hotel, but I think a bit overpriced, as their pretense to be designer and chic falls short of fully successful. they would have been better going stately, in theme with the exterior. the building is only 3 floors high and long (basically made up of multiple connected row houses) and does not lend itself to much interpretation.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thekarpatkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TiaInIstanbul, Public Relations Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2011

Dear W Guest,
Thank you so much for choosing the W Istanbul hotel and for taking the time to share your valuable feedback. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the amenities, guestrooms and our concierge team. It makes us so happy to hear that you liked our location as well. Akaretler is a very unique area of Istanbul and gives guests the experience of living in Istanbul.
We apologize that the design of our hotel did not appeal to you. W is a design led brand and we are certainly different than the traditional hotel styles. In each of our 42 hotels worldwide, there is a local design and the W brand influence.
Thank you so much again for sharing your experience,
The W Istanbul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2011

We knew when we booked our reservation at the W that it was not in Sultanahmet and was a bit far from most of the tourist sites, but decided not to let that deter us. I don't regret our decision because we liked seeing some of the less touristy areas of the city, but I don't think I'd choose to stay in this area again. It just took up too much of the day getting back and forth from things - it is at least a 10-15 minute walk to the trolley, and then another 15-20 minute ride to get down to the main area of Sultanahmet. The hotel is a short cab ride from Taksim (if you are adventurous enough to try something new, do take advantage of the shared cabs, called "dolmus" - they are set up on pre-determined routes and are much cheaper. There are a bunch that go to Taksim just around the corner from the hotel.) The neighborhood of Besitkas behind the hotel is really great to stroll through - but it is NOT a tourist area. We loved the authenticity of the neighborhood - particularly the area around the fantastic open-air fish market - but be prepared to feel out of your element.

We liked our room and the hotel itself was nicely maintained and attractive, but we were a bit disappointed that the nightlife at the hotel's bars and restaurants definitely seemed to be lacking. I really expected it to be a bit more lively. Also, it was very difficult to get our hands on one of the laptops reserved for guest use (I believe there is supposed to be a 20 or 30 minute limit, but a guest took one of the two computers to their room and kept it forever - and we really had to push the front desk to track it down for us after continually checking in with them for an hour.)

All in all, a typical (in a good way) W hotel in a off-the-beaten path - but still nice - location. But not the best choice if you are only in Istanbul for a short period of time and want to see all the standard sites.

Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank GoBlueBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TiaInIstanbul, Public Relations Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2011

Hello,
We are so happy that you chose to stay at the W Istanbul on your recent visit to the city and appreciate that you took the time to share your feedback. Our location is unique and is not situated in the tourist part of the city, so happy to hear that you strolled through Besiktas. The area gives you the feeling of true Istanbul, the day to day life of the residents. For a different experience, you can take a five minute ride to Nisantasi - one of the most luxurious areas in the city. Very sorry to hear that you were not able to experience the nightlife at our hotel. There are parties at Minyon on Wednesdays and weekends and at W Lounge Thurs - Sat nights. We apologize about the service you experienced with the laptop and have already shared this feedback with our leadership team.
Warm Wishes,
The W Istanbul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Besiktas
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
#58 of 1,160 in Istanbul
779 reviews
Beyoglu
Gezi Hotel Bosphorus
Gezi Hotel Bosphorus
#133 of 1,160 in Istanbul
659 reviews
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#68 of 1,160 in Istanbul
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
Turkuaz Suites Bosphorus
Turkuaz Suites Bosphorus
#146 of 1,160 in Istanbul
186 reviews
Besiktas
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
#64 of 1,160 in Istanbul
2,277 reviews
Besiktas
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
#57 of 1,160 in Istanbul
1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Istanbul

Address: Suleyman Seba Cad. No: 22 | Akaretler, Besiktas, Istanbul 34357, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Besiktas , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#93 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#93 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#114 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#168 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £77 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — W Istanbul 5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The W Istanbul Hotel is in the centre of the historic Akaretler Row Houses, an upscale neighbourhood filled with restaurants, cafes, and design & art galleries. W guests can explore the authentic and local area of Besiktas and the upscale shopping district of Nisantasi. 140 guestrooms and suites in W Istanbul carry the soul of both history and contemporary luxury. Marmara marble, Ottoman patterns, and lighting to experiment along with your mood. Rooms and suites with gardens, terraces or cabanas adorned with flat-screen TVs, the signature W bed and stylish luxuries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your W Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Istanbul Hotel Istanbul
w Hotels Istanbul
w Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing