We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute neighbourhood location, noisy nightclub in the hotel”
Review of W Istanbul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
W Istanbul
Ranked #123 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I know by now that many W Hotels have nightclubs/bars which go all night long. I mostly like the atmosphere this brings to the hotel but in Istanbul it was just a bit noisy. The no smoking rule also seems to be forgotten after dark. We were in the most basic of rooms which was lovely albeit the sleeping area was tiny but with a huge bathroom. Istanbul is a place you really want a swimming pool and sadly the W does not have one. The location, in an upscale neghbourhood, made us feel like locals and meant we explored more than just the central touristy areas.

Room Tip: The entry price room is very small
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jordi m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koray K, Guest Relations Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear W Guest,

I appreciate indeed for choosing to stay with us again at W Istanbul, and for taking the time to write your review.

It is absolutely amazing to hear that you loved the location offering plenty of both upscale and casual cafes and restaurants around.Being one of the boutique posh district of the town, Akaretler row houses district dates back to 1875, extension of the Dolmabahçe Palace.

Naturally, I am disappointed to ensure a swimming pool at W.Due to our historical background and restrictions with the size of the property, we are unable to have a swimming pool.Yet, we are working on it to have one.

I very much hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future for your next visit.

Warmest Wishes,

Koray Kendir
W ınsider

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,396)
There are newer reviews for W Istanbul
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

567 - 573 of 1,396 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

We were here for our 2 night stay in Istanbul and we were not disappointed. The rooms are big, clean and comfortable. The service is great and the staff is very helpful. The hotel is located far away from the main Eminonu and Sultanahmet area and taxis can be difficult to get and expensive from the main areas back to the hotel. We took the tram back and forth and that worked out better. Would definitely stay here the next time I am in Istanbul.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank PPPilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koray K, Guest Relations Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear W Guest,

Thank you very much indeed for choosing to stay with us again at W Istanbul, and for taking the time to write your review.

I would like to thank you very much for your praise of W and the facilities that we have to offer. I am delighted to hear that you felt comfortable in your W room.

It was fantastic to read about your next possible stay at us.I very much hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future for a second visit.

Warmest Wishes,

Koray Kendir
W Insider

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

I didn't give it 5 stars but it is a wonderful hotel with a great, great staff. We loved our room with the outdoor sitting area.
The only con's were that it isn't the most convenient location and lacked some facilities that other W's have.
To it's credit, it is located next to several eating spots.. just not the historical spots.. And don't let anyone tell you that it's easy to get to them! Though there are cheap boat rides right around the corner.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Juddcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koray K, Guest Relations Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear W Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review, and for choosing to stay with us recently.

I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us so thoroughly. I am very glad to hear that we surpassed your expectations, and I hope that you and your wife enjoyed a comfortable stay.

Thank you also for your wonderful feedback on location which has easy access to most part of the city with a local and historical atmosphere. I am sorry to note that you found location a little lacked.

I would like to take this opportunity to congratulate you both on your new arrival. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you all back to W Istanbul again in the not too distant future.

Warmest Wishes,

Koray Kendir
W Insider

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I Stayed with my work last month for 3 days and came back this weekend with my boyfriend. I think was so much better the second time around.
The first time was good, but this time, the staff were really great, they remembered me from my first visit and they really made us feel special, i had told the man at the desk i would come back with my partner, and we received nice attention and special touches.
the rooms are all amazing and location of the hotel is super
we ate at the hotel as it was a special occassion and the food was great, breakfast is delicious and staff are sweet. as it was raining quite a bit on the weekend, we did spend some time lounging around the hotel and they made us feel very happy it was so great!!
we will definantely come back and i wish now they open more W in spain, in madrid where we live!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susanne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koray K, Guest Relations Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Susanne,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience of your visit to W Istanbul and giving us high points on the review.I appreciate your delighted comments.

It is always a pleasure to hear that our service and especially W comfort made a wonderful impression on you. You are most kind in your compliments regarding out talents and W experience overall.That will always encourage us to go further with higher service standards. I hope to welcome you back to W Istanbul very soon – perhaps on your next visit you will have the opportunity to indulge at our upcoming renovated restaurant.

Warmest Wishes,

Koray Kendir
W Insider

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at the W Istanbul. It is a very nice property in a great location in Istanbul. The area is upscale, quiet, and very safe. There were several great restaurants just around the corner.

Although there were a couple of drawbacks (a bit dark for me - could have had more lights; tiny elevators - okay for 2 people but not many more; and a bit noisy on weekend nights from the club nearby), it was a great stay nonetheless. We are Platinum/5 Star Starwood members who stay at many Starwood properties all over the world and I must say that the W Istanbul staff was absolutely INCREDIBLE! We were met at the desk by Sezer Yilder who was really great, however, the concierge, Isa Ahmetoglu, was one of the best we have ever met anywhere! There was nothing that he could not take off for us - tours, transportation, restaurants, you name it, Isa was on top of everything.

If we return to Istanbul, which I highly recommend as a great place to visit, we will definitely stay at the W Istanbul again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koray K, Guest Relations Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Gerald,

I sincerely appreciate your feedback regarding your W stay. All guest feedback allows us the opportunity to improve our services and facilities and we readily welcome both positive and constructive comments.

Thank you for your kind words regarding our talents.It was very pleasing to hear your service experience was exceptional. We are very proud of the level of service provided by our Associates, they are very intuitive and work hard to ensure your every need is not only met, but exceeded. The entire team at W Istanbul takes pride in making our guest feel at home.

It is certainly with great pleasure that we take every opportunity to exceed your expectations and we do hope to welcome you again for a very special occasion in the future.

Warmest Wishes,

Koray Kendir
W Insider

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed at the London W, it was great experience to end. Experience in the Istanbul hotel was very different. Room 230 had a shower that leaked to the main room floor. The restaurant was average , nice menu but poor implementation.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koray K, Guest Relations Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Rob,

I sincerely appreciate your feedback regarding your stay. All guest feedback allows us the opportunity to improve our services and facilities and we readily welcome both positive and constructive comments.

I am of course concerned to learn of the areas which left you to feel disappointed. I have noted your comments regarding the the service at breakfast as well as the leakage in your room. We are taking immediate steps to address the deficiencies you have noted and want to assure you that these types of occurrences are rare and do not reflect the level of service we aspire to.

It is certainly with great pleasure that we take every opportunity to exceed your expectations and we do hope to welcome you again for a very special occasion in the future.

Warmest Wishes,

Koray Kendir
W Insider

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Spent an amazing weekend here. The rooms were splendid, the location central, the service outstanding. I cannot fault anything about this hotel, and would LOVE to return any time I am in Istanbul. Really a great choice!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R0llingSt0ne2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koray K, Guest Relations Manager at W Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear W Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at W Istanbul, here in Trip Advisor. I hope that we were able to "seed" in you the curiosity to come back to fabolous Istanbul and explore the rest of our fascinating city. Remember that this is your home in Istanbul.

Warmest Wishes,

Koray Kendir
W Istanbul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Besiktas
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
#62 of 1,159 in Istanbul
765 reviews
Besiktas
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
#55 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,339 reviews
Besiktas
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
#68 of 1,159 in Istanbul
2,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#65 of 1,159 in Istanbul
475 reviews
Beyoglu
Gezi Hotel Bosphorus
Gezi Hotel Bosphorus
#126 of 1,159 in Istanbul
653 reviews
Besiktas
AC Hotel Istanbul Macka
AC Hotel Istanbul Macka
#203 of 1,159 in Istanbul
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Istanbul

Address: Suleyman Seba Cad. No: 22 | Akaretler, Besiktas, Istanbul 34357, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Besiktas , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#93 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#95 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#114 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#168 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £82 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — W Istanbul 5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The W Istanbul Hotel is in the centre of the historic Akaretler Row Houses, an upscale neighbourhood filled with restaurants, cafes, and design & art galleries. W guests can explore the authentic and local area of Besiktas and the upscale shopping district of Nisantasi. 140 guestrooms and suites in W Istanbul carry the soul of both history and contemporary luxury. Marmara marble, Ottoman patterns, and lighting to experiment along with your mood. Rooms and suites with gardens, terraces or cabanas adorned with flat-screen TVs, the signature W bed and stylish luxuries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your W Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Istanbul Hotel Istanbul
w Hotels Istanbul
w Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing