We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't do it.....” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Mark Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Mark Hotel
Ranked #833 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't do it.....”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2009

Stayed at this hotel with a friend recently for a week...From the moment we arrived there was trouble, First of all we were shown to our rooms which were right next to wide open door down the fire exit onto the street..V.dodgy!
Then after being told the hotel was full to capacity, we were finally shown 4(!) other available rooms..Eventually we settled and the rooms in fairness were clean..the only good point.All amenities listed were made up..No 24 hr room service, broken window (had to eventually sellotape it shut myself!), No safe in friends room, Toilet leaking, No minibar, ironing facilities..Also this is very noisy hotel..Walls are paper thin..The location was also very run down and supposedly unsafe , although we didn see any hassle..Good location for sightseeing, close to everything although bit of an uphill struggle for elderly people...I think the worst thing about this hotel though for me was the attitude of the staff..They weren't in the least bit helpful about anything....Wouldn't recommend this hotel or area..Istanbul beautiful tho..had great hol otherwise...

Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank NewShoes76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    20
    18
    8
    8
See reviews for
15
22
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2009

stayed in this hotel for a week , hotel was in ok location with regards to sightseeing street itself very dirty and some locals told us dangerous at night. no safe in room no mini bar no 24 hour room service , no airport transfer hairdryer in bad state, window in friends room would not close when first arrived shown two very bad rooms told reception we would like to move, very unhelpful at first but eventually moved us. had a great holiday in istanbul but wished i booked another hotel so badically would not recommed hotel .

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ireland93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Istanbul hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2009

This place isn't ideally situated, as there's a bit of an uphill walk to the Grand Bazaar and it's a ten minute stroll into the heart of Sultanahmet. Having said that, you won't find a better bargain on this side of the Golden Horn, and if you're happy to be out of the tourist melee then you could do a lot worse. The hotel is spotlessly clean, the water is hot and the showers powerful, the breakfasts do the job and the staff can't do enough for you. Very friendly, very kind, and made me endless cups of tea.

A handy tip: the Kumkapi suburban railway station is just minutes away if you take a shortcut through the fish restaurants across the road. You can get a train to Sirkeci and change to the tram system there, or in the other direction I think it goes all the way to the airport. Very handy if you're carting luggage and don't want to traipse up the hill.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2009

Very clean, amazingly friendly staff who were always willing to help and do everything to make my stay a pleasant one. The hotel is ideally located 15 minutes walk away from the Bazaar, Aghia Sophia and the Blue Mosque. The hotel was quiet and surrounded by local culture with banks, shops, restaurants and pretty much all you need etc on the doorstep. I will definitely return here again.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynatali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Reyyan Hotel
#316 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Sultanahmet
Minel Hotel
Minel Hotel
#187 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Sultanahmet
Kaftan Hotel
Kaftan Hotel
#280 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fors Hotel
#595 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Sultanahmet
Deniz Houses
Deniz Houses
#206 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Grand Istanbul Airport Hotel
#624 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mark Hotel

Property: Grand Mark Hotel
Address: Cifte Gelinler Caddesi No: 10, Istanbul, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #833 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Mark Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Mark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing