We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hotel”
Review of Amazon Antique

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Amazon Antique
Ranked #14 of 31 Selcuk B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 November 2012

Amazon Antique is a great value! The rooms were clean; Emre (owner) and the other staff were extremely helpful and nice; the included breakfast was amazing each morning; location is perfect for walking to local sights in Selcuk or taking a short shuttle to Ephesus. I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

48 - 54 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2012

If you are looking for luxury accommodation then the Amazon Antique is probably not for you. However, if you are looking for clean, budget friendly accommodation with amazing staff willing to go out of their way to make your stay both comfortable and enjoyable then I highly recommend Amazon Antique. From the moment we arrived the staff were cheerful, helpful and eager to help us in any way they could. The rooms were minimalist but both rooms and bathrooms were clean (a must with young children). We had an early departure but staff made breakfast out of hours for us and drove us to the train station (and stayed to make sure we were able to get tickets!!). I would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MKosche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Nice, quiet, nature: what do you want more? The Amazon Antique is right in the middle between what remains of the old Artemis Temple (not a lot actually) and the St. John Cathedral (a bit more). The area is absolutely peacefull a part of some groups of people coming from cruise journey arriving around lunch time for visiting a medieval mosque near there (that's worth to visit). The rooms are simple but nothing is missing (you can get also slippers and free WiFi). But the very greater part is the owner, Emre. One of the kindest, propably the one, landlord we've met in Turkey! He can solve every your doubt, helping you in booking buses and pick you up with his car if you get lost. A real philanthropist!! Just think that breakfast does not have any time limit...this is futurism!! :) Really, enjoy your stay in Ephesus!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucadalfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

The room was simple, but the ambience of the garden and the friendly honest charm of Emre made us feel so at home here. We ate breakfast and dinner at the hotel, and enjoyed it very much. Emre and his cousin were very helpful and were happy to take us to Ephesus and the bus station. Great location in a quiet area, but easy walk to the busier part of town.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marianne004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

So so great. Lovely simple rooms around courtyard. Great breakfast. Very very friendly owner and his cousin run the place. Good price. I just cant find anything bad to say about the place. And I thought the location was great. I was utterly charmed by the hotel and the owners.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onthebusagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

My family of 6 just stayed at the Amazon Antique. The kids felt it was their favorite hotel in Turkey. Emre is every bit as warm and helpful as the other reviews mention. The hotel is charming, though basic, but he makes the place shine. Beds seemed new, air conditioning was fine. Emre goes out of his way to make sure all his guests are well taken care of and happy. He "retired" from Istanbul to start this inn about a year ago. The home belonged to his grandfather.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanJulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Stayed here overnight while visiting Efes. All the previous reviews are bang-on. Situated on a quiet street among a few other hotels its miles from a corporate type hotel but is very charming set around a small courtyard with tables & chairs and trees providing shade. Rooms are basic but clean and have Air con. There is a well stocked fridge in the courtyard offering drinks at a reasonable price. Owner is very helpful, street parking outside, breakfast provided.

I was a little surprised at the town of Selcuk, modern with plenty of shops and places to eat. A few sights to see in the town if you have the time such as the Efes museum, a large castle and the Basicalla of Saint John and intermittent remains of a roman aqueduct passing down the main street. Efes is only a few miles away plus Adaland aqua park. Town looks to be on a train route, not sure where it leads to – possibly Instanbul.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julianp-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Selcuk hotels
0.5 mi away
Ephesus Palace
Ephesus Palace
#11 of 34 in Selcuk
33 reviews
0.1 mi away
Urkmez Hotel
Urkmez Hotel
#6 of 34 in Selcuk
530 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rebetika Hotel
Rebetika Hotel
#10 of 31 in Selcuk
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Homeros Pension & Guesthouse
0 mi away
Nicea Hotel
Nicea Hotel
#9 of 31 in Selcuk
29 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anz Guesthouse
Anz Guesthouse
#1 of 18 in Selcuk
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amazon Antique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amazon Antique

Address: Ataturk Mah. No:6 Selcuk Merkez, Selcuk 35920, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Selcuk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Selcuk
Price Range: £23 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Amazon Antique 1*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Amazon Antique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amazon Antique Turkey/Izmir Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing