We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy...worth a visit”
Review of Amazon

Amazon
Ranked #50 of 102 Restaurants in Selcuk
Restaurant details
Athens, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Cosy...worth a visit”
Reviewed 12 August 2012 via mobile

It is preferred by locals also, located in the old city at a peaceful place and you can eat at the garden as well. The owner is really friendly, trying to fulfill our needs. The menu needs more clarifications, ie we expected more variety in the cheese plate than one type of cheese....
The amazon salad was more fried and juicy than our taste but both our grilled main courses were good
Two persons with one salad,one appetizer and two mains with two glasses of wine costs 80 tl

Helpful?
Thank Konstantinos N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    15
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, Bucks, UK
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Mama Mia style hotel - perfect.”
Reviewed 7 August 2012 via mobile

Staying here for 1 night while visiting Epesus and Water Park. The owner is very helpful, the rooms are rustic, basic, Turkish and very, very quaint. We are a group of 10 with 2 triple rooms and 2 doubles. Rooms set around a walled garden with a shady canopy. Drinks available from the fridge. Off to see what breakfast is like.

Helpful?
Thank DoulaBeverley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Not quite the eighth wonder, but very good.”
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We had a pleasant drink in the green and leafy area across the road from the main restaurant looking out at the remains of one of the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World (The Temple of Artemis) before deciding to cross the road and stay for dinner. Good service, excellent food and very reasonably priced.

The Amazon Special was really good. Strips of beef with yoghurt and crisp shredded potato. Never had anything like it before.

The restaurant is only a few hundred metres out of town and is well worth the trip.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hzbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An excellent surprise.”
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We just dropped in for a drink and then stayed for dinner. What an excellent bit of luck. Clearly a family business, we were well waited on and everything we ate was excellent. The mezze was pleasantly different to what we had become used to and the "Amazon Special" was, um, special. Unlike any other dish we had had in Turkey and very good.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Astagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Stopped for a drink at one of the 7 Wonders”
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Food smelled good, but service was a little lacking. Granted, we stopped here at about 4pm, but the 1 gentleman available choose to ignore us for a little bit. Menu looks impressive and other travellers raved about the food.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dragoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Amazon also viewed

Selcuk, Izmir Province
Selcuk, Izmir Province
 
Selcuk, Izmir Province
 

Been to Amazon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing