We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food. Excellent service”

Wallabies Aquaduct Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 103 Restaurants in Selcuk
Price range: US$5 - US$12
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food. Excellent service”
Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

Excellent food - particularly the house 'special' lamb dish. Service was also excellent and the meal was well priced. We paid about 75TL for three courses and drinks for two people (without alcohol). Would definitely go back. One of the nicest meals we've had in Turkey. The setting, in front of an aqueduct was something quite rare!

Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    59
    21
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely experience”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

During our three-night stay in Selcuk during late July 2014 we chose to eat twice at Wallabies restaurant, despite the obvious appeal of its many nearby competitors and despite the good food offered in the hotel we’d chosen. We’d happily have eaten there more often if we’d been staying longer. That’s how highly we rated it.
The location, right in the centre of the city’s attractive eating-drinking-browsing-shopping pocket, makes it easy to locate and reach from almost wherever you might be staying. We ate out of doors to take advantage of the summer nights, seated at the edge of the pool, centrepiece of the lively town square.
The menu was varied, full of interesting items at reasonable prices. The food put on the table more than matched the promises made in the menu descriptions. This was backed up by a good wine list including a most acceptable house special.
The proprietor, his own maître d’, was lively, warm and amusing. His young waiters had been imbued with a strong service culture and were attentive without being at all intrusive. We appreciated the total absence of ‘pushing’ the menu, of repeated urgings to order more or another course, something that has marred some of our eating-out experiences in Turkey.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenny6642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Perfect setting and great food”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We thought we'd give Wallabies a try, despite the name. Glad we did. At night they have an outdoor seating area on the square in a prime position next to the Aqueduct, the square is buzzing at night. The owner was very friendly and efficient and he advised us on menu choices and when the food came it was very well cooked and very tasty. The owner came back to check on us several times and have a chat. The food and the atmosphere were very good, don't be put off by the name.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank JontiDenHaag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Storks!”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Mezzes mixed plate was tasty. Wife had lamb curry and I had the Surprize. We both thought our mains were ok but have had tastier meals in Turkey. The best part was watching storks coming back to their nests after hunting.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tburnside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Nice food, charming staff,beautiful view and location”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Sit in the garden, have one of the daily specials, get a close up view of the roman aqueducts that run through town and the storks that nest on them. Watch the towns people and visitors stroll by as you dine.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MelissaPeery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wallabies Aquaduct Restaurant also viewed

Selcuk, Izmir Province
Selcuk, Izmir Province
 
Selcuk, Izmir Province
Selcuk, Izmir Province
 

Been to Wallabies Aquaduct Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing