We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great housekeeping but definitely overpriced.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of W Istanbul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
W Istanbul
Ranked #127 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great housekeeping but definitely overpriced.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012 via mobile

Stayed for for for days in our way back from Africa. We arrived at 6am and our room was ready. Check in was relatively painless. The room was fine- although I agree with others about the lighting. It's all well and good to have funky lighting, but it made doing my makeup a but of a challenge.
The room was very clean- and after tipping the house keeping we found amazing little flower and towel decorations alongside a handwritten note. For a corporate hotel, that was a nice touch.
It's not really centrally located, but it's a refreshing walk to taksim square and a longer, but still enjoyable walk to the bazaar area.
Concierge and doormen were very pleasant and helpful.
All and all, I think the W is overpriced. We never stay at this chain unless we use SPG points, but when we do, it's a nice treat.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kristen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Songul A, Public Relations Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Dear W Guest,

Thank you so much for giving us a review, we are always open to feedback and appreciate that you took the time to write. You came a long way and we are simply thrilled that you received great service and liked the design and style of the W brand.
The Akaretler Row Houses were built in the 1870s as an extension of the Dolmabahce Palace and the architecture and style is a blend of Ottoman and W. W is a design-led brand and the hotels are different than traditional design.

I am glad that you received great service from our Style and will coach our team members to continually improve.

We are definetely looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

W Istanbul Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    658
    424
    186
    55
    18
See reviews for
147
524
110
292
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012

I loved this W and how they used Arabesque touches to their modern decor. It was my first time there and it won't be my last. The concierge was very helpful and the hotel's location, though not overlooking the Bosphorus is a short walk away. The rooms are reasonably sized and very clean.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AFA86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Songul A, Public Relations Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Dear W Guest,

We really appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay at W Istanbul. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your overall experience and especially liked the decor.

I am glad that you received great service from our concierge. We are very proud of our team at the W Istanbul and work to ensure we provide the W service philosophy of Whatever/Whenever!

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
W Istanbul Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2012

My hubby and i went to a wedding in Istanbul and the entire party staid at the W.
It is well located in the new part of town,more quiet and upscale.
Next door there is a nice Italian restaurant called the Winston Brasserie serving western food almost all day long (in case you get tired of their spices) and nice little shops around.
There is also a bar and a restaurant inside the hotel worth checking it out.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingrid Rheinlan... G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Songul A, Public Relations Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Dear W Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at W Istanbul.
So nice to hearing that the Wedding party went very well and We are delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. The W represents Istanbul, wonderfully. The feeling and design is a combination of the East and West, the old and new.
Thank you for your great feedback.
We look forward to your next visit!

W Istanbul Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

Stayed there for about a week. excellent service and very friendly staff. very knowledgeable concierge and his recommendations for restaurants and outings was really good. the rooms are a bit bizarre for my taste but in a good way. where this hotel standout is the location. its within walking distance with a lot of the major attraction like the Dohlambache Palace and the Nisantasi area. great experience all over

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grande_Mo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Songul A, Public Relations Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
Dear W Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay at W Istanbul and taking the time to give us feedback.

We really appreciate your positive comments about our special W Talent, Concierge and the service you received. We really pride ourselves on the W service philosophy of Whatever/Whenever. I am glad that you received great service from our concierge and will coach our team members to continually improve.

Looking forward to welcoming you back.

W Istanbul Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

Recently returned from Istanbul where we stayed at the W for 5 nights. We used our Starwood points. Istanbul was great and the W, although not close or walking distant to the significant tourist sites, was a great place for us to stay. The W was in a fairly quiet, but more upscale neighborhood with a few shops and restaurants nearby. It was a 10 minute walk along the waterfront to the streetcar which was an easy and efficient way to get to the historical sites, nightlife and shopping. Cabs were readily available as well.

The room with king size bed was clean, quiet and adequately spacious. The hotel had a nice bar, a restaurant which I did not have a chance to try, a gym, and a business center w/ complimentary use of computers and a printer.

I recommend this hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeteySanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Songul A, Public Relations Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
Dear W Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at W Istanbul and for giving us feedback on your recent stay.

The W Istanbul is not located in the "old city" area, but in Besiktas and is a one minute walk to the Bosphorus. I am very glad to hear that you liked the location of the hotel and explored the different sites and areas around Akaretler.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near possible time.

W Istanbul Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slovenia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

A very stylish, contemporary hotel at great location. Rooms are very spacy, clean and well equipped. Service was impeccable. Unfortunately my stay was too short to experience all the amenities except the bar. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skofy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Songul A, Public Relations Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
Dear W Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay at W Istanbul and your wonderful comments
We are pleased to hear that you did enjoy your stay at W Istanbul.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the nearest possible time.
Best wishes,

W Istanbul Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

Stayed in the W for 5 days October 2012. Rooms have strange lighting so it is difficult to read in room. Dohlambache Palace and waterfront is close but it is uphill to shops and other restaurants. There are cafes and bars close to the waterfront and tram is 30 minute walk. Service in the hotel is excellent; every request was responded to quickly and well. Not close to Taksim or Old City but taxis are available. Depending on the traffic, taxi can range from 8 TL to 40TL to Old City or Galata area. All in all would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SrWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Songul A, Public Relations Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
Dear W Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay at W Istanbul!

W Istanbul is located at the Akaretler Row Project which has become a main attraction for both locals and visitors from all around the globe who seek to experience both the old and new Istanbul.
As you have mentioned, W Hotel is walking distance to the tram, ferry station and main high-end shopping districts, giving our guests a variety of transportation possibilities in our huge city.

We very much look forward to your next visit.

Warm wishes,

W Istanbul Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Besiktas
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
#87 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
Besiktas
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
#63 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Sisli
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
#75 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Tomtom Suites
Tomtom Suites
#8 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
Besiktas
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
#60 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
Sisli
The St. Regis Istanbul
The St. Regis Istanbul
#14 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Istanbul

Property: W Istanbul
Address: Suleyman Seba Cad. No: 22 | Akaretler, Besiktas, Istanbul 34357, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Besiktas , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#94 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#95 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#115 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#169 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — W Istanbul 5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, HotelsClick, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your W Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Istanbul Hotel Istanbul
w Hotels Istanbul
w Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing