We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“W Istanbul is the Best Hotel in Istanbul, its Outstanding ! ! !”
Review of W Istanbul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
W Istanbul
Ranked #119 of 1,154 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“W Istanbul is the Best Hotel in Istanbul, its Outstanding ! ! !”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

W Istanbul is the Best Hotel in Istanbul, its Outstanding ! ! !
this place is Outstanding, The Staff is Outstanding, Deniz Murat, Dilan, Isa, Turgay, Kudu, Eyup, Gem, and all the other staff members are all Outstanding ! ! !
this Property is Outstanding,
Great security,Great Food, Great Rooms Very clean Very nice !
We Love it here !
if your needing a Hotel in Istanbul you Must try the W Istanbul !
Sgt Eddie DeLuca & Amber DeLuca

Room Tip: All The Rooms Are Outstanding !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheHitManMine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koray K, Public Relations Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Eddie and Amber,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience of your visit to W Istanbul.

It is always a pleasure to learn that our service and especially our staff made a wonderful impression on you. You are most kind in your compliments regarding our welcome office,sip,ambassadors and concierge.That will always encourage us to go further with higher service standards.

I hope to welcome you back to W Istanbul very soon – perhaps on your next visit you will have the opportunity to indulge in what many consider the best turkish food in Istanbul!

Warmest Wishes,
Koray Kendir
W Insider
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    677
    438
    190
    57
    20
See reviews for
155
536
115
298
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed at the W Hotel for three nights after the Easter Weekend. After reading the Tripadviser reviews complaining about the loud W night club music we decided to stay during the week to be on the safe side.
Unfortunately I overlooked that Wednesday was a Turkish Holiday.
Tuesday at 9 p.m. the music started and even with earplugs pushed deep into our ears it was not possible to sleep. At 12 a.m. we gave up and called the Front Desk and they moved us to another room for the rest of the night. The following day we got a little fruit basket with an apology. Nice gesture but I prefer my undisturbed sleep to an apple & banana any time.
I know that a night club/lounge belongs to the W concept but then build it in the basement, because I doubt that every guest wants to party until 3am.

Now the good things about W Hotel:
Our check-in was quick and efficient and to our delight we got a room upgrade. The staff is very polite and always greets you cheerfully. Cem, the W concierge, is very nice and helpful. Our room was spacious with many windows and a huge bathroom. (We stayed at no. 455- but beware if you want to sleep when the night club has open).

The area is very pleasant with some nice shops (Autoban , monies Copenhagen). Café Nero is around the corner and a lot of other nice restaurants/Cafes. A Milagros supermarket is also close by (all further up the lovely street).
The Dolmabahce Palace is a 10 minutes walk away.

The tram station (15 minutes walk from W Hotel) brings you directly to Sultanahmet where the main sights are. Alternatively you can take the Ferry from Pier Beskitas ( 5 minutes away from W Hotel) to Pier Eminönü (you arrive at the Big Mosque and Spice Bazar). From Eminönü you can take the Tram to Topkapi Palcace (two tram stops) or Hagia Sophia (three tram stops) or walk.


Advice:
Get a Museum Pass Card (the W concierge can organize it if he knows in advance) so you can jump the queues at Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace and Archaeological Museum.
We did not buy a Museum Pass for our daughter, because kids until 12 years have free entrance. BUT: You need a “free-admission paper ticket” for your child to get through the barrier ticket gates after the entrance . That means you have to queue at the ticket office like the masses (exactly what we wanted to avoid).
Just showing your child´s passport the museum assistants at the barrier ticket gates does not work.
If you need the “free admission paper ticket” for small children in strollers as well I do not know. I recommend buying a Museum Pass for older children as well if you do not want to queue.
Start early in the morning, because from April on the sights are PACKED with cruise ship tourists (1 ship = 4000 tourists) + the usual tourists.

Room Tip: Do not take room number 455 if you want to sleep when the night club/disco has open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ClaudiaMunich2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koray K, Guest Relations Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Claudia,

I'd like to thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Istanbul and for taking the time to review your stay with us.

I am delighted that you enjoyed both room and service. I'm thrilled that our staff impressed you. It's always nice to hear lovely comments about our team and I shall ensure that your kind words are passed on to everyone.

Moreover, It is great to have some great tips and advices from you for upcoming guests to W Istanbul.We loved it.

I am absolutely dismayed to discover that your sleep was disturbed by the party that evening. We generally have entertainment at W Lounge as w happenings both some weekdays and weekend.However we always strive to ensure that this enhances, rather than interferes with, our guests' stay. I sincerely apologize for the frustration this must have caused.

If you return to Istanbul, I would be delighted to welcome you back to W Istanbul. Please contact me directly should you wish to do so as I'd like to personally oversee all aspects of your visit.

Warmest Wishes,

Koray Kendir
W Insider
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a night on the way to Bulgaria and found the hotel is very hip true to it's brand.

I was upgraded to a room with a balcony that gave extra space to hang out.

Bed is not as comfortable but after asked for the foam pillow it was delivered promptly. With the foam pillow it made up for the slightly soft bed.

Balloons all over the room together with birthday cake made my day more fun as it was on my birthday.

Hope to Come back soon.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimmyKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koray K, Guest Relations Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear W Guest,

It is absolutely fabolous to hear that you have enjoyed your whole W experience.We are so glad to have you stayed with us at your birthday.

Regarding the discomfort of your bed, I am saddened to hear that we could not provide you a comfy bed during your stay.However, I would like to clarify that all W hotels worldwide have the same type of signature beds.

If you return to Istanbul, I would be delighted to welcome you back to W Istanbul. Please contact me directly should you wish to do so as I'd like to personally oversee bed aspect of your visit.

Warmest Wishes,

Koray Kendir
W Insider
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Got upgraded to a room with a terrace but the door was locked so never went out there. No Bosphorous view either and not much in the way of cafés or shops in the neighbourhood. Staff were pleasant but breakfast little bad.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kaori s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Songul A, Public Relations Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear W Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at W Istanbul. Please be assured that your valuable comments will allow us to focus on areas in need of improvement. I feel sorry to hear that you could not open the door, wish you had informed us while staying with us, so we had the chance to fix it.
Looking forward to welcoming you back,

Warmest wishes,
W Istanbul Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This hotel could be so much more, but instead it's a dark, and ill planned hotel. First, it's located on at odd corner of a street- it's a historic building, but still, not an optimal place for taxis to park, and for hotel guests to get in and out. As soon as you step into the hotel, it's as if you've transported yourself to the dark side of the moon, black everywhere, oddly shaped furniture on a platform in front of you, and the checkin to your left.

The checkin was quick and easy, and the staff was very courteous. Now to finding your room, you go up a quick thing of stairs (2-3), go to your right, and then down a small tunnel to the elevators (10 ft) - the elevators are very small, barely fit three people. When you get out to your floor it's eerily quiet and again, very dark. There are these odd pink lights that guide your way through the corridor, but it all looks the same! If it weren't for the slight angle of the coordinator, it could be something from your worst nightmare.

Lastly, the rooms. They are spacious, and comfortable except again, they are way too dark. Also, the whole bathroom situation is a little odd. There is no real separate bathroom area so if you're going to be there with someone else, you're going to hear (but thankfully not see) everything. The toilet and sink are a bit far away, so you can't immediately wash your hands after using the facilitates. The shower while having a forceful spray, is quite cramped, so you can't really get comfortable (pressure and temperature is great though). The lights in the room are difficult to handle, and the lights for the closet and sink areas are not controlled by switches, but by having the doors opened and closed- not as easy as it seems since they're oddly shaped.

Overall- staff is great, the concierge gave us some excellent advice, room service and housecleaning staff was excellent, but if the theme of the hotel is to be modern, but simple, this misses the mark, it's too complex, and too dark.

Room Tip: The outdoor cabanas weren't that well kept when we were there- save your money and just stay in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Songul A, Public Relations Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear W Guest,

We really appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay at W Istanbul. We do also apologize that your overall W experience was not up to your expectation. Please be sure that we take our customer's comments very seriously. It is true that some of the W Hotels are lighter in design, such as W South Beach and Barcelona, and there are several that use darker colors, woods and lighting as well. The W Istanbul is part of the Akaretler Row Houses, which were built in the 1870s as part of the Dolmabahce Palace and the interior designer blended the W design with Ottoman inspirations. I am glad that you received great service from our concierge and will coach our team members to continually improve.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back and give us a second chance to Wow you,
W Istanbul Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Loved the location of this hotel and the amazing vibe of the area. It really couldn't be in a better place. Shame the same cannot be said for the hotel. Was here at Easter weekend so was quite shocked at how empty the hotel bar and restaurants were - no one in sight most of the time which is not what we expected from the W brand. Service did not leave much to be desired - no evening turn down, bar staff did not speak English and concierge was verging on arrogant. We had a 'Fabulous' room which was great. Would recommend breakfast at Winstons next door, as great food and good value taking up where the hotel left off. Would I stay here again? Yes... But for location and certainly not for the service.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Samia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Songul A, Public Relations Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear W Guest,

Thank you for taking time and giving us such a detailed feedback. We appreciate every single comment you made. I am glad to hear that you liked the location.
We deeply apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced during your stay.
Please be assured that your valuable comments will allow us to focus on areas in need of improvement. Our commitment is to WOW our guests during their stay at W and we do take customer comments seriously to improve our service.
We are all looking forward to welcoming you back in the near possible time.

W Istanbul Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Great deco, nice trendy music , Nice room with terrasse but you can hear your neighboor breathing, opening door, taking shower etc... Horrible !
Service at the restaurant, concierge and co is just minimalist e.g. So poor, a disaster! And btw no Wifi... You have to pay an extravagant fee for it!
Just not at the standards one would expect from 5 stars hotel and from the W chain...
It needs more than the design... To be just "good"

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gey76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koray K, Guest Relations Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear W Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us at W Istanbul and also for your feedback as all our guests comments are very important to us in allowing us to improve our services.

However, I am saddened to see that we were not able to meet all of your expectations during your stay.

The building we are situated in dates back from 1875 as a first degree artifact building under governemnt protection. As this is the case, we can only work around what is given to us as there are alot of restrictions inside and outside of the building with what can be done in terms of isolation of the rooms.

As such the case the design of the hotel was thought and built around this. We cannot change the concept of the hotel currently but will definitely take everything that you have mentioned into consideration for the next refurbishment.

Comlimentary internet is in service of all our in-house guests all around the common areas including Sip,W lounge,Fit and Restaurants.Instead of being a 5 stars hotel, we have been serving our guest as a lifestyle hotel since the opening of W Istanbul.

I am saddened that we failed to succeed with our concierge and restaurant service.Please once again do accept my apologies and I hope you will give us another chance to continue to enjoy welcoming you back to W again in the not too distant future. I look forward to hearing from you and please also do let me know direct when you plan your next visit so that I can personally handle your reservation and room allocations.

Warmest Wishes,

W Insider,
Koray Kendir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Besiktas
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
#77 of 1,154 in Istanbul
2,197 reviews
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#73 of 1,154 in Istanbul
449 reviews
Besiktas
Renaissance Istanbul Polat Bosphorus Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
#66 of 1,154 in Istanbul
1,324 reviews
Besiktas
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
#67 of 1,154 in Istanbul
751 reviews
Sisli
Park Hyatt Istanbul - Macka Palas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Istanbul

Property: W Istanbul
Address: Suleyman Seba Cad. No: 22 | Akaretler, Besiktas, Istanbul 34357, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Besiktas , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#89 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#94 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#115 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#169 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — W Istanbul 5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The W Istanbul Hotel is in the centre of the historic Akaretler Row Houses, an upscale neighbourhood filled with restaurants, cafes, and design & art galleries. W guests can explore the authentic and local area of Besiktas and the upscale shopping district of Nisantasi. 140 guestrooms and suites in W Istanbul carry the soul of both history and contemporary luxury. Marmara marble, Ottoman patterns, and lighting to experiment along with your mood. Rooms and suites with gardens, terraces or cabanas adorned with flat-screen TVs, the signature W bed and stylish luxuries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Nozio Netplan srl, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your W Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Istanbul Hotel Istanbul
w Hotels Istanbul
w Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing