We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Posh and (quite) confortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of W Istanbul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
W Istanbul
Ranked #129 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
La Spezia, Italy
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Posh and (quite) confortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2012

SPent a week-end in this trendy hotel in a nice area of the city, which as you know is really huge so it's impossible to me to judge as a "good position" this hotel.
Stuff is very kind, maybe a little bit inexperienced in some skills. Rooms are spacious and super modern designed, well furnished and full of amenities such as a bose system and a dvd player. Two flaws: walls are just too thin, guys next door had the great idea to host a party in their room al 3 a.m. and we really heard everything and had to call security; second one is that rooms are really really warm, such as the whole hotel, I had to sleep with an open window because the fan could not balance temperature. The club on the mezzanine is great for a drink before sleeping. After all suggested to young couples and parties of friends.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlessandroB10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Songul A, Public Relations Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this review, 13 December 2012
Dear W Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us.
I am extremely happy to hear that you thought our service was great. We pride ourselves on our "W Talent" at the hotel and do feel that we have the best people with us.

We deeply apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced during your stay. The W Istanbul does not have general noise problems with our guest rooms. When we do get a customer complaint about a specific room, we are looking into the problem and finding a remedy.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.

All the best,
W Istanbul Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    656
    424
    186
    55
    18
See reviews for
147
523
110
292
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
istanbul
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2012

Okay I didn't stay at all of the W's all over the world but over 10 W hotels I stayed its by far the best one... Historic buildings renovated in a very smart way and converted to a fabulous, extraordinary hotel. Interior of the rooms are so chick, cosy, comfortable, surprising, elegant....
Very W-ell done

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dadara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Songul A, Public Relations Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this review, 13 December 2012
Warm Greetings from your W family,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback about your recent stay at W Istanbul. We really appreciate your amazing words and so happy to hear that you did enjoy your W experience.
We are defenitely looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm Wishes,
W Istanbul Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

This was a great location. The neighborhood was upscale and there were a lot of great boutiques and restaurants to walk to. It definitely was everything I like about W (Hip and Chic), but it was the service that made our trip extra special! The concierge was awesome and made our arrangements for restaurants and sight seeing!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Songul A, Public Relations Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this review, 29 November 2012
Dear W Guest,

As your W family at Istanbul we would like to thank you for your nice comments. We are all very happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us and do appreciate your feedback.

Istanbul, we believe, is a city that goes under your skin. Being in the crossroads of so many civilizations, it's incredible history and vibrant city life, it is also becoming a creative hub in all senses. W Istanbul is a wonderful example of this energy and exciting future.

We hope to see you again in our magical city and look forward to providing you with many more W experiences!

W Istanbul Team

W Istanbul Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

The W was the first hotel out of three in Turkey that my husband and I checked into for our 9 day trip to this fabulous country. Because both of us are SPG platinum members, we were upgraded to a suite and they surprised us with balloons, rose petals and an anniversary cake My husband emailed to inform the hotel that this was our celebratory trip and request for the upgrade. Not many hotels will honor such a request and we felt so welcomed when they did.

This is a trendy hotel catering to a younger clientele. As another review mentioned, there are no bathtubs so bathing your children may be difficult but they have a huge walk in shower the size of a large hotel closet, with a rain shower head with awesome water pressure. The lights and decor remind me of a club but it did not bother us. The staff informed us that they host a party every Tuesday night and we were welcome to join them. We declined and were glad not to have heard any music or noise.

Since it is a rather small hotel with only four floors, the concierge was never busy and always took the extra mile to look up something for us and answer our questions. All the staff was courteous and extremely friendly.

Unfortunately, we did not have a lot of time to explore the vicinity of the hotel but the train station is easy to find but a good 10-15 minute walk away. Taxis are cheap, compared with prices in New York, where I am from so you may opt to hop in one if the walk seems too daunting when you are jet-lagged yet eager to explore, as we were for about 3 days.

The breakfast area overlooked the famous Bospherous. We opted for the buffet and it was a generous spread which included Turkish as well as American fare. We enjoyed it but thought it was expensive. We were offered free breakfast but as we had an early flight to Cappadocia the second day and would miss breakfast, we opted for SPG points.

For more reviews on the rest of my trip to Turkey, feel free to click on my profile.

Room Tip: Ask to see if you can get a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bl181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Songul A, Public Relations Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this review, 29 November 2012
Dear W Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your amazing feedback with us.

We are absolutely thrilled that you had a great stay with us and especially liked the suprise, breakfast and service.
We are very proud of our team at the W Istanbul and work to ensure we provide the W service philosophy of Whatever/Whenever!

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

W Istanbul Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
111 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2012

I thought the L'Meridien in Vienna had the hardest to find light switch of any hotel in the world - that is until I stayed in the W Istanbul. I challenge you to find the switches that switch off both the lights in the alcove above the hand basin. Even the maid who cleaned my room was unable to do so meaing its impossible to get the room completely dark when you want to sleep! I think this small fact says it all. The W tries awfully hard to be achingly hip but mainly succeeds in looking like a rather tacky 80's nightclub. The Swarowski crystal lifts, the pitch dark corridors, the neon, the vanilla perfume permeating everything all smack of the bih hair and leg warmers of another age. Much of what has already been said I would agree with. Super comfortable beds when you eventually reach your room, rather odd showers inside a cupboard, reasonably good location etc! To its credit the hotel has super friendly staff and great breakfasts, as well as free wi fi everywhere. By the way I found it odd that wait staff wrote in big letters on the breakfast bill 'Tipi'. Why should I tip anyone at a help yourself breakfast buffet? I found this slightly offensive and mildly embarassing when I did not leave a tip for anyone. Would I stay here again? No probably not. There are lots of fabulous hotels in Istanbul with a far more authentic Turkish atmosphere so why choose the W?

Room Tip: Try to face the garden as the street can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nic1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Songul A, Public Relations Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this review, 29 November 2012
Dear W Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us feedback. I am delighted to hear that our Talent were very friendly during your stay. We apologize that there were some inconsistencies in your stay and we will address this immediately. This is not the W standard that we work to uphold and we hope you will give us another opportunity to WOW you. We really pride ourselves on our Whatever/Whenever service and look forward to seeing you soon.
Warmest wishes,

W Istanbul Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

In many respects, the W in Istanbul is typically W. Beautiful, comfortable, super hip, playful and edgy. I felt --as I often do in W hotels--that I singlehandedly raised the average age by a couple of years! This hotel is different only in that it is built onto the old living quarters of the nearby Dolmabahce Palace--this makes it architecturally very interesting. The Besiktas location is good if certainly not ideal. My one criticism is that it does not feel like Istanbul at all; it could be a hip hotel with an exotic theme in L.A. Of course, that is W, but it is disappointing nonetheless when one stays in places that ooze atmosphere, like Istanbul or say Bali (where the W in Seminyak could easily be in South Beach).

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 123RMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Songul A, Public Relations Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this review, 29 November 2012
Dear W Guest,

Thank you so much for giving us a review, we are always open to feedback and appreciate that you took the time to write.
It is true that some of the W Hotels are lighter in design, such as W South Beach and Barcelona, and there are several that use darker colors, woods and lighting as well.
The W Istanbul is part of the Akaretler Row Houses, which were built in the 1870s as part of the Dolmabahce Palace and the interior designer blended the W design with Ottoman inspirations.
Thank you again for taking the time to write and we sincerely hope that you give us a second chance to make you WUV us.

The W Istanbul Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

This hotel is like an amusement park experience that makes you sick. The hotel itself is an interior design with very little light and windows. Think neon, pulsating, smelly cave. There is an overwhelming scent of artificial vanilla, it is inescapable, and our clothes smelled days after checking out. There doesn't seem to be much care for the true comfort of the guest, it's mostly smoke and mirrors and sound and action. The rooms are at the end of an exceptionally long, dark hallway and although the bed is extremely comfortable, you will need the rest to walk back to the elevator! There is no separate shower, it is in the room itself. What a strange property for Starwoods to claim as its own. It is better suited to another planet or a Hollywood movie set. I wish someone had written this review earlier, I left after 2 days and moved elsewhere. Please don't take the risk of trying this hotel, you will be disappointed and waste precious vacation time trying to find another place (as I did). But do visit so you can check the veracity of this review; you will be glad you booked elsewhere. N.B. I used my Starwoods points for this facility and it was such an offensive experience that I willingly paid for another hotel.

Room Tip: Our room had no window and was at the end of an exceptionally long corridor so I can't help you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank divinetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Songul A, Public Relations Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this review, 29 November 2012
Dear W Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay at the W Istanbul. We deeply apologize that the W Istanbul was not your liking. As we are a design-led brand, the interior design and lighting are unique and special to the W Brand.
The interior design of the W Istanbul is a blend of Ottoman architecture and contemporary W style.

It is our goal to exceed every guest's expectations and WOW them as much as possible. We are continuously working on the hotel and strive to make every guest extremely happy.

I really hope you come back to the W to give us another opportunity to surprise and delight you.

Sincerely,
The W Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Besiktas
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
#62 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Besiktas
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
#87 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,973 reviews
Sisli
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
#73 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
#61 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
Sisli
The St. Regis Istanbul
The St. Regis Istanbul
#13 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Beyoglu
Tomtom Suites
Tomtom Suites
#8 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Istanbul

Property: W Istanbul
Address: Suleyman Seba Cad. No: 22 | Akaretler, Besiktas, Istanbul 34357, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Besiktas , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#94 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#97 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#115 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#169 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — W Istanbul 5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Southall Travel so you can book your W Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Istanbul Hotel Istanbul
w Hotels Istanbul
w Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing