We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than a Hotel”
Review of Tuncay Pension

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tuncay Pension
Ranked #18 of 32 Selcuk B&B and Inns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“More than a Hotel”
Reviewed 14 September 2011

We had a recent overnight stay in Selçuk which was organized through a local travel agent in Pamukkale. As it turned out our travel agent sent us to the wrong hotel which resulted in the wrong tour pick up location as well as no information for our outgoing bus the next day. In short the owners of the Tuncay Pension made at least 15 phone calls and bent over backwards to ensure everything was looked after for us.
You will be well looked after.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adamleacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    36
    13
    1
    4
See reviews for
7
29
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Wyalong, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

A family run hostel with private rooms if needed. We used the dorm; a very reasonable 20 TL per person (good breakfast included) for decent sized beds in a very clean and pleasant dorm room. Good shower too with hot water and a laundry service, very welcome for a smelly pair of independent travellers who were starting to attract flies. The hostel is a VERY nice building, with shady patio area and fountain and a terrace upstairs, two minute walk from the bus terminal. A nice family to stay with; English and French spoken, very hospitable, friendly, knowledgeable and generous with advice and information. We intended to stay one night and move on but the place is so welcoming and relaxed we took a day off bussing it everywhere and stayed another. Go here if you're in town.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TamaraM86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

The staff were friendly and helpful; because we arrived quite early in the morning on our first day (i.e. many hours before check-in began), they stored our luggage for us and let us have use of a bathroom to change/wash up in. The pension is relatively small and very cozy feeling, but be forewarned that it has more of the atmosphere of a hostel than a hotel. Breakfast was truly excellent and served in a very charming courtyard garden. The rooms are sparsely furnished but generally comfortable; however, we did suffer slightly from a lack of cold water on the first day and a lack of hot water in our bathroom on the second day. Also, wireless only seems to work outside in the garden. Overall, good value for the price and we'd likely stay here again if we make it back to the region.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

The rooms were simple and very clean. The shady courtyard and roof terrace with a view of the historic castle were great. The traditional Turkish breakfast was nice and the location can't be beat. It's only a few minutes walk to most sights and shopping. But, it's the hospitality that can't be beat. The hotel manager Junet escorted my friend, who was sick to the pharmacy and helped translate with the pharmacist. They really went out of their way to help us. We were even escorted to and from the bus station by Muslem, a member of the hotel staff. Yes, the shuttle to Ephesus and Meryemana was through a carpet shop, but service was great. Enis, the owner educated us on carpets, kilims and Kurdish cats. They even helped with other travel plans around Turkey.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LM4000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

I planned to stay for two nights, but Muslim, the staff was very friendly and helpful and gave useful advice that I needed not to spend more night in Selcuk in order to save time for my next destinations.
I enjoyed so much the family like environment, the evening BBQ in the courtyard, where we shared foods and story telling like in a big family!

Thank you Muslim!

It is nice, warm-welcoming place with moderate rate, close to the city and to the old Ephesus.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank marsia15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
130 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

We visited Selcuk as part of our trip around Turkey and were in this area to visit Ephesus. Our room was clean and comfortable, breakfast in the courtyard was fantastic every day (the best we had our entire trip) and the staff friendly and helpful. Would highly recommend Tuncay to anyone visiting this region.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheYarralls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2011

We stayed at Tuncay for one night and really enjoyed our time here. Arriving in Selcuk without a booking, we were encouraged to have a look at Tuncay when we met the owner at the bus station. Usually we'd avoid taking people up of their offers in this situation, but it was early in the season and he seemed genuine. We were glad we did!
The owner and his family were so welcoming and hospitable. Firstly, we were invited to be shown around the local farmers market, sampling delights and selecting food we would receive as part of our breakfast the following morning. We were then invited to join the family for meal in the pretty courtyard which was a beautiful traditional turkish family meal. Later in the evening, as we had no plans, we were asked if we wanted to visit a friends carpet shop; we were somewhat dubious but obliged. Though we did get a sales pitch, we primarily received a thorough introductory lesson in the fabrication and selection of turkish carpets which we found really interesting and there was no pressure on us to make any purchases.
The pension is very well located, the rooms were simple but tidy, the breakfast was great (and fresh!) and the owners were amazing.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nztoworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Selcuk hotels
0.1 mi away
Urkmez Hotel
Urkmez Hotel
#7 of 33 in Selcuk
513 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nur Pension
Nur Pension
#15 of 33 in Selcuk
114 reviews
0.2 mi away
Boomerang Guesthouse Ephesus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Vardar Family Pension
Vardar Family Pension
#21 of 32 in Selcuk
112 reviews
0.2 mi away
Homeros Pension & Guesthouse
0.6 mi away
Villa Panaroma
Villa Panaroma
#8 of 32 in Selcuk
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tuncay Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tuncay Pension

Property: Tuncay Pension
Address: Isa Bey Mah. Sehit Polis Metin Tavaslioglu Cad. No 13, Selcuk, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Selcuk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Selcuk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Tuncay Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tuncay Pension Turkey/Izmir Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing