We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil, friendly hotel”
Review of Amazon Antique

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Amazon Antique
Ranked #13 of 32 Selcuk B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tranquil, friendly hotel”
Reviewed 9 October 2012

The room was simple, but the ambience of the garden and the friendly honest charm of Emre made us feel so at home here. We ate breakfast and dinner at the hotel, and enjoyed it very much. Emre and his cousin were very helpful and were happy to take us to Ephesus and the bus station. Great location in a quiet area, but easy walk to the busier part of town.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    39
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
18
38
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

So so great. Lovely simple rooms around courtyard. Great breakfast. Very very friendly owner and his cousin run the place. Good price. I just cant find anything bad to say about the place. And I thought the location was great. I was utterly charmed by the hotel and the owners.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onthebusagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

My family of 6 just stayed at the Amazon Antique. The kids felt it was their favorite hotel in Turkey. Emre is every bit as warm and helpful as the other reviews mention. The hotel is charming, though basic, but he makes the place shine. Beds seemed new, air conditioning was fine. Emre goes out of his way to make sure all his guests are well taken care of and happy. He "retired" from Istanbul to start this inn about a year ago. The home belonged to his grandfather.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanJulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Stayed here overnight while visiting Efes. All the previous reviews are bang-on. Situated on a quiet street among a few other hotels its miles from a corporate type hotel but is very charming set around a small courtyard with tables & chairs and trees providing shade. Rooms are basic but clean and have Air con. There is a well stocked fridge in the courtyard offering drinks at a reasonable price. Owner is very helpful, street parking outside, breakfast provided.

I was a little surprised at the town of Selcuk, modern with plenty of shops and places to eat. A few sights to see in the town if you have the time such as the Efes museum, a large castle and the Basicalla of Saint John and intermittent remains of a roman aqueduct passing down the main street. Efes is only a few miles away plus Adaland aqua park. Town looks to be on a train route, not sure where it leads to – possibly Instanbul.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julianp-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

If you looking for a nice quite simple and cozy place, this is the best for you. Located in the centre of ancient city and really close to Ephesus,. The rooms are small but cozy, clean and cool as they are around a small garden. Best of all the young owner Emre, who is always around and pleasant to help you with advices about food, swimming, tours etc according to your needs. Surely proposed

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Konstantinos N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Emre, the owner/operator, is my hero! He insisted on being available to us 24/7. He took amazing care of us, including driving us to/from Ephesus and even to the more distant home of the Virgin Mary at NO charge! (although we did take a taxi home from the Virgin Mary home for 35TL) And, to save money, he offered to drive us to airport at a greatly reduced rate.

The included breakfast was the best we had in Turkey -- especially for my picky kids -- with fresh fruit, breads, eggs, and other turkish yummies. Location is excellent and exciting, being in the middle of the old-town. We walked everywhere in Selcuk. The place was charming, being a converted farm house.

Our only challenge -- DON'T stay in the 6-person annex (used to be Emre's grandfather's apartment) during the hot months, because this is the only room without A/C. Ugh.

Room Tip: DON'T stay in the 6-person annex (used to be Emre's grandfather's apartment) during the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HKJoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

I arrived alone in this town last night. Thought I would be able to walk to the place by myself, but I refrained to try in the middle of the night. Thus, I gave a call to Emre, the in-charge, planning to get a taxi to his place. The location is near rhe bus station. But he came to fetched me instead. And even offered to drive me to Ephesus etc. And the museum, temple of Artemis and museum are just within walking . Seriously, I didnt meet such fantastic hospitality. The well-equipped room is cozy and the place itself is the garden. The toilet is clean and new. I guess the hand soap is carefully chosen by the owner. It is kinda natural scented home-made soap, Though the weather lately is rather hot, but the garden is rather cool. If I come back again, this sure will be the place! A perfect getaway.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sulee O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Selcuk hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bella
Hotel Bella
#8 of 33 in Selcuk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ayasoluk Hotel
Ayasoluk Hotel
#1 of 33 in Selcuk
5.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nilya
Hotel Nilya
#6 of 33 in Selcuk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Nur Pension
Nur Pension
#15 of 33 in Selcuk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.1 mi away
Boomerang Guesthouse Ephesus
0.3 mi away
Saint John Hotel
Saint John Hotel
#2 of 32 in Selcuk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amazon Antique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amazon Antique

Property: Amazon Antique
Address: Ataturk Mah. No:6 Selcuk Merkez, Selcuk 35920, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Selcuk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Selcuk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Amazon Antique 1*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Hotel.de so you can book your Amazon Antique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amazon Antique Turkey/Izmir Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing