We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great hotel if you don't actually want to sleep !!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of W Istanbul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
W Istanbul
Ranked #122 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A great hotel if you don't actually want to sleep !!”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This was my 4th or 5th stay here, as it's a good location for the business I have in town. I have put up with the niggles before (sink in the cupboard in some rooms and can't get the light off etc), but this stay was awful.
My room this time was better, larger with a proper bathroom on the 4th floor, but when i returned to it at 11.30 it was filled with pounding disco noise coming from somewhere. Called recption, they promised to look into it. 15 mins later called reception again, they had 'looked into it' but couldn't tell where it was coming from. I asked them to send up earplugs. Another 15 mins I call again, the earplugs are 'on their way up'. 12.30 am, call again and ask for the duty manager, he says they have no earplugs in the hotel, I ask to change rooms. They send someone with a key to another room to move me, who makes it seem like they are doing me a favour and are upgrading me.
When i checked out in the morning, there was no apology even then, despite it being clear from my bill that I had had to move rooms late at night.
So not only was the noise bad, but so was the service in trying to deal with it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank holsandbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Songul A, Public Relations Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear W Guest,

We really appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback and thank you for choosing the W Istanbul. Please accept our sincere apologies for the way your discomfort was handled, it is of course our utmost priority to ensure that all of our guests are having a wonderful stay with us at all times. It is true that on that night in question the hotel did in fact not have any parties or music played on site. The team wanted to find the cause after receiving your call but they were not able to locate it, this was one of the reasons they were slightly delayed in getting back to you.

We have made all the necessary arrangements that for your next visit we will ensure that the room allocated to you will be far away from the restaurants or the lounge. We will also ensure that you are giving a room with larger bathrooms subject to availability.

Please write to us direct at Ulas.taner@whotels.com when you are next planning to visit us so that our Welcome Office Director will handle your reservation personally with pleasure.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back.
Warmest wishes,

W Istanbul Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    663
    427
    186
    55
    18
See reviews for
148
527
113
293
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

After being stayed at W Sentosa,Singapore, we expected a good experience at W-Istanbul too. However,our experience was OK-OK.This is the 1st hotel we stayed where no tea kettle is provided in the room.Also, the vegetarian options for in-room dining as well as buffet breakfast were limited.Moreover, only 600 ml complimentary water was provided per day for 2 people.Although the location is very good,well connected with nice coffee shops and market nearby, Dolmabache palace and Tram station being at walkable distance it still is not at par with
the other sister SPG hotels.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Komal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Songul A, Public Relations Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear W Guest,

Thank you so much for giving us a review, we are always open to feedback and appreciate that you took the time to write. We apologize that your stay was not up to your expectation and we take our customer's comments very seriously. Kindly inform us in advance the next time that you prefer to have a kettle in your room, we will definitely provide it, also for vegetarians we have a lot of options, please let us know the next time when you make your reservation. We are looking forward to welcoming you back near in the future.
Warmest wishes,
W Istanbul Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Treated myself to a weekend away for my 40th, staying here for 1 night in mid-March. Absolutely loved the hotel, very cool in lovely area with plenty of great food and drink options a short taxi ride away. Also short taxi ride or 20 min walk from end of tram line taking you directly into old town. Moved here after spending a week in Holiday Inn Sisley and this was huge improvement. Stylish, luxurious with friendly and helpful staff. Room was great (kindly upgraded due to SPG status) although no bath (wouldn't have fit the ethos), TV levels much too dark and impossible to change via remote + locked away behind glass and also iPod Dock didn't work. None of these were a problem for 1 night but would have grated for longer. Bar was also cool but no draught beer and €13 for a birthday mojito was a bit steep! I like Sheratons and always try to stay in these for work wherever in the world I'm working, but W was a class above, far more stylish and beautifully delivered. Would definitely recommend despite the small issues mentioned above, big believer in honest feedback but probably too British to mention during my stay! If you don't like cool, atmospheric hotels then steer clear, this isn't your regular safe (boring) hotel chain. My wife and I loved it and will be back one day!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Al F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Songul A, Public Relations Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear W Guest,

Congratulations again on your 40th Birtday and thank you for choosing to stay with us on your special occasion.

As you have also mentioned about the W, the historic structure of our building combined with the extraordinary interior design makes W Istanbul one of the most spectacular and unique hotels of its kind. Nice to hearing that you also loved the area, The W Istanbul is located in Besiktas and is a one minute walk to the Bosphorus, the Dolmabahce Palace and Nisantasi (the Soho of Istanbul). As well as the local neighborhoods of Ortakoy and Bebek, which are a 10 min drive from the W.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near possible time.

Warm Wishes,

W Istanbul Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Hotel is conveniently located in Nisantasi, where you could find lots of hip cafes and restaurants.

Hotel reception is very welcoming and staff are civil and friendly. Special thanks goes to the super concierge, who has guided me to the best of Istanbul throughout my stay.

Spectacular suite is spacious and convenient. Room design combines modernity with ottoman culture. Bathroom and amenities are all you need and more.

Hotel Bar and outdoor terrace were fairly quiet. It’s really not the kind of a place I would voluntarily spend my time in.

Overall a great Hotel and I would definitely consider staying here again

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faisal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Songul A, Public Relations Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear W Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay at the W Istanbul Hotel and for giving us feedback on your stay. I am very glad to hear that you liked the location of the hotel and explored the different sites and areas around Akaretler. Our concierge is truly amazing and I am glad that they were helpful to you during your stay.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back very near in the future.
Warmest wishes,
W Istanbul Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aachen, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This hotel is overrated. Its trendy, its chic, yes. But it needs more to be a 5 star hotel. First you need to take care of your guest and take him serious: despide three complains about a horrible noise in my room at 4am and several complains, nothing changed. If the room is noisy, you cant have any benefit from the realy good bed quality.

Its too sad, I realy love places like W Istanbul but when you have to do business during the day, you need a quite room to refill. So despite my company has a frame contract with W, I need to look for a new place in Istanbul

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marc K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Songul A, Public Relations Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear W Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us feedback about your recent stay.
We deeply apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced during your stay. The W Istanbul does not have general noise problems with our guest rooms. When we do get a customer complaint about a specific room, we are looking into the problem and finding a remedy.
As you mentioned the W Beds are certainly comfortable and it is amazing how many people buy the beds!

We realy hope you give us another opportunity to WOW you, as the majority of our guests have incredible experiences when they stay with us.

Warm wishes,
The W Istanbul Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Totally not what you would expect from a W hotel. Very far from W standards and a shame to the chain... Hardly believable that such a prestige hotel brand seems to neglect its venue in Istanbul... Even the fact of staying in the most expensive suite (however, granted - we were offered this spacious 2level suite at a lower rate then quoted, since it was available and they figured it's better to offer it to us at a lower rate than quoted than to have it empty. Originally we booked a 3 times cheaper suite but accepted an offer to change to this better and much more expensive one) does not guaranty you all the comfort and luxury that you would expect from the W's most expensive and most spacious 2-level suite.

The problems with the room started as soon as we moved in and tried to wash our hands - the tap water was literally bright orange!!! It had to run for about 10 min to become see-through. Apparently no one lived there for quite a long time...
Then at about midnight the jacuzzi started to make a terrible loud sound all of a sudden, all by itself... "I'm sorry - it must be cleaning itself" said the reception. It did stop after 5 min though.
Lightning... It's the first time i ever came across such a strange and inadequate experience in any of the hotels... And i travel A LOT. Each big room (living room, dining room and bedroom) has million switches... but EACH OF THEM turns the light either on or off EVERYWHERE. It is absolutely NOT POSSIBLE to have the light off in the bedroom for example, it has to be off IN ALL OF THE ROOMS! Electrician was sent on our request to show us how to operate the lights (since the reception said "it should be operated separately") - switched the same switches as we did, spoke no english and left.

Next. There are four small windows in the ceiling of the bedroom. The switches operate only the windows (opening or closing them) but not the shutters (blinders) on the windows. So during the day it's absolutely dark unless you have your window wide open (rain falling through right into jacuzzi). Asked reception to fix it (open the blinders) - nothing done. I guess they just did not figure out what blinders are. Had to climb up myself to open them up.

We had an additional bed installed for our kid and they put a thin rag instead of a decent duvet and a blanket. And the duvet on our bed had holes here and there.

And on a third night of our stay comes the most outrageous part - we discover that our room is just above the night bar which was playing the loudest music until 2:30 am! It did sound like the speakers were sitting right on our windows making it impossible to even think, no need to say about sleep... Nothing was said about this "minor inconvenience" when we were offered this room... And we were there with a kid - so it would have been right to warn us about this in advance than to have us discover it with the help of an awake 6-yr old at 2 am... They offered to move and sleep in another quiet room for this one night, but have i paid over a grand per night to wander around the hotel at night?...

We did complain about all of this to a manager next morning, "best he could do" was a 20% discount on the 2 (out of our total of 5) nights. It should have been a more significant discount for such an inconvenience after which i would not have a reason to write all of this. "If i give you more - i would get into trouble" said the manager... I guess there is no trouble caused for them by the guests being uncomfortable...
And i have to add that at the check out we "happily" discovered that our "offered total per room" was a hundred euros per night more expensive then the guy originally proposed, since "there is also a VAT on top of that". So the original total offered was not really a total... The least they could do is include the VAT into the originally offered price not to have more of these surprises..

On top of all of that half the hotel staff (especially in the restaurant and the bar) speaks not a very good english which is not acceptable in such hotels... Some staff had trouble understanding such words as "pencils", "napkins", "old town" etc. Imagine when we tried to explain the problems with the room asking to fix them which was never done eventually...

And finally, even though it might be subjective and individual but the layout of the suite is hardly about comfort... For a 2-level suite of over 100sq m to have one tiny wardrobe is just ridiculous... Jacuzzi in the middle of the bedroom is also questionable... And even though we had two balconies - it was not possible to enter the balconies since the doors were locked. And when we asked for the keys we were told that we will have to sign some security paper, however it was never given to us, so we could never enter any of the balconies... And just to add to the design paragraph - other smaller suites do not have windows in the bedrooms...
And the vanity kit (cotton disks and sticks) was a one-off - it was never refilled over all the 5 days of our stay...

On the good side is a quality concierge service. Even though they might "overservice" sometimes - eg when we asked for a taxi to go to a restaurant, the concierge for some reason assumed we needed a reservation (never having asked us) and called the place while we were on the way, thus creating some confusion with our table since we have made a reservation in advance by ourselves...
It's definitely a "never again" case for us...

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank IrynaKostyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Songul A, Public Relations Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear W Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review, we really appreciate all our guests feedback as it helps us tremendously to improve our service and facilities. We are sorry to see that your stay was not perfect and apologies for all misunderstandings. The Duplex Suite (WOW SUITE) is the second largest and luxurious suite we have in the hotel, as you have also mentioned that we have given the suite to yourselves at a very special rate as an introduction and also to ensure that you had ample of space you have desired at check in. The suite is designed all open plan as you saw and as it was explained I am afraid there isn’t any way to separate the lighting to make one area completely darker. We have spoken to the restaurant adjacent to the hotel and I know they have reduced the noise down and did not cause any further disturbance the following two nights of your stay.
Once again please accept our apologies and we hope you will re consider your decision of not coming back to stay with us. We have carefully taken down all the notes and will ensure that every area will be attended to and we will ensure that this mistakes will not happen again.

We really hope you come back to the W to give us another opportunity to surprise and delight you.

Warm wishes,

W Istanbul Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

As a Starwood Ambassador I recognize the W Hotels worldwide amazing anywhere. However, this property has an asset to be located in the heart of Istanbul.

A WOW experience have been followed to rank W Istanbul in an outstanding hospitality place to be an be seen...

Whoops only with - BLISS SPA amenities. More attention when HK have to display them on the toilet or upon request.

Well done!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vinicius F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Songul A, Public Relations Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
WOW! You did not leave us any other words to say after your amazing comment. We really appreciate your wonderful feedback.
Looking forward to welcoming you back at your home away from home soon!
Warm Wishes,

W Istanbul Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Besiktas
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
#79 of 1,129 in Istanbul
2,021 reviews
Besiktas
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
#67 of 1,129 in Istanbul
695 reviews
Sisli
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
#73 of 1,129 in Istanbul
1,645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Tomtom Suites
Tomtom Suites
#7 of 1,129 in Istanbul
996 reviews
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#70 of 1,129 in Istanbul
321 reviews
Besiktas
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
#57 of 1,129 in Istanbul
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Istanbul

Property: W Istanbul
Address: Suleyman Seba Cad. No: 22 | Akaretler, Besiktas, Istanbul 34357, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Besiktas , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#92 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#94 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#115 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#169 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — W Istanbul 5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your W Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Istanbul Hotel Istanbul
w Hotels Istanbul
w Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing