We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Focus on design...”
Review of W Istanbul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
W Istanbul
Ranked #121 of 1,134 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Focus on design...”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

First of all, the service is excellent at the W. From the porters to the reception desk to waiters, everyone made me feel welcome.
The decor is trendy-designer but as some other reviewers have noted, everything is extremely dark so it's OK if you are on personal business (or if you work in media or fashion) but maybe a bit over the top for regular business travelers. For example, the bar feels more like a trendy lounge. The room was extremely clean and functional, I liked the day bed which took the entire surface of a square bow-window. Some of my colleagues got amazing rooms courtyard side (2nd floor) which had a small bridge leading to a private baldaquined day or night bed. Amazing!!
I did not like the lighting system in the room, took me a while to make it work, and couldn't get one of the lights to turn off at night (the sink section, which had doors like a cabinet).
The shower is a "rainshower" and so if you don't like it then the only other option is a "hose". There was no bathtub in my room.
On the positive side, there was a very nice Bose sound system, with very cool radio stations presets!
Free wifi in the common areas, although the coverage is pretty bad. You have to pay in the rooms.
We also tried the bar on the terrace, which was wonderful.
Breakfast buffet with lots of choices, both Western and Eastern.
Would definitely recommend, probably more for a couples stay rather than anything else. Probably not ideal for families...

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms on the 2nd floor have a private lounge outdoors lounge area with a large sun-bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilleDiF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baris B, Guest Relations Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear W Guest,
Thank you so much for letting us know about your recent experience in our hotel.

We are so happy that team and property were satisfying and meeting your expectations.

It is understandable that the exciting and vibrant design & concept might be a little bit of distraction from the work as it literally calls for joy, party and escape from your daily worries!

Next time we will be expecting you as a couple with all the relaxing and excitement our property and heavenly city can offer you!

Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    671
    428
    187
    56
    19
See reviews for
150
531
113
295
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Algiers
Level Contributor
87 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Very comfortable stay at this hotel located not far from Dolmabahce Palace in Istanbul (Basiktas area)
Interesting archiecture and design
The food is good, breakfast not very diverse but fine for us.
Stuff very helpful and friendly!



Recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imed_DZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baris B, Guest Relations Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Dear W Guest,
Thank you so much for letting us know about your recent stay in our hotel.

We are so glad that both hotel and surrounding area were meeting your expectations!
We serve our breakfast at the OKKA Restaurant to give you a better experience of Turkish cuisine, both in the morning and the evening! But your words are noted and definitely will be considered.

Look farward to welcoming you once more,
Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

The staff here are fantastic and helpful. Amenties were fine. The location is just a 20 minute tram ride across the Golden Horn for 3TL each way plus a 10 min. walk to the tram station. It's in a lovely neighborhood with lots of fish and grill restaurants. Very few have English menus so you may have to point. Not a tourist area. One block from the waterfront. The suites are large, but dated. I found the lobby dark and uninviting. But Cem, the concierge was terrific!

Room Tip: We used points and were upgraded so don't know about the regular rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iquilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baris B, Guest Relations Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear W Guest,
Thank you so much for sharing feedback about your recent stay in our hotel.

We are so glad and honored that you've enjoyed the hotel and surrounding facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back into our heavenly property & city!
Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

The service and welcome at the W hotel is impeccable. The overall design is very stylish – typically W style. But definitely the interior designer liked it very dark. Especially the room is for my taste just a little too dimmed and a bit more light or daylight good be nice. The room we had, showed some tiredness in equipment and the fact that it is so designed and dark does not help the housekeeping people in keeping it as clean as a hotel of this standard should be. I do not really understand, that WIFI in the room has to be paid (quite a rate for an not too speedy access). Bar service good, restaurant and room service was not used, so I cannot rate this service.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZrhWorldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baris B, Guest Relations Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear W Guest,
Thank you so much for sharing feedback about your recent stay in our hotel.

We are so glad and honored that you've enjoyed the hotel and surrounding facilities.
About the WiFi, please become an SPG member and enjoy the priviledge of free internet or breakfast or suite upgrade at any stay!

We look forward to welcoming you back into our heavenly property & city!
Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Disappointed from our recent stay there. The room had a strange smell, no character. Our windows overlooked a neighbouring building although we prepaid for a room with a balcony. We arrived 5mins late for breakfast and weren't let to eat although the food was still out. On the plus side the beds were comfortable and the showers were great; but that didn't make up for poor service and an overpriced hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hariskyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Songul A, Public Relations Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear W Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us about your recent stay in our hotel.

We are so sorry that your room didn't meet your expectations, please inform us a few days earlier of your next visit so we can allocate a room with balcony. It is true that our W beds are unique and comfortable wich you can provide at the W Stores.

We look forward to welcoming you back for a second chance to show you that you are exactly what we are looking for as a guest.

Thank you for your constructive comments and cooperation.
Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
1,809 reviews
330 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 672 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

The W is the pioneer and leader of the stylish opulence of "large boutique" hotels that other competitors have been rushing to copy in the last few years. I've stayed in the W of Seoul, Singapore and other cities and have been wowed, and they are ranked highly in those countries' tripadvisor. I was surprised this W is languishing at #187

This W is not a tall steel and concrete hotel structure, but rather, refurnished from some old flats in old town Istanbul. This sounds cool on paper but has certain limitations, later on that. Check-in was ok, and you'll have time to admire the luxurious quirkiness that the W has been known for. There's a small cactus plant at the reception shaped like a W

This hotel only has 4 floors and i didn't expect to get the lowest since I'm a gold member, but got it anyway. It's bad enough this hotel probably has no view of the Bosphorus, but to be stuck in the basement is another thing altogether. Sure, the room is classy with purple lights and weird contraptions, but both the small door leading to a tiny courtyard and the small window didn't light much light in. And it appears the 2nd floor rooms can look into my room, so i had to use the curtains, not letting the little sunlight in. At least they have my needed basics - shower and flat screen. Wifi in the room was also ok. 1 disingenuous move though, was to prominently display an overpriced large bottle of water by the bed, while the complimentary small bottle was discreet at the sink area

Room service was below par. The grilled chicken was burnt, and the truffle pizza barely had a truffle scent and it was so blah a dough. If you want to overprice , at least wow like the other W's

Breakfast was underwhelming too. Small space and selection, and not even an egg station

The gym was also small and unmanned. Like my room, the gym also had a few small windows, not letting much light in, and not inspiring to work out in. There's no pool or sauna in the hotel too apparently

I reserved a hotel limo for my ride to the airport. While I was willing to accept the usd120 tab, i apparently won't get my money back if I cancel within 6 hours before the ride. Of the 300 hotels I've stayed in, this is a first

While I think this hotel should be ranked much higher than #187, top 10 or 20 might be a stretch though



Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank bcheong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baris B, Guest Relations Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear W Guest,
Thank you so much for sharing feedback about your recent stay in our hotel.

We are so glad and honored that you've enjoyed the hotel and surrounding facilities.
About the inconveniences. The building itself is a heritage from Ottoman Empire and protected by law against any major modification. Being in the center of Modern Istanbul with the taste of history has those small prices you've mentioned. But as you know, about the pool and other facilities we have our complimentary Insider Accesses to city's hottest spots to enjoy the pool or drinks.

Hope to welcome you back into our hotel at the nearest future.

Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

W Istanbul
Good:
A very nice boutique hotel in the Besiktas neighbourhood. Staff was amazing - highly professional and helpful. I particularly want to emphasize

fantastic concierge, who helped us book restaurants, get into clubs and even provided us with 50 USD vouchers to get onto 360 Suada pool (must

visit in IST). Rooms are nice, modern, posh and well equipped. I particularly liked the Bose sound system. Quite unique to find 600 EUR sound

system in the hotel. Being SPG Platinum I got both upgrade and free breakfast. Breakfast was very good, well stocked with plenty of choice.
I also had 2 dinners in the hotel (restaurant on the 2nd floor) - food was amazing, traditional Turkish, although somewhat overpriced.
Gym is small but tidy and enjoyable to train. It would be nice if it was bigger though. Internet access worked great, high bandwidth, no issues.

Bad:
Gym should be bigger for the hotel of such profile.

Ugly:
Transfer from the airport to hotel was 120 EUR - bloody rip off.

Room Tip: If you're up to spending a day at the pool ask concierge to provide you with 100 Lira voucher to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orhankhopar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baris B, Guest Relations Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear W Guest,
Thank you so much for sharing feedback about your recent stay in our hotel.

We are so glad and honored that you've enjoyed the hotel and surrounding facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back into our heavenly property & city!
Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Besiktas
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
#82 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,063 reviews
Besiktas
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
#71 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Sisli
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
#73 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Tomtom Suites
Tomtom Suites
#7 of 1,134 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#68 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Besiktas
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
#62 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Istanbul

Property: W Istanbul
Address: Suleyman Seba Cad. No: 22 | Akaretler, Besiktas, Istanbul 34357, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Besiktas , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#91 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#94 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#115 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#169 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — W Istanbul 5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your W Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Istanbul Hotel Istanbul
w Hotels Istanbul
w Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing