We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“50:50”
Review of Rebetika Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rebetika Hotel
Ranked #12 of 32 Selcuk B&B and Inns
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“50:50”
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Our travel agent insisted on this hotel. Matter of fact he charged us an extra 10Euro for the privilege. We saw the reviews on tripadvisor and agreed. Our own review is mixed.

Our hotel included airport transfers from Izmir. We were greeted at the airport by a friendly pleasant person who then brought us to Selcuk in what seemed his private car. When we reached the hotel, he showed us to our rooms and around the hotel. Then asked us what we'ed like to have for dinner and proceeded to cook our fish! Rebetika is basically a 20 room B&B owned and managed by two brothers.

The views from there were good and lot of the attractions were walking distance. (though not Efes) Rooms and bathrooms were really basic and sparse. A bit uncomfortable I thought. Though it had a TV and a cable box, neither worked. The complimentary internet in the room worked one night and not the other. (when informed about it the answer was, oh that doesn't always work). They did have a computer in the "lobby" where one could access the Net and a TV with international channels.

The complimentary breakfast was really really basic. Cereal, boiled egg, cheese, and some fruit. The fish from the first night was good. Initially we were charged 31 Euro for two but later on check-out we were told that they made a mistake and the meal was actually 55 Euro!

On the day we were to leave out transfer to the airport at 3. So we requested a late check-out. Not only we were told that isn't possible but told to vacate our rooms at 8 in the morning. It seems it was Sunday and the maid had to clean the rooms and leave early. Though we did still see her at 3 pm when we left!

Over all the brothers were friendly. But the experience was not. At the rates they charged it was not a good deal at all.

We will advice other travelers not to stay at Selcuk at all. But rather the nearby and more scenic Sirince Village. It's just 10 minutes more from Selcuk and the attractions of the town will be covered by the tours anyway!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NazimFarhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    61
    18
    12
    12
See reviews for
31
74
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur Malaysia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

We arrived late evening after a full day tour of Pammukale and Hyerapolis. We were met by the owner of the hotel, Ibrahim Cerci. He warmly greeted us and invited us to go to the rooftop terrace and we were offered a free tea and snack as a welcome gesture. Ibrahim enthusiastically explained the historical sites ( Isa Bey Mosque, The Basilica of Saint John and The Temple of Artemis ) in the surrounding area of Hotel Rebetica while we enjoyed our tea. Our 17 year old son was already typing on his Mac as the terrace has wifi faclity. The sun was setting and the almost 360 degrees view on the terrace was spectacular with the landscape smothered in golden hue.

Our triple room was in the ground floor, clean, sufficiently furnished and equipped with a small LCD TV and a well maintained bathroom.

We had dinner at the rooftop terrace and Ali Baba the chef is a friendly and a good cook. We were too tired to extend our stay after dinner so we didn't get a chance to try out the 'harem pad' a very cosy area furbished with Turkish cushions and carpets at one corner of the terrace. We also had our breakfast the next morning at the same terrace and the morning sun gave it a different, pleasant experience.

We checked out early for a tour of the Ephesus and were allowed to leave our luggages behind at the hotel till end of the day. We came back
in the evening to fetch our luggages and was invited by Ibrahim to also freshen up before we board the overnight bus back to Istanbul.

The Rebetica Hotel is small, intimate, managed with a family atmosphere. You would not be alone, even if you are alone because you would feel like you are a part of The Rebetica's family. The hotel is a joyful stroll away from the town's centre and close to historical sites, many hotels, restaurants and shops.

Ibrahim, thank you for being there. We highly appreciate your kind hospitality and generosity. You can count on us if we come back to Selcuk. Our regards to the rest of the team.

Hamdan, Melania & Aleif
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Room Tip: Ali Baba's barbeque chicken!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlobalGang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

The Rebetika is in a great location, near the head of the archeological sites nearby, and the staff are friendly and helpful. The small restaurant on the roof is pleasant and affords a wonderful view of the area. Unfortunately, there is a bar/restaurant right across the street with a live band on weekends that prevents any sleep until after midnight - so plan accordingly.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennyanneherre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2011

From the moment we arrived and were joined on the terrace by Ibrahim and brother Suleyman, we felt right at home. This hotel is truly a family business, and they warmly invite you to be a part of it. If you're lucky, you may even get to meet Suleyman's adorable little toddler as he jets around on the terrace.

The hotel itself is lovely, with clean, airy and large rooms, some with private balconies. The terrace has great views of all the historical sights around - the Temple of Artemis, the Isa Bey Mosque, St. Jean's Church, and an old castle that sits on the top of the hill. Be sure to check out the cushion corner up on the terrace, great for a relaxing in the shade after a days walking through Ephesus. The hotel is happy to arrange a shuttle up to Ephesus, and will pick you up if you need it, though they are only a 2km walk from the bottom gate. Be sure to eat dinner at the little restaurant on the terrace one night - the food is delicious, there are some nice wines available, and the cook is super nice.

The real charm of this hotel, though, is the atmosphere. Travelling can sometimes be a bit isolating, but a stay at the Rebetika Hotel is like being at home. Ibrahim, Suleyman, their parents, and their children are some of the friendliest, warmest, and most gracious people I've ever met.

It is places like these that make me want to return to Turkey as soon as I can.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cwhipple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2011

From the moment we arrived we were treated like one of the family. This was originaly a family home, and is run by 2 brothers from that family.It's a short walk from the town centre, right next to Isa Bey Mosque and below the Basilica of St John. Wouldn't hesitate to book here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank judyross121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2011

The renovatıons are done. The people who run thıs place are great! The rooms are pretty standard for the prıce and the vıew from the terrace ıs exceptıonal! Great locatıon, worth the money, and free computer access make ıt worth the stop! The other revıews I have read about thıs place beıng under constructıon are out dated so dont be scared away from here!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel_foxCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamukkale, Turkey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2011

This 'boutique hotel' certainly doesn't warrant the title. It was being renovated when we stayed there so there was drilling at 6am on a Sunday morning, and more dirt spread throughout the building than you could want in a farm.
This hotel has the audacity to charge 60 euros a night; you would be better off staying in a hostel, it would be much better value for money. Breakfast on the roof terrace is nice - but let's be honest, that's hardly new in this part of Turkey. Plus the breakfast is terrible.
The owner is clearly cutting corners with the quality of the hotel. Light fittings are cheap and the switches aren't even next to the bed so you have to get out of bed to turn off the lights. There are no curtains, only thin white blinds, which - surprise surprise - don't block out any light, particularly the street lights which prompted me to sleep with an airline eye -mask every night to try and feel like I was even remotely in darkness.
If you are staying over a Friday/Saturday night, don't forget your ear plugs because the bar next door has a band that plays until midnight both nights. And there is no double-glazing.
The bathroom is terrible - nowhere to rest your soap or shampoos, nothing to hang your towel on, and really bad shower quality overall.
The beds are hard (and not in a good way), there is no carpeting throughout the whole buiding so sound travels.
Come to this hideous excuse of a hotel only if you have money to waste and no desire to sleep.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nad-mac-deluxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Selcuk hotels
0.3 mi away
Urkmez Hotel
Urkmez Hotel
#7 of 33 in Selcuk
512 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nur Pension
Nur Pension
#15 of 33 in Selcuk
114 reviews
0.2 mi away
Boomerang Guesthouse Ephesus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Homeros Pension & Guesthouse
0.8 mi away
Villa Panaroma
Villa Panaroma
#8 of 32 in Selcuk
223 reviews
2.4 mi away
Atilla's Getaway
Atilla's Getaway
#3 of 18 in Selcuk
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rebetika Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rebetika Hotel

Property: Rebetika Hotel
Address: Ataturk Mah. 1054. Sok. No:2 Selcuk Merkez, Selcuk 35920, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Selcuk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Selcuk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rebetika Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rebetika Boutique Hotel is located in beautiful and historical Selcuk, home of Ephesus, near the coast of the Aegean Sea. Opened in April 2008, Rebetika Boutique Hotel offers elegant and luxurious rooms, all with air conditioning, and many with private terraces. Breathtaking views can be seen from our rooftop terrace, where you can take breakfast or enjoy a night of relaxation by the outdoor fireplace. Rebetika Boutique Hotel is surrounded by historical wonders, including The Temple of Artemis, one of the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World, Isabey Mosque, the Basilica of St. Jean, and the Selcuk castle. Experience the best in Turkish hospitality at Rebetika Boutique Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rebetika Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rebetika Hotel Turkey/Izmir Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing