We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Question of taste”
Review of W Istanbul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
W Istanbul
Ranked #118 of 1,149 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Question of taste”
Reviewed 19 November 2012 via mobile

If you're looking for a hotel where the entrance looks like a trendy night club, low lights, flashy colors and kitch crystal-like decor, this is the place for you. A touch of oriental, refinement, or warm luxury? The W is deprived of it, but it may appeal to the young hip hop crowd in for something different. And don't forget, if you don't like the smell of artificial perfumes, heavy with vanilla fumes, keep away, the place just stinks the stuff to high heaven as if you were a ripe cranberry ready for the oven. The rooms are large and spacey, the hotel's best feature, and access to them, if you ever reach the end of the corridor is somewhat like bordering a spaceship so special is the lighting. As they say, it's all a question of taste, and this one, for a five star SPG hotel, doesn't have mine.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loverly4u2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Songul A, Public Relations Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this review, 29 November 2012
Dear W Guest,

We would like to apologize that the W Istanbul was not to your liking. The Akaretler Row Houses were built in the 1870s as an extension of the Dolmabahce Palace and the architecture and style is a blend of Ottoman and W.
W is a design-led brand and the hotels are different than traditional design.
We are glad to hear that you did like the room.

We would really like the opportunity to have you come and stay with us again soon and hope you will give us a chance to WOW you.

Sincerely,
The W Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    673
    435
    188
    56
    19
See reviews for
151
536
114
296
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

Arriving late at night (at 01.20) after a 3h20 flight from central Europe. Dark hotel, boutique (?) style, very dark, very moody, too much design-wanna-be. Check-in was OK. Room? Strange, with shower (smelly) in entry (afterwards you step into the hallway) and the sink in a closet (?). Good and clean beds. Staff rather ignorant... Nice bar, good music. All in all a new experience. But next time I will chose a different place, will never go back. H

Room Tip: no recommendation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hansamsterdam24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Songul A, Public Relations Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Dear W Guest,

We are delighted that you chose to stay at the W Istanbul and appreciate you taking the time to write a review. The W Hotels are design-led hotels and our interior design and lighting are unconventional. W creates an escape from the everyday and we truly apologize if it was not to your liking.
I am glad to hear that you liked the W Bed. I will share your feedback with the management of the hotel and please know that we are continuously working to improve.

We would really like the opportunity to WOW you and hope you will come and stay with us again.

W Istanbul Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

This would get five buttons except for the price. It's high, as are the menu prices. The service is great. The location is great. I wouldn't recommend this for couples or a family as there are no bath tubs.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Songul A, Public Relations Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Dear W Guest,

Thank you so much for your short review and we are truly delighted that you had a great stay.
I am very glad to hear that you liked the location and the service.

Looking forward to welcoming you back very soon,

W Istanbul Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012 via mobile

Stayed for for for days in our way back from Africa. We arrived at 6am and our room was ready. Check in was relatively painless. The room was fine- although I agree with others about the lighting. It's all well and good to have funky lighting, but it made doing my makeup a but of a challenge.
The room was very clean- and after tipping the house keeping we found amazing little flower and towel decorations alongside a handwritten note. For a corporate hotel, that was a nice touch.
It's not really centrally located, but it's a refreshing walk to taksim square and a longer, but still enjoyable walk to the bazaar area.
Concierge and doormen were very pleasant and helpful.
All and all, I think the W is overpriced. We never stay at this chain unless we use SPG points, but when we do, it's a nice treat.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kristen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Songul A, Public Relations Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Dear W Guest,

Thank you so much for giving us a review, we are always open to feedback and appreciate that you took the time to write. You came a long way and we are simply thrilled that you received great service and liked the design and style of the W brand.
The Akaretler Row Houses were built in the 1870s as an extension of the Dolmabahce Palace and the architecture and style is a blend of Ottoman and W. W is a design-led brand and the hotels are different than traditional design.

I am glad that you received great service from our Style and will coach our team members to continually improve.

We are definetely looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

W Istanbul Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

I loved this W and how they used Arabesque touches to their modern decor. It was my first time there and it won't be my last. The concierge was very helpful and the hotel's location, though not overlooking the Bosphorus is a short walk away. The rooms are reasonably sized and very clean.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AFA86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Songul A, Public Relations Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Dear W Guest,

We really appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay at W Istanbul. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your overall experience and especially liked the decor.

I am glad that you received great service from our concierge. We are very proud of our team at the W Istanbul and work to ensure we provide the W service philosophy of Whatever/Whenever!

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
W Istanbul Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

My hubby and i went to a wedding in Istanbul and the entire party staid at the W.
It is well located in the new part of town,more quiet and upscale.
Next door there is a nice Italian restaurant called the Winston Brasserie serving western food almost all day long (in case you get tired of their spices) and nice little shops around.
There is also a bar and a restaurant inside the hotel worth checking it out.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingrid Rheinlan... G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Songul A, Public Relations Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Dear W Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at W Istanbul.
So nice to hearing that the Wedding party went very well and We are delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. The W represents Istanbul, wonderfully. The feeling and design is a combination of the East and West, the old and new.
Thank you for your great feedback.
We look forward to your next visit!

W Istanbul Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Stayed there for about a week. excellent service and very friendly staff. very knowledgeable concierge and his recommendations for restaurants and outings was really good. the rooms are a bit bizarre for my taste but in a good way. where this hotel standout is the location. its within walking distance with a lot of the major attraction like the Dohlambache Palace and the Nisantasi area. great experience all over

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grande_Mo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Songul A, Public Relations Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
Dear W Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay at W Istanbul and taking the time to give us feedback.

We really appreciate your positive comments about our special W Talent, Concierge and the service you received. We really pride ourselves on the W service philosophy of Whatever/Whenever. I am glad that you received great service from our concierge and will coach our team members to continually improve.

Looking forward to welcoming you back.

W Istanbul Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Besiktas
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
#80 of 1,149 in Istanbul
2,159 reviews
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#73 of 1,149 in Istanbul
407 reviews
Besiktas
Renaissance Istanbul Polat Bosphorus Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
#64 of 1,149 in Istanbul
1,304 reviews
Besiktas
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
#68 of 1,149 in Istanbul
737 reviews
Beyoglu
Witt Istanbul Suites
Witt Istanbul Suites
#3 of 1,149 in Istanbul
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Istanbul

Property: W Istanbul
Address: Suleyman Seba Cad. No: 22 | Akaretler, Besiktas, Istanbul 34357, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Besiktas , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#88 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#94 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#115 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#169 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — W Istanbul 5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nozio Netplan srl, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your W Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Istanbul Hotel Istanbul
w Hotels Istanbul
w Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing