We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect hotel excelent location great staff and manager”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cem Sultan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cem Sultan Hotel
Ranked #573 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
birmingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“perfect hotel excelent location great staff and manager”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2009

i stayed in this mind blowing hotel for 9 night the manager and staff were very helpfull and very kind .the location was excelent 2 minute away from the blue mosque and orther big location. the morning breakfast was very good on the roof terace were you could see the ship going past. every morning the manager mr murat will tell me where to go. they are orther hotel near there but i dont thing you could get the service that cem sultanet will give you. i will be coming back to your hotel next year.

Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank edacom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    35
    16
    10
    11
See reviews for
15
42
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC, area
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2009

Spent five nights here in a room overlooking the Bosphorus and could not have been happier. We chose a room in the Sea View category and both room and bath were comfortable size and quiet. Location can't be beat for access to Blue Mosque, St. Sophia, Mosaic Museum, Underground Cistern, and the tram--five to ten minutes' walk will get you to any of them. A block away are twenty or more pleasant restaurants serving typical Turkish fare as well as European dishes (our favorite was one called Family Restaurant). Breakfast was fine for a three-star property and included a beautiful vista over the water. There's no lift, so if climbing stairs is a problem, this might not be the place for you. The manager could not have been more pleasant or helpful.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nellenod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2009

It's more of a bed and breakfast than a hotel. 1. It's loud! We got a deluxe room with a Bosphorus Room. All rooms with Bosphorus views, as it turns out, are right next to the stairs. We could hear everyone coming in and out of their bedrooms and then down the stairs. What other reviewers have said about the staff sitting around watching their t.v. (loudly) is very true. From our room we could here conversations as well as the televison (which is on all day and all night). Their friends are over all of the time and it's more like their living room rather than a place for the hotel guests to sit and relax. Bottom line on this point is that I had to buy earplugs to block out the majority of the sound so that I could actually get some sleep. 2. It's not very clean. While pleasant in smell, I noticed that our sheets weren't changed until I asked and forced the issue. Not once in our week stay was the floor cleaned or the little rug vacuumed. The bathroom shower or sink weren't cleaned, and the garbage wasn't thrown out unless I requested. This probably won't bother you unless you stay more than two days. 3. Television only got Turkish and one French channel. 4. Breakfast was decent but not started on time and usually ran out of items early on.
Overall, it's a step up from a hostel but a step down (way down) from any budget hotel you might be used to. The location, again is great, and the price was decent. Just remember, the earplugs.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelebrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Istanbul hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
hull
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2009

The location was excellent, but for the price you get what you pay for. We got this hotel based on the good reviews which we feel are wholly inaccurate and we travel a lot in budget hotels. The room had furniture from the 1950s, a single wardrobe, a bed that was tiny and a non attached wrought iron headboard and swinging ceiling lamp which threatened to land on us in the middle of the night. Lights flickered on an off in the hallways and we had to ask for new bulbs in the room as no lights worked. The room overlooked what can only be described as a shanty courtyard where cats fought noisely all night. The room was not big enough to fit a suitcase in. The breakfast room on the terrace was terrible with wooden cladding - very 70s, neglected and dirty. It overlooked delipidated houses so the sea view was ruined by it. We avoided breakfast because it was very poor. Okay if you only like cheap cheese, a boiled egg, bread and jam. Some reviews mentioned sausages - are you joking? The staff were not friendly at all and the owners dismissive and brisque in manner. They sat all day in front of a TV with the volume up to the highest and this was combined with noise from work done on the front of the building. We never received a warm welcome and the Turkish are very friendly people proud to give the best service. The place could be forgiven if it was not run like a very cheap and sleazy hostel. This was confirmed when an American who left his mobile phone on the hotel bed one night was told it was never found by the proprietor. The sign did say we are not held responsible for valuables. Be prepared to pay more and read all the reviews!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gingerHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
84 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2009

We stayed three nights at the Cem Sultan in a "promotional double" room. We wanted to book one of the hotel's normal rooms, but the budget room was all the hotel had available. The website listed this as a "smaller room" with a "window looking to small space." Since the price was quite low, and many of the other hotels in the area were already fully booked, we decided to take a chance. We didn't mind a small room (we've stayed in smaller), and we didn't particularly care about having a view.

The location of the hotel is fantastic, just down the street from the Four Seasons and only a block or two from the open gardens between the Blue Mosque and the Hagia Sophia. The location made it very convenient to visit all of the sights of Sultanhamet, and it was a short walk past the Blue Mosque to the Sultanhamet tram stop.

Our flight to Istanbul arrived quite late, but we had no problems checking in at such a late hour, and the room was small but not uncomfortable. Breakfast was served on the top floor of the building, and the stairs might be difficult to manage for those with low mobility. The breakfast itself was only average, and the buffet contained cold meats, cheeses, raisins and dried apricots, corn flakes, white bread, and yogurt. The view of the sea from the breakfast room was nice, and we appreciated the fact that the room was enclosed, since we were visiting in a colder month when we wouldn't get much sun on an outdoor terrace.

However, even with our low expectations for the room, it still managed to disappoint us. We certainly didn't have a view, since "small space" turned out to be little more than a ventilation shaft, and the room received absolutely no natural light. This was a bit inconvenient, since we need to turn on the lights even during the day, and in the mornings we woke in the dark. However, the most annoying thing was the bathroom.

When we first arrived, we had to fiddle with the knobs on the plumbing to start water running to the toilet, and the shower was a constant source of grief. There was no curtain or stall, so luckily we didn't leave anything in the bathroom while we showered, because the floor drain was extremely slow. After only a few minutes with the shower running, the entire bathroom floor was flooded with 2 inches of standing water! Anyone needing to use the sink or toilet afterward had to wade through the room. And once the water did finally drain, some kind of problems with the plumbing meant that a bad odor would sometimes come from the drain.

Glancing into the other rooms as they were cleaned each day, the standard rooms seemed quite large and attractive with plenty of light and attractive archways. One would hope that with more frequent use, they might have better-maintained plumbing and not suffer from the same issues as our room. Our "promotional" room was very inexpensive, so for the same price I think we might have been better off booking a private room in a hostel or lower-end pension that might have been brighter and better maintained. And while I do hope that the standard rooms are in better condition, there are some very nice choices in the same area for only a few euros more.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaisatsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2009

After reading the positive reviews about this hotel I thought it would be good value but quickly realized that it wasn't worth the 50Euros . I'd pre-arranged to be picked up at the airport but wasn't met by anyone. When I arrived at 3:30 pm the front desk clerk denied that anyone was supposed to meet me ( though I'd had written confirmation) & said my room wasn't ready.The front of the building still had Xmas lights up ( this was Easter) and junk stored in front of the building. The staff sat around the loud TV in the lobby day & night ( which I could hear from my room). The phone didn't work in my room. Bed was a mattress/boxspring on the floor. Glass shelf above bathroom sink was broken and kept falling down - so no where to put toiletries. My room was stuffy, dark & very small with a window facing a dark courtyard with the back of crumbling buildings. This may be adequate for 1 night but would've had a negative impact on my week long stay in Istanbul. Luckily I found a real gem , this new hotel which had just opened: the Darussaade ( in Sultanahmet) & for 95Euros a night had very friendly & attentive staff, small but elegant room with 2 bright windows, sauna in basement, extensive buffet breakfast. It cost twice as much as Cem Sultan but was 6 times better. My advice is to fork out the extra cash and upgrade for much better value if you plan to spend more than a couple of nights in Istanbul.
I was traveling alone and looking fo

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank novaterracotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2009

Needed a place to stay for one night in Istanbul on the cheap last minute -- unfortunately I chose Cem Sultan Hotel. While the price was very good, the overall quality of the room coupled with the terrible service made for an unpleasant experience. The only upside is that the location is great if you are a tourist -- in Sultanahmet, less than 2 minutes from the Blue Mosque/Haja Sophia...but there are so many hotels in this area...please don't pick this one.

My main complaint besides the rude staff who tried to swindle me out of quite a bit of money for a "ride to the airport" (who also lied about how much cab fare costs...luckily my local friends came to the rescue), was the fact that my bathroom floor was covered with a swarm of tiny ants. Unacceptable and gross.

Would NOT stay here again or recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VintagePeanut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Chambers of the Boheme
Chambers of the Boheme
#482 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Sultanahmet
Deniz Houses
Deniz Houses
#208 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Beyoglu
Lavanta Hotel
Lavanta Hotel
#394 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Ast Hotel
Ast Hotel
#1,028 of 1,129 in Istanbul
3.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Fener & Balat
Lotus Hotel Istanbul
Lotus Hotel Istanbul
#280 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Express Inci Hotel
#701 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cem Sultan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cem Sultan Hotel

Property: Cem Sultan Hotel
Address: Kutlugun Sokak No : 18, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#58 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Cem Sultan Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cem Sultan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cem Sultan
Cem Sultan Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing