We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Romantic Hotel Istanbul
Ranked #382 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Very nice hotel - friendly and helpful staff. Location perfect close to many attractions. Breakfast room on the top with a fantastic view of the blue mosque, Hagia Sophia and the sea. Room clean and spacious.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Susannegl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (374)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 374 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2013

Our family of four, including two teenagers, very recently stayed in the family room for four nights at the beginning of our trip and then again for two nights at the end. The room is on the second floor overlooking the street in front. Our room and the common areas were very clean and appeared to have very recently been renovated. We liked that the kid's room and the parent's room are completely separated by a wall and door, allowing for more privacy. The kid's room has two separate double beds, and the parent's room has two double beds pushed together. We thought the beds were firm and comfortable. Both rooms have two windows overlooking the street. The rooms are small, but by organizing our luggage and the small tables, we were able to keep four suitcases open and still have enough room to freely move around. Anyways, we spend most of the time in our hotel rooms on the beds, reading, on the internet, or watching TV. There is a TV, with access to many cable stations, and refrigerator in the master bedroom. The A/C is in the kid's room and worked well. The free wireless internet was very good. The shower is small but adequate.

The staff, especially during the day, was very friendly and always very helpful. Like other reviewers, we enjoyed the complimentary breakfast, which had a good selection including yogurt, honey, cold cut meat, two types of cheese, cucumber and tomato, fruits, Turkish biscuits, nuts, cereal.

The hotel is located about three short blocks from the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RLC9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

This is a small, clean, value priced hotel located within easy walking distance of Hagia Sophia, the Blue Mosque and a convenient tram stop. The area is quiet and safe, the streets clean, with many restaurants nearby.
The restaurant and roof top terrace offer good views. The breakfasts featured great yogurt with many choices of toppings, including honey, tomatoes, cucumbers, nuts, dried fruits and fresh fruits and much more.....best breakfast in our three week trip!
The staff is excellent. All are friendly and very helpful. My wife and I had a great time in Istanbul; I know you will enjoy your stay, too.
Jim J

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An EasyToBook.com traveler
Carlisle, United Kingdom
6
Reviewed 10 June 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank An EasyToBook.com traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Just spent one nıght at the hotel. What a gem! Wonderful servıce, small boutıque type hotel (only 9 rooms), nıce Turkısh breakfast and great great locatıon... Perfect for the travelers lookıng for a small famıly run hotel! Orhan ıs great at the front desk!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evelyne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

The location is good, and the rooftop breakfast is great (both food and views).

Rooms are small but not uncomfortably so. Bathroom was new and clean. Decor is a hoot.

Staff were friendly enough but didn't fix our broken AC unit or offer to move us (hotel was not full). They were just kind of disinterested.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JWhyteAppleby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We had to stay here 1 night because the hotel we made our reservation at had overbooked and moved us here for our first night. The room was very perfumey, so I'm glad we weren't staying here the whole time. The room was okay otherwise. And the breakfast on the rooftop terrace was good with all the standard options for coninental breakfast in Turkey.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Inger N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Ocean's 7 Hotel
Ocean's 7 Hotel
#534 of 1,159 in Istanbul
296 reviews
Sultanahmet
Historia Hotel
Historia Hotel
#143 of 1,159 in Istanbul
538 reviews
Sultanahmet
Nomade Hotel
Nomade Hotel
#414 of 1,159 in Istanbul
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Tashkonak Hotel
Tashkonak Hotel
#78 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,461 reviews
Sultanahmet
Almina Hotel
Almina Hotel
#70 of 1,159 in Istanbul
512 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultan Tughra Hotel
Sultan Tughra Hotel
#126 of 1,159 in Istanbul
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romantic Hotel Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romantic Hotel Istanbul

Address: Mimar Aga Cad. Amiral Tafdil Sok.No 17 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #382 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £37 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Romantic Hotel Istanbul 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic Hotel Istanbul is an old Ottoman stone mansion built at the beginning of the 1900's. It was renewed in 2007 and was named Romantic Hotel Istanbul. The hotel is located in the most historical part of Istanbul called "Sultanahmet." (The Old City-A gate to take you back to the history) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Romantic Hotel Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing