We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“no more than location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Old City Viva Hotel
Ranked #596 of 1,134 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“no more than location”
Reviewed 30 August 2012

This hotel was recommended to us by our friend who often visits istanbul for business. We stayed 7 nights in istanbul and the hotel was the most disappointing thing in our trip. Apart from its amazing location in the old city near all the historic attractions and the tram, the room was so small and could barely fit two people with their clothes. The most annoying thing was that that our room was only cleaned once during our whole stay on the 5th day after nagging so much about it. We would tell the manager everyday to send someone to clean it but no one would come, on the 5th day we ran into the cleaning lady and we told her the room was never cleaned so she went up with us and did it like in 3 mins !!! the towels are only replaced based on order. the bathroom door gets stuck all the time. And most of the time there was no hot water, the manager told us to turn it on and wait 5 mins !!! also, upon arrival our flight was late so we expected to find the shuttle waiting for us but instead we ended up waiting for it!!
Never staying here again!! I rate highly on cleanliness and it is not a clean hotel!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank moni066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    67
    27
    15
    12
See reviews for
63
48
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghang County, China
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Good locatıon, great breakfast, and very handsome nıght manager whose name ıs Zafer.
He ıs very helpful,humorous, and wıll tell you a lot of useful ınformatıon about thıs beautıful cıty. We wıll choose thıs hotel agaın when we vısıt Istanbul.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YI JIA W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

TIny rooms with the beds (four of them in ours) taking up about 90 % of the space. Other than that, street noise can be quite loud, if you have your window to that direction (not sure if there are windows to some other direction). Friendly service, but I'd still try another place next time. Although I'm suspecting that many places in the old city area small and noisy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't give to the street (if they have any).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cachi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tbilisi, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Three of us staid in Old City Viva hotel for four nights (5 days) in early May 2012. We would like to say that we very much enjoyed our stay in the hotel. Starting from the very first steps - the booking - the hotel staff was very quick in replies, giving all required information about the hotel, its location and giving direction on how to get there from the airport. They also took into consideration our request of a non-smoking and a quiet room.

The room was just excellent. It was with four single beds, so three of us had plenty of space there, with fridge and with air conditioner and it was VERY clean. Towels were changed every day. Beds were very comfortable. Bathroom was very clean too.

Breakfast was more then enough with two sorts of salads, cheese and sausage, with boiled, eggs, fried potatoes and fried sausage. Turkish yogurt there was great. There was also excellent Turkish tea, juice (we did not try it) and coffee, variety of cakes, butter, jam etc. And what was very important for us - everything was very fresh and tasty!

The staff in the hotel and in the restaurant is excellent - very friendly (good smile and nice words in the morning made you days), professional, always ready to help (even with weather forecast by looking at the sky - more correct then in internet:)) and everything was done in a very friendly and unobtrusive manner. Taking the chance, we would like o thank Halil, Zafer and other hotel and restaurant staff for a very good service and for making our stay in Istanbul very pleasant!

Location of the hotel is great. It is very close to all main tourist attractions of the old city and easy accessible to others, for example, Dolmabahce palace, by tram. There are many nice restaurants around the hotel. The hotel has a nice tea-room on the ground floor where you can enjoy a cup of tea or coffee with Turkish sweets and have a short rest, as we did, before leaving for the airport.

We very much liked the hotel and had decided that we will definitely stay there when we will be in Istanbul next time.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ngng2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

At a much better deal than the rest of the hotels in the area, you get what you pay for here. Just a 5-minute walk to Bosphorus, 10-minutes to Sultanhamet (Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Basilica Cisterna) and a half hour stroll to the Galata area. After reading reviews here I was prepared for a small room, but ours was in pretty rough shape - dusty floors, stained mirror, rickety bed and when we arrived and tried to shower, the water wasn't working and wouldn't be for a few hours..I have to say that the staff was pleasant and helpful. One night we could here a couple playing music at an unreasonably high volume around 1 am, I called reception and they sent someone up right away to tell them to turn it down. I did get upset though once when we got back after a day out and found our window wide open! The buffet is sufficient to give you energy to get on with your day, but nothing to rave about. Overall I would recommend if you're looking to save on accomodations, but expect 2-star quality.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alessismore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Turvan Hotel
Turvan Hotel
#416 of 1,134 in Istanbul
3.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Sultanahmet
Septimum Hotel
Septimum Hotel
#485 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Sultanahmet
Seres Hotel
Seres Hotel
#409 of 1,134 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Gulhane Corner Hotel
Gulhane Corner Hotel
#544 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sehir Hotel Oldcity
Sehir Hotel Oldcity
#267 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Sultanahmet
Yeni Hostel
Yeni Hostel
#379 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old City Viva Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old City Viva Hotel

Property: Old City Viva Hotel
Address: Hoca Pasa Mah. Orhaniye Cad. No:20 Sirkeci, Fatih, Istanbul, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#97 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Old City Viva Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Old City Viva Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oldcity Viva Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing