We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A soggy mess”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Kizilkayalar

Kizilkayalar
Ranked #626 of 13,397 Restaurants in Istanbul
Cuisines: Fast food, Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Delivery, Takeout
Neighbourhood: Beyoglu
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
197 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“A soggy mess”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

I came here on the recommendation of Anthony Bourdain's "No Reservations" and was disappointed. It's located at the beginning of Istiklal Street near Taksim Square. The wet burgers were a soggy mess and I'm not sure why anyone would crave this unless they were really that drunk. I would pass. Blech!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jing0423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    48
    22
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
86 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good, but I'd rather have a döner kebab”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

I have to admit that I visited the Kizilkayalar stand in Taksim because of Anthony Bourdain. I went earlier in the day when there was not a line down the street so that I could enjoy my wetburgers in peace. The meat was very tasty, uniquely spiced, and juicy, but I have to imagine that the burgers are called wetburgers because of all of the grease on the bun. I can imagine that I would have enjoyed these burgers so much more if I were drunk, but alas, I was not. Döner kebab are so much more satisfying, drunk or sober, that I'm glad I tried the wetburgers, but I will stick to my first street food love hereafter.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank libertina628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Delicious wet burgers!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

We saw this place in Anthony Bourdain's show and came across it while walking in Taksim Square. It was small delicious spicy burgers! Must try if you are visiting Taksim.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shossain6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Soggy burger”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

New found taste in all the burgers that I have had so far. Limited space inside not suitable for big groups. Also to die for is the lemon juice, have not tasted such tasty lemon juice before and this one really stand out and we had another one each before we leave the place. Really recommending this joint to enjoy both burger and lemon juice- out of this world!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Idris2205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“cheap turkish burger!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

fast service, and they help alot to explain thing to stranger, and foreigner like us, milky and taste like kebap ;) and cheap too, you can have 1 small portion of turkish buger only for 2,5 TL

Helpful?
Thank Mon I
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travellers who viewed Kizilkayalar also viewed

 

Been to Kizilkayalar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing