We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
W Istanbul
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Bosfora(Istanbul)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,512)
Filter reviews
1,512 results
Traveller rating
747
470
204
64
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
747
470
204
64
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspg platinumw insiderhip hotelfabulous roomlocal callsbesiktas areadolmabahce palacehotels around the worldroom upgradehotel is locatedpublic areasrain showerturkeylocation is greatold cityasian sidetaksim square
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
689 - 694 of 1,512 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a night on the way to Bulgaria and found the hotel is very hip true to it's brand.

I was upgraded to a room with a balcony that gave extra space to hang out.

Bed is not as comfortable but after asked for the foam pillow it was delivered promptly. With the foam pillow it made up for the slightly soft bed.

Balloons all over the room together with birthday cake made my day more fun as it was on my birthday.

Hope to Come back soon.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimmyKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koray K, Guest Relations Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear W Guest,

It is absolutely fabolous to hear that you have enjoyed your whole W experience.We are so glad to have you stayed with us at your birthday.

Regarding the discomfort of your bed, I am saddened to hear that we could not provide you a comfy bed during your stay.However, I would like to clarify that all W hotels worldwide have the same type of signature beds.

If you return to Istanbul, I would be delighted to welcome you back to W Istanbul. Please contact me directly should you wish to do so as I'd like to personally oversee bed aspect of your visit.

Warmest Wishes,

Koray Kendir
W Insider

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Got upgraded to a room with a terrace but the door was locked so never went out there. No Bosphorous view either and not much in the way of cafés or shops in the neighbourhood. Staff were pleasant but breakfast little bad.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank kaori s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Songul A, Public Relations Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear W Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at W Istanbul. Please be assured that your valuable comments will allow us to focus on areas in need of improvement. I feel sorry to hear that you could not open the door, wish you had informed us while staying with us, so we had the chance to fix it.
Looking forward to welcoming you back,

Warmest wishes,
W Istanbul Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This hotel could be so much more, but instead it's a dark, and ill planned hotel. First, it's located on at odd corner of a street- it's a historic building, but still, not an optimal place for taxis to park, and for hotel guests to get in and out. As soon as you step into the hotel, it's as if you've transported yourself to the dark side of the moon, black everywhere, oddly shaped furniture on a platform in front of you, and the checkin to your left.

The checkin was quick and easy, and the staff was very courteous. Now to finding your room, you go up a quick thing of stairs (2-3), go to your right, and then down a small tunnel to the elevators (10 ft) - the elevators are very small, barely fit three people. When you get out to your floor it's eerily quiet and again, very dark. There are these odd pink lights that guide your way through the corridor, but it all looks the same! If it weren't for the slight angle of the coordinator, it could be something from your worst nightmare.

Lastly, the rooms. They are spacious, and comfortable except again, they are way too dark. Also, the whole bathroom situation is a little odd. There is no real separate bathroom area so if you're going to be there with someone else, you're going to hear (but thankfully not see) everything. The toilet and sink are a bit far away, so you can't immediately wash your hands after using the facilitates. The shower while having a forceful spray, is quite cramped, so you can't really get comfortable (pressure and temperature is great though). The lights in the room are difficult to handle, and the lights for the closet and sink areas are not controlled by switches, but by having the doors opened and closed- not as easy as it seems since they're oddly shaped.

Overall- staff is great, the concierge gave us some excellent advice, room service and housecleaning staff was excellent, but if the theme of the hotel is to be modern, but simple, this misses the mark, it's too complex, and too dark.

Room Tip: The outdoor cabanas weren't that well kept when we were there- save your money and just stay in a regular room- there are plenty of outdoor places in Istanbul for you to enjoy a nice tea and snack, no need to do it at your hotel.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Songul A, Public Relations Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear W Guest,

We really appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay at W Istanbul. We do also apologize that your overall W experience was not up to your expectation. Please be sure that we take our customer's comments very seriously. It is true that some of the W Hotels are lighter in design, such as W South Beach and Barcelona, and there are several that use darker colors, woods and lighting as well. The W Istanbul is part of the Akaretler Row Houses, which were built in the 1870s as part of the Dolmabahce Palace and the interior designer blended the W design with Ottoman inspirations. I am glad that you received great service from our concierge and will coach our team members to continually improve.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back and give us a second chance to Wow you,
W Istanbul Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Loved the location of this hotel and the amazing vibe of the area. It really couldn't be in a better place. Shame the same cannot be said for the hotel. Was here at Easter weekend so was quite shocked at how empty the hotel bar and restaurants were - no one in sight most of the time which is not what we expected from the W brand. Service did not leave much to be desired - no evening turn down, bar staff did not speak English and concierge was verging on arrogant. We had a 'Fabulous' room which was great. Would recommend breakfast at Winstons next door, as great food and good value taking up where the hotel left off. Would I stay here again? Yes... But for location and certainly not for the service.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Samia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Songul A, Public Relations Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear W Guest,

Thank you for taking time and giving us such a detailed feedback. We appreciate every single comment you made. I am glad to hear that you liked the location.
We deeply apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced during your stay.
Please be assured that your valuable comments will allow us to focus on areas in need of improvement. Our commitment is to WOW our guests during their stay at W and we do take customer comments seriously to improve our service.
We are all looking forward to welcoming you back in the near possible time.

W Istanbul Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Great deco, nice trendy music , Nice room with terrasse but you can hear your neighboor breathing, opening door, taking shower etc... Horrible !
Service at the restaurant, concierge and co is just minimalist e.g. So poor, a disaster! And btw no Wifi... You have to pay an extravagant fee for it!
Just not at the standards one would expect from 5 stars hotel and from the W chain...
It needs more than the design... To be just "good"

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gey76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koray K, Guest Relations Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear W Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us at W Istanbul and also for your feedback as all our guests comments are very important to us in allowing us to improve our services.

However, I am saddened to see that we were not able to meet all of your expectations during your stay.

The building we are situated in dates back from 1875 as a first degree artifact building under governemnt protection. As this is the case, we can only work around what is given to us as there are alot of restrictions inside and outside of the building with what can be done in terms of isolation of the rooms.

As such the case the design of the hotel was thought and built around this. We cannot change the concept of the hotel currently but will definitely take everything that you have mentioned into consideration for the next refurbishment.

Comlimentary internet is in service of all our in-house guests all around the common areas including Sip,W lounge,Fit and Restaurants.Instead of being a 5 stars hotel, we have been serving our guest as a lifestyle hotel since the opening of W Istanbul.

I am saddened that we failed to succeed with our concierge and restaurant service.Please once again do accept my apologies and I hope you will give us another chance to continue to enjoy welcoming you back to W again in the not too distant future. I look forward to hearing from you and please also do let me know direct when you plan your next visit so that I can personally handle your reservation and room allocations.

Warmest Wishes,

W Insider,
Koray Kendir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews