We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff/Concierge, great location and hip rooms”
Review of W Istanbul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
W Istanbul
Ranked #118 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
151 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Great Staff/Concierge, great location and hip rooms”
Reviewed 2 June 2011

My wife and I had a wonderful weekend in Istanbul. We were in town for a wedding and somewhat limited with our free time. As we did not want to come to Istanbul and miss seeing the main historic sites we asked the concierge (Cem) to help us out by organizing for us an airport pick-up and a half day private tour of the city. Everything worked perfectly. The hotel organized a nice Mercedes to pick us up, take us to the old town where we met a guide while the car continued on with our luggae to the W hotel. The guide was incredible! He teaches history at the local university and has been a guide for the past 20+ years. Besides being very knowledgeable he was also very friendly (he has shown around the likes of Bill Clinton, etc...).

The W hotel itself is in a beautifully restored historic building, which combined with the W design makes for a great contrast. The rooms are as you would expect from a W hotel - modern, very clean and design focused, whcih is what my wife and I like. Unlike some other W hotel the rooms are generously proportioned.

The staff was incredibly helpful throughout our stay, organizing taxis, making sure we arrived at the wedding on time, etc. Given our social obligations we did not have a chance to sample the restaurant or spend time at the bar but it appeared like the hotel has a happening bar scene.

We would definitely stay there again and can highly recommend the hotel

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SwissScrivs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    673
    432
    187
    56
    19
See reviews for
150
535
113
295
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2011

Incredible hotel! A bit expensive, but definitely good value for money if you look for a stylish luxury hotel for your business partners or a romantic weekend in this great city.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane_Saturday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2011

This hotel totally is one of the best I have ever stayed in. Everything was just right.

Location is in the upscale, modern area of Istanbul. Great location for visiting all the sights. Tram is a short walk away. Taxis are cheap.

Staff: AMAZING. We stayed for 5 nights and they were all great. Very helpful and knowledgeable.

Rooms: WOWOWOWOWOWOW!!! Not sure what ours was called but it had a lovely terrace area where we ate breakfast and relaxed. Stylish and modern. When I asked reception if I could have the bedding changed for anti-allergy it was done within the hour.

Food/Drink: We had breakfast in the hotel every morning. Lovely stuff. Although the staff were slightly confused by our strange requests for poached eggs and omlettes etc. Had to explain a few times! Not their fault. Serves us right for being so fussy!

Bar: Lovely. Try a Kisstanbul cocktail! I had a few too many. :)

Door Staff: Very helpful getting taxis for us and helping with directions.

Istanbul is an amazing place. Highly recommend to all. So much to see and do and the Turkish people are so friendly. A real melting pot of cultures. We loved it!

Room Tip: Go on a boat trip! See East and West!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TIpperGee13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
514 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2011

The location is the real issue as the traffic in Istanbul is terrible so it takes forever to get anywhere. We stayed in another hotel in the old city for a few nights and would highly recommend anyone going to Istanbul to stay in the old city.

Another thing that got me upset is that there was no coffee facilities in the room! for the price you pay you really should have tea and coffee facilities. Also WIFI was a complete Rip off. I still don't understand why some hotels charge you for WIFI when the local backpackers around the corner gives it away for free!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luke K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TiaInIstanbul, Public Relations Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this review, 25 May 2011
Dear W Guest,
We are delighted that you chose W Istanbul for your stay. Thank you for also taking the time to share your feedback with us, it is extremely valuable. It is true, that there is a lot of traffic in Istanbul - over 16 million people! If you are coming to Istanbul and want to only visit the historic sites in the city, the "Old City" is the location. We are located in the middle of city and so, you can travel to the Old City (I recommend taking the tram) to Taksim, Beyoglu, Cihangir and Galata by taxi and by walking to Ortakoy to take a boat ride up the Bosphorus. There are also gorgeous and less touristy areas up the Bosphorus, which give you a completely different perspective of the city. Arnavutkoy is charming, Bebek is chic and fun, and the super clubs and amazing waterfront restaurants are in Kurecesme. All of these places are not too far from the W.
We apologize that you were dissapointed with the in-room internet charge and lack of coffee machines.
Thank you so much,
The W Istanbul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abu dhabi
Level Contributor
50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2011

very trendy hotel however, we thought it was a bit too expensive for what we got. the location is alright, could have been better if it was on the water. the food was good to. the bar was brilliant. but somehow it lacked that something special.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gaurav797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2011

I've seen different W hotels, mainly in the US and always loved them for design, quality of facilities and great service. Obviously, I expected the same from this W. Sadly, my expectations were not met.
The hotel is located on a hill. So if you are on the first or second floor (that's where I was - don't know what the other floors are like), you are basically underground with no daylight - the rooms are facing back of the hill.
The room itself was horrible. There was no bathroom. Instead, toilet and shower are small closet-like spaces with doors opening into the front part of the room. If you are claustrophobic, forget about taking a shower.
Any hotel room, even in smaller-brand and cheaper hotels, usually has some basic things like shower cap, personal kit, etc. Not here. Even when requested, it took some time for them to understand what it was I was asking for. And of course, during the following 4 days of my stay the items were never replaced.
Service. What kind of service can you expect from people who are called not with titles assuming their functional responsivilities (like 'bell boy', 'room cleaning', etc.) but instead - 'talent'. They walk around with this huge chip on their shoulders knowing that they are 'talent'. And the guests are there, of course, to appluad. Except there is absolutely nothing to applaud for.
Like one of other reviewers mentioned before me, the staff is only interested in bar guests because those are the ones who spend lots of money there (W bar is one of the well-known hang-out places in Istanbul)
The week before my experience with W, I stayed at Park Hyatt. This was the best hotel experience I've had in a long time. Besides absolutely gorgeous and well-equipped room, this was the place where one feels cared and provided for every minute of his/her stay.
So given this benchmark as well as my prior stays at other W hotels, I think this one is a disgrace to the W name

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chukcha_reader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TiaInIstanbul, Public Relations Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this review, 25 May 2011
Dear Guest,
We are so extremely sorry that the design and service of W Istanbul did not live up to your expectations. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us and others. The hotel is in the middle of the Akaretler Row houses that were built in the 1870s and some rooms have private gardens and cabanas, we are sorry that your room was too dark for you.
The hotel is very design led and the open-concept bathrooms are unique. In the Fabulous Rooms and higher, there is a more traditional bathroom concept.
Warm regards,
The W Istanbul Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2011

The W is a beautiful hotel with gracious service, clean and comfortable rooms, and hip public areas. As other contributors have pointed out, the hotel is not walkable to any major attractions, and the tram is 15 minutes away by foot. On the one hand, it can be nice to stay away from the tourist areas and experience a newer part of town. On the other hand, constantly shlepping and paying for cabs can be trying after a few days. Still, 100% worth it if you're staying on points.

On a positive note, the service at the hotel is bar none. Doormen are always at the ready to help with luggage and hail a cab. Keep an eye out for Turgay, who works at the front desk; after arriving bleary-eyed and exhausted, he made sure our check-in process was smooth and expedited, and kept an eye on whatever we might need for the remainder of our stay. We also found both concierges to be hugely knowledgeable. We had done lots of restaurant research before going and thought we knew enough, but they supplemented our lists with gems of places that were delicious and not frequented by too many other tourists.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank staceyinnyc17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Besiktas
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
#80 of 1,141 in Istanbul
2,106 reviews
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#71 of 1,141 in Istanbul
362 reviews
Besiktas
Renaissance Istanbul Polat Bosphorus Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
#67 of 1,141 in Istanbul
1,288 reviews
Besiktas
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
#73 of 1,141 in Istanbul
722 reviews
Besiktas
Hilton ParkSA Istanbul
Hilton ParkSA Istanbul
#240 of 1,141 in Istanbul
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Istanbul

Property: W Istanbul
Address: Suleyman Seba Cad. No: 22 | Akaretler, Besiktas, Istanbul 34357, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Besiktas , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#88 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#94 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#115 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#169 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — W Istanbul 5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Nozio Netplan srl, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your W Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Istanbul Hotel Istanbul
w Hotels Istanbul
w Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing