We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, but not for business”
Review of W Istanbul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
W Istanbul
Ranked #114 of 1,173 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 September 2011

As a very frequent business traveller, I would not recommend the hotel for the business traveller. Rooms are small, dark and really not confortable. However, the hotel is in a great location and walking distance to almost everything. Suggest SAS Radisson or Four Seasons as alternates.

TT

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TTooma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TiaInIstanbul, Public Relations Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2011

Dear W Istanbul Guest,
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at our hotel and for sharing your review. We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your particular room during your recent stay with us. We have many business travelers all year long and we would like to welcome you back so that you can experience a different type of room, we have eleven in total. It is wonderful that you like our location.
Look forward to hearing from you soon about your next W stay.
Warm Regards,
The W Istanbul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,475)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,049 - 1,055 of 1,475 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2011

I found the W Hotel staff and management to be extremely pleasant and friendly at ALL times. I arrived at the hotel 2 hours before my check in and they were able to accommodate me with a room that was ready. The concierge was very helpful with my many inquiries.
The actual rooms are great - the perfect size and super clean. There is a bit of separation with the bathroom (shower, sinks and toilets are in separate rooms) but it didn't bother me in the least. The shower was large and I loved the Bliss products. The beds are comfy and it was very quiet at night.
I loved the hotel's neighborhood because it was beautiful, clean and quiet. You felt like you were out of the hustle and heat of the city. At first I was concerned since it's not very close to Sultanahmet and the major sites, but its a short and affordable cab ride away. (I personally found the tram to be reliable as well). This hotel is walking distance to Nisantasi (Istanbul's version of NYC's Soho) and to the Bosphorus. Conveniently close to supermarkets, shopping, restaurants and cafes. If I go back to Istanbul, I would definitely stay at the W again. My only complaint was that my breakfast was not included, when I could have sworn it was at time of booking.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EvangeliaK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TiaInIstanbul, Public Relations Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2011

Dear W Guest,
Thank you so much for choosing to stay at the W Istanbul and for taking the time to share your experience. It makes us so happy to know that you received great service and liked the design of our guestrooms and products. The Akaretler neighborhood is very special and gives guests the feeling of what it is like to live in Istanbul. The tram is very convenient and Nisantasi is a must-see while in the city. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Sincerely,
The W Istanbul Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

We had a great time, the hotel has a mysticism that amazed and bedazzled me and my wife, the Ligthing and architecture, are amazing we had a great time

The location is amazing to very central

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gferraez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

extremely friendly and professional staff; always with a smile and a "what else can I do for you" attitude. A peaceful and sophisticated location, and close to everything you want to see. Fun and spacious rooms with unbelievable rain forest showers and all the amenities you can wish for. The GM is American and understands how to achieve the perfect mix of catering to Western expectations while introducing you to this fascinating Turkish culture.
A comfortable/reassuring "home" in the midst of a vibrant, fast paced city.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank livewell11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TiaInIstanbul, General Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2011

Hello!
Thank you for your great review and for staying at the W. Our best asset is our W Talent, the amazing team at the hotel. It is wonderful that you received warm and attentive service and enjoyed the showers. Please send your friends and family our way and we will take amazing care of them as well. Look forward to seeing you back at the W Istanbul soon!
Warm regards,
James Gancos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Overall the W is in a very upscale part of Istanbul. The hotel was very modern and staff was great. The bar prices were ridiculous. bar is gorgeous, but completely empty. Rooms were nice we had two. The upgrade we got on the fourth floor actually we like less. It had a little balcony overlooking a parking garage that we never used and a skylight that made sure you were up early. Mosque is right next door so call to prayer at 4 AM is plenty loud. We used points to stay here as it was the only way we could afford it. There is a great coffee spot next door Kahve something with great chocolate. Don't eat locally - restaurants you can walk to are aggressive and cheap. Not good.

Room Tip: Upgrade is not really better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NCPETE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TiaInIstanbul, Public Relations Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2011

Dear W Guest,
So glad that you liked our location in Akaretler, Besiktas. We feel that travelers get to experience the real Istanbul by staying here. The bar prices are high, we agree with you. This is due to the extremely high taxes put on alcohol in Turkey. If you drink local wines or beer, the prices are a lot more reasonable. It is great that you enjoyed your private terrace in our Fabulous Rooms, our Spectacular Rooms have private gardens & Marvelous Rooms have private cabanas if you want something a little quieter. The local coffee & chocolate cafe next to us in Kahve Dunyasi (Coffee World) and is one of the most popular coffee houses among locals. Look forward to seeing you back soon,
The W Istanbul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Checked in and was immediately upgraded to a junior suite. Pleasant staff with knowledge of good bars and restaurants. Great for a traveler from a major city that is looking for something out of the ordinary. It's away from the hoards of budget travelers looking for a cheap room and meal. I am a big fan of the W chain and this place does not disappoint.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frankdell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

This W hotel is the hotel that every person, and every family is looking for because of it's service, location, and, facilities.
Service:
Every person working there was looking to give you the best service you are looking for. I guess it starts at the top where the hotel general manager is a hands on manager. The marketting manager is also always very visible & very helpful.
I was in the lobby where I was greeted by a handsome man who asked me if I needed any help. While chatting, my children came down from the restaurant and started talking to him as if they knew him. I asked them if they knew him and they said that they met him few minutes ago at the restaurant, while having breakfast, where he greeted them and had a very friendly conversation with them. This is the pace for service he sets as a standard for all employees to follow & it shows.
Concierge services were superb with extremely friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable individuals. They are always there to help you find what you want in a very warm manner with valuable suggestions always including very inexpensive enjoyable options.
Location:
Best location that is accessible to every thing: let me explain
1. You go out of the hotel and make a left, then your first right puts you in downtown Besiktas where your supermarket , pharmacy, local restaurant, Doner sandwich , bakery (for fresh out of the oven bread and baked goods are available daily) etc. Is all less than five minute walk.
2. You go out and make a right you'll walk up a steep hill and in 15-20 minutes you are in a very nice shopping mall and shopping area called Nisantasi where you find high end stores and beautiful local Turkish stores with merchandise serving all tastes and all budgets
3. You go out of the hotel and walk downhill you will be at the Bosphorus at Besiktas marina where you can take a ferry to several destinations for 1-2 dollars.
Make a left and walk for a few minutes you will see all the landmarks from hotels and restaurants for your dining pleasure at any price you desire. I walked to the bridge in less than 30 minutes where lots is going on from street venders to eateries to gift shops. If you do not want to walk take a cab for 6-8 dollars will get you there. Walking will definitely give you a very different flavor that is extremely enjoyable
4. You go out of the hotel and go down and make a right at the Bosphorus you will be at Dolmabahce Palace in few minutes ( a must see ). You also are at a ferry dock that can take you across to Asia for a little over one dollar. Walk a bit further to Bakatas and you are at the tram (metro) station that can take you to Sultanahmet faster than a cab in 20 minutes for just over a dollar giving you access to Sultanahmet area in a fast way without having to stay there and deal with daily congestion. You can visit the sites at Sultanahmet and benefit from the easy access to the Bosphorus which is the center of the action.
You can do the same to visit the Grand Bazaar or spice Bazaar. Friendly Turkish people will guide you to your ultimate destination although not too many speak good English.
Do not forget that with such access to the Bosporus you have access to lots of 1-2hour cruises for six to seven dollars.Night tours are also available.
Access to the Bosphorus gives you access to Ferries (public transportation) and other modes of water way transportation. You can visit the big Island (Buyukada) a 50-90 minute boat ride depending on the mode of tranportation you choose from regular ferry, to fast ferry, to water taxi (which is the most expensive but worth it for a party of 10). There you can ride horse driven carriages and enjoy the island with water front restaurants
Taksim square & Istiklal street is less than 15 minute taxi ride for 6-8 dollars
All major entertainment clubs for adults are a short cab away on the Bosphorus. Night entertainment is great there with great food and drinks. Drinks could be expensive.
Again the location of the hotel is great because it is not in a crowded area but with very easy access to everything and any place you need to go
Facilities:
Lobby: very friendly atmosphere with free Wi Fi where you can get your emails, Skype, or face time at your leisure
Lounge (Sip): relaxing area where you can haverefreshments at your leisure with no pressure to buy drinks with free newspapers, magazines, and Wi Fi. It is a very relaxed area for socializing & networking
Hotel restaurants are nicely located on the upper floors for breakfast and any meals you desire at moderate prices
Pool: hotel pool must be the greatest attraction. It is located on an island in the middle of the Bosphorus. No hotel has such a claim to fame with their pool between Europe and Asia. It is beautiful and very nice for a day of relaxation with seven restaurants on the island & food & drink pool service aside from the restaurants foryour pleasure.
Make your arrangements the night before. I am told that it gets crowded on the weekends
Gym: Excellent equipment that is definitely under utilized due to the many available activities to the guests or it may be oversized for the hotel. Make sure you take somebody with you to the Gym. Do not exercise alone.

In short it is a great enjoyable property. I usually do not write reviews about hotels, but I felt I needed to do it this time to make sure that everybody can enjoy Istanbul as much as we did and encourage others to write their good and bad experiences so we can benefit from them on future trips.
ENJOY

Room Tip: Upper floors, balcony rooms (will cost more)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Sam3550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Besiktas
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
#62 of 1,173 in Istanbul
2,355 reviews
Sisli
The Sofa Hotel
The Sofa Hotel
#280 of 1,173 in Istanbul
623 reviews
Besiktas
Renaissance Istanbul Polat Bosphorus Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#74 of 1,173 in Istanbul
629 reviews
Beyoglu
No photo provided
Gezi Hotel Bosphorus
#127 of 1,173 in Istanbul
679 reviews
Besiktas
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
#58 of 1,173 in Istanbul
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Istanbul

Address: Suleyman Seba Cad. No: 22 | Akaretler, Besiktas, Istanbul 34357, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Besiktas , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#89 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#93 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#114 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £82 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — W Istanbul 5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The W Istanbul Hotel is in the centre of the historic Akaretler Row Houses, an upscale neighbourhood filled with restaurants, cafes, and design & art galleries. W guests can explore the authentic and local area of Besiktas and the upscale shopping district of Nisantasi. 140 guestrooms and suites in W Istanbul carry the soul of both history and contemporary luxury. Marmara marble, Ottoman patterns, and lighting to experiment along with your mood. Rooms and suites with gardens, terraces or cabanas adorned with flat-screen TVs, the signature W bed and stylish luxuries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your W Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Istanbul Hotel Istanbul
w Hotels Istanbul
w Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing