We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay at the W istanbul!”
Review of W Istanbul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
W Istanbul
Ranked #117 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay at the W istanbul!”
Reviewed 8 October 2009

My husband and I recently stayed at the W Istanbul. What a fantastic hotel! The staff is beyond friendly, the decor is exquisite, and the room was simply marvelous. The hotel is in a great location away from the touristy area of Sultan Ahmet. Every morning, we walked to the Tram station, which is 15 mintues away, and took the tram to Sultan Ahmet. The Tram only costs a couple of Liras. There's a very nice Italian cafe next to the hotel called Nero. Enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WashingtonDCTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WIstanbulInsider, W Insider at W Istanbul, responded to this review, 12 December 2009
Well Hello There,

As W Istanbul talents, are delighted to hear your Wondeful comments regarding your recent stay and you did really enjoy your W experience with your husband. Hoping to see back in our hotel very soon.

Warm Wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    676
    438
    190
    56
    20
See reviews for
155
536
115
298
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2009

If you like the look and feel of W Hotels, this is a very nice one. For me, it is too over-the-top modern, at the expense of being comfortable.

We had the standard room. It was nice and had many interesting, modern details. However, it didn't have a separate bathroom (the shower was behind a door that opened directly into the room and the sink area was hidden only by sliding closet doors). For the price, a separate bathroom would have been nice. Also, the hotel is very dimly lit.

The restaurant and lounge/bar areas were very nice. The (free) breakfast was excellent - a modern take on the classic Turkish breakfast. The rooftop lounge was beautiful and a very relaxing place to sit and have a drink at the end of a day of sight-seeing.

The staff and concierge were very helpful.

It bugged me that the hotel had a metal detector at the door but pretty much just let you walk in and set it off without actually doing anything.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DucksOnParade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WIstanbulInsider, W Insider at W Istanbul, responded to this review, 12 December 2009
Warm Greetings from your W Family!

Great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at W Istanbul and also your experience in our W Lounge. We also appreciate your feedback regarding the guest rooms.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back to W Istanbul!

Warm Wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2009

I stayed in this hotel for one night and I was very pleasantly suprised for trendy and beautiful it looked.

Even thought I stayed there for free (using my SPG points) I was still given a free upgrade to Studio Suite, which was very nice of the reception staff.

The room/suite was absolutely gorgeous and I felt like I just wanted to stay in the room to enjoy the ambience of it.

What I did not like was the fact that absolutely everything (ok, apart from nice Bliss toiletries) seemed to be chargeable and things were not cheap. There is a small gym (not state of the art, as the hotel advertises it), but no swimming pool.

Locationwise, this hotel is a bus/taxi ride from touristy areas, but this seems to be case with most of 5 star hotels in Istanbul.

I would recommend this hotel to a friend, but only if money is no object to them.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brightrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WIstanbulInsider, W Insider at W Istanbul, responded to this review, 12 December 2009
Well Hello There!

As W Istanbul family, we are pleased to read that we could WOW you during your recent stay at our hotel. We are so looking forward to welcoming you back, if your future journeys will bring you back to Istanbul!

Warm Wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Issaquah,
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2009

We stayed at the W Istanbul and were very impressed by several things: The helpful staff; my wife's bag was lost by the airline, and was not supposed to be delivered for 24hr+. W staff went to the airport and retrieved our bag before we went to bed! Awesome. The rooms; beautiful, very luxurious. The beds; oh my god, the most comfortable anywhere in Europe.
The location is adequate, it is a bit of a jaunt to all tourist sites, but close to the Bosphorous. The halls are lit with purple neon lights framing the hall, a bit over the top. The concierge recommended a few places for dinner where he set up reservations; however, coming from the W we were served many items we did not order and then were charged for them. I believe there may have been some kickbacks to the concierge!

However, overall, we loved our stay here, it was a cool, trendy, friendly, and comfortable place. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobotX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WIstanbulInsider, W Insider at W Istanbul, responded to this review, 12 December 2009
Warm Greetings from your W Family!

We wanted to thank you for your valuable
words regarding W Istanbul talents. It is a source of happiness for us to see that you have enjoyed and willing to come back. We hope to meet you again here, at your home away from home very soon.

Warm Wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2009

Unbelievably terrible experience -- from check-in, to the room, to the service -- absolutely awful hotel. There is no view, small bathroom, no tub, internet did not work, concierge was not available, etc etc etc. Shockingly bad experience here. I have stayed in 5-star hotels from London to NY to Tokyo to Rio to the Maldives -- I would say this is about a 1-star hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gurentai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WIstanbulInsider, W Insider at W Istanbul, responded to this review, 12 December 2009
Hello There,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at W Istanbul. Please be assured that your valuable comments will allow us to focus on areas in need of improvement.
Looking forward to welcoming you back, in hope that you will give us another chance to regain your trust in our hotel.

Warm Wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago, il
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2009

Very nice W Hotel. Service was A+ regarding another comment on this board being far away from the sights, I would somewhat disagree. Just hop on the lite-rail which is a 10minute walk away and it takes you anywhere inon the European side that you would want to go OR walk up the hill into the fashion district. If you go to the Bazar, check out Havazulu restaurant, GREAT food and service!! Also, concierge gave us a sushi recomendation which was fanatastic and classy (Zulu). Overall, really liked the hotel

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jptChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WIstanbulInsider, W Insider at W Istanbul, responded to this review, 12 December 2009
Well Hello There!

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments and we are pleased to hear that you did enjoy your stay at W Istanbul.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the nearest possible time.

Warm Wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2009

I generally love W hotels, so I had high hopes for the new W in Istanbul.

As expected, the bed was incredible (always great in the Ws and Westins), the decor modern and edgy. The service was great - the concierge went out of his way to help us multiple times; the valets were fabulous at getting us taxis and making sure we were happy; the restaurant staff served us breakfast at 2pm when we showed up. There are lounges and bars and the terrace is amazing.

There were issues, though, too. We stayed in a 'wonderful' room, which meant there was no bathroom, per se. It was more of a galley kitchen version of a bathroom. Great space optimization, but not ideal (from my perspective). There is only a shower and it's really hard to keep water from spilling out into the main area as you are getting out. Wifi was the equivalent of $25/day, which is just absurd. Especially when they will lend you a laptop for free in the lobby.

The prices of the restaurant were pretty high as well (about $10 for a glass of orange juice - it's good... but $10??) The food was good, but nothing exceptional (in fairness, we didn't eat at Spice Market - one of our favorite restaurants in NYC; we just had the breakfast).

Generally good, but perhaps trying to be a bit too hip for its own good. I'd stay there again if we got a good deal, but it's definitely not my favorite European city hotel...

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMacleod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WIstanbulInsider, W Insider at W Istanbul, responded to this review, 12 December 2009
Hello from your W family!

We are thrilled to hear that you did like the service in our hotel during your recent stay.
Thank you so much for your feedback, as it allows us to focus on areas in need of improvement.
We hope to meet you again at your home away from home.

Warm wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#72 of 1,156 in Istanbul
440 reviews
Besiktas
Renaissance Istanbul Polat Bosphorus Hotel
Besiktas
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
#78 of 1,156 in Istanbul
2,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
#66 of 1,156 in Istanbul
1,322 reviews
Sisli
Park Hyatt Istanbul - Macka Palas
Besiktas
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
#65 of 1,156 in Istanbul
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Istanbul

Property: W Istanbul
Address: Suleyman Seba Cad. No: 22 | Akaretler, Besiktas, Istanbul 34357, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Besiktas , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#87 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#94 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#115 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#169 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — W Istanbul 5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The W Istanbul Hotel is in the centre of the historic Akaretler Row Houses, an upscale neighbourhood filled with restaurants, cafes, and design & art galleries. W guests can explore the authentic and local area of Besiktas and the upscale shopping district of Nisantasi. 140 guestrooms and suites in W Istanbul carry the soul of both history and contemporary luxury. Marmara marble, Ottoman patterns, and lighting to experiment along with your mood. Rooms and suites with gardens, terraces or cabanas adorned with flat-screen TVs, the signature W bed and stylish luxuries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your W Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Istanbul Hotel Istanbul
w Hotels Istanbul
w Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing