We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The food is amazing!”
Review of Rumeli Restaurant

Rumeli Restaurant
Ranked #58 of 103 Restaurants in Selcuk
Cuisines: Turkish
Description: first significant restaurant on the main street of the commercial district of Selcuk (coming from the St John's Church ruins). serves good Turkish food and excellent grilled fresh fish,soups
Restaurant details
Description: first significant restaurant on the main street of the commercial district of Selcuk (coming from the St John's Church ruins). serves good Turkish food and excellent grilled fresh fish,soups
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
“The food is amazing!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

A must try in Selcuk! Food wise is brilliant. The soup and chicken shish is nice and budget friendly! Spent only 20TL

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicolas N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    4
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good Turkish Fare”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

My husband and I ate at Rumeli's twice during our 3 day stay in Selcuk. The owner was fairly amiable but once a bit pouty because he got woken up at noon to serve lunch to a separate tour group of 14 people plus us. He had previously told us – quite proudly too – that his place served food 24 hours a day but I guess this is only true in high season.

As it was a lovely warm spring afternoon on our 2nd day in Selcuk, we ate out on the terrace in golden sunshine, under a blanket of clear blue sky (before the canopies came down) and a cool breeze. Located at the bottom end of one of the cosy shopping streets (if approaching from the train station), Rumeli is also a nice spot to watch the locals and tourists going about the day. We could also spot the St John ruins up the hill across the road.

As for the food, we had oven grilled meatballs topped with cheese in a tomato sauce, a salad and Ayran to drink. I found the dish too oily but my husband saw this as a suitable pool to dunk his flatbreads in! Taste-wise, the meal was nicely seasoned and well-balanced in flavour. The seasonal salad (lettuce, tomatoes, cucumbers and parsley) provided a fresh contrast to the main meal, sparsely seasoned with fresh lemon juice and olive oil – all it needed. The prices are reasonable with our meal totalling around 35TL.

I'd like to thank Enigma2007 – the TA destination expert for Istanbul – who recommended Rumeli to me following his visit to Selcuk. It was worth the visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peaches O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Midnight Feast”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Our second midnight visit and we were spoiled!!! The soup and oven fresh bread was excellent followed by a mix of main meals all of which were so very delicious. The restaurant was busy again and yet we got great service from everone. We left very full indeed and again so much food for the price. Very fresh homely food served with exceptional attentive service. We won't be eating anywhere else in Selcuk again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Husbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very fresh and Tasty and good value”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We were there at midnight and not many places left open and this place is open all night!
We were very impressed with the freshly made food and was sooo tasty and also very good value for money

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Russell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“A very good budget restaurant at Selcuk”
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Once again this is the restaurant for soups and casseroles. Very good food, good service, and budget prices. I highly recommend this restaurant at Selcuk.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank enigma2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rumeli Restaurant also viewed

Selcuk, Izmir Province
Selcuk, Izmir Province
 
Selcuk, Izmir Province
Selcuk, Izmir Province
 

Been to Rumeli Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing