We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint Guest House”
Review of Urkmez Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Urkmez Hotel
Ranked #9 of 31 Selcuk B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 April 2013

This is a great little place right in Selcuk a block from the Church of St. John and 4 or 5 blocks to the downtown. On Saturday the village market fills the downtown streets with rows and rows of stalls selling everything from fruit and vegetables, cheeses, spices, nuts, shoes, clothing, etc. The Ephesus Suites is more of a B&B rather than a Hotel as it only has 4 rooms. The staff went out of their way to help us during our 3 night stay. Breakfast was excellent. The only downside was that the lighting in the room was a little dark. It is a very short drive to Ephesus or to Mary's house. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

93 - 99 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2013 via mobile

We have spent 3 days at Ephesus Suites and it was a great experience.

The rooms are clean, nicely furnished and spacious.

The service is extremely good and the owner Cuneyt takes good care of every guest.

The breakfast is very well served and more than you would expect from a standard B&B.

Overall, we were extremely satisfied with our stay and would recommend anyone who would like to visit Ephesus and surroundings.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cem_Oztoprak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We stayed at Ephesus Suites for 3 nights during our recent trip to Ephesus. We had booked the family suite as the comfort double room was no longer available (I believe that they only have 4 rooms in the entire complex).

We arrived at around 8pm on the day of our check in and were greeted and shown to our room without any problems. The room was very spacious, modern and clean and the beds were very comfortable. The WiFi connection was very good and the breakfast provided was lovely.

I should point out that the rooms are little more pricey that the other hotels located nearby but in this instance you do get what you pay for (in a good way!). If you can afford it I would highly recommend this hotel :)

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justin3083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

This place has a bed-and-breakfast feel. The rooms are well-furnished, with modern bathroom fixtures. It was quite spacious compared to some of our other accommodations in Turkey.

This hotel is on a quiet street tucked at the western edge of town (don't let that statement fool you, Seljuk is really, really small, a 10 minute walk and you're in the heart of things) It's quiet and offers a good undisturbed night's sleep. It is a stone's throw from the Isabey mosque.

A 10 minute walk past St. John's Basillica will take you to the main drag that goes through town. On the other side of the main street are the downtown restaurants and shops. It is completely a manageable walk

The hotel isn't a big hotel with a 24 hour front desk. You're given a front door key to come and go as you please, but there isn't someone to open the door at all odd hours of night. We did not have a problem with this, but I suppose it is worth mentioning so people know what to expect.

The owner is extremely friendly and kind, and genuinely wants you to enjoy everything about the hotel and the town. We really appreciated this, as we did the quiet solace and seclusion of the place (we arrived after 2 extremely long bus trips, and it was so nice to just have a cup of tea in the courtyard and read quietly.)

The breakfast is wonderfully prepared. One day we woke late and we were the last two at the breakfast table. We expected just a quick bite, but instead were treated to eggs, cheeses, olives, a variety of fresh fruit and juices.

This place was probably our favorite set of accommodations through our entire trip in Turkey, and we thank our hosts for sharing their space with us.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HC_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

We arrived in Selchuk after a long international flight and what seemed like longer domestic flight. Being extremely tired, we were happy to see that our private transfer was already waiting for us. The car was a little rickety and the ride was fast (mainly because the driver was speeding). After we reached the entrance of the house, the driver quickly dropped our luggage in front of the main door, pressed the door bell, signaled to us to wait, and promptly left. Mind you, it was around 10pm at night, cold (we reckon it was around 6-7 degrees) and we were freezing and scared. The house was situated at the corner of a quiet street, the roads were deserted and no-one was answering our knocks and calls to open the door. Luckily, I had stored their number and called them. A guy who couldn't' speak much English said "10 mins" and hung up. We tried calling them again just to get the same answer. Finally, when we really were wondering if we should find another hotel, a car came speeding down and a young man came out apologising furiously, letting us into the house and to our room.,

The salvation was that the room was really nice and very welcoming. We promptly went to bed after a hot shower, with an idea of clearing up the mis-communication the next day.

Things definitely took a turn for the better after that as Cunyet, Jimmy, his friend and the wonderful cook made our stay there so much more better. They apologized for the delay on our arrival as there was a mix-up in the timing and it seems the driver had not called them to inform them that we were arriving (they were in their sister hotel a few streets away).

We were served the best breakfast of our entire trip during our stay there - it was so delicious, warm and was such a huge satisfying spread and home-made. So so so excellent! The guys were extremely hospitable and made arrangements for group tours for us, that we really enjoyed. We also got a good deal, mainly as it was winter and off-peak period. They rectified some problems we had with the room (heating and tv programmes) and everything was fine after that. We were one of the few guests in the house as it was off-peak season so we had very personalised service - they really made us feel at home.

The room itself was comfortable, clean and fit all our expectations. Just a 5-10 min walk away was the main city street and we enjoyed our scenic walks to and fro each day. We left very satisfied and will definitely stay here again if we were to return to Selchuk.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kala85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

From the time we were picked up at the Airport in Izmir, to the time we were delivered back, we were well taken care of by the very friendly and accommodating family that own and run this small boutique hotel. Their father did the driving and was nice enough to take us into the center of town to the bus stop and post office when we needed it. Cem and Cuneyt, brothers, helped us settle in, set up a tour to Ephesus, and even call our next hotel in Istanbul to see about setting up airport transfers when we were leaving Selcuk.
The breakfasts, Turkish style, were abundant and good and the breakfast room was very comfortable. Our hotel room was beautiful, modern and comfortable. If we ever come to this part of the world again we will surely stay here!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NJ_Traveler2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

As in many European and Asian countries, it can be difficult to find a hotel in Turkey, which can accommodate a family of four in one room. If you can, you are often crowded into tight quarters. Ephesus Suites is a great alternative to a standard hotel, even if you are less than four. For about the same price, you get a spacious, nicely furnished suite, tucked away on a quiet street.

This is a fairly new place, started by the same family, which runs the Urkmez Hotel in the center of town. There are only 4 units, so it has a very exclusive, private feel. The guest units are separated from a guest lounge building by a very quaint, enclosed courtyard, where breakfast is served in the warmer months. The breakfast was fresh and delicious with breads, cheese, fruits, eggs, and even cereals for the westerners.

The family hospitatlity was terrific as well. On our last day, they prepared a special early breakfast for us, as we had to catch a morning flight from Izmir. Our son was ill, so they drove us to the shuttle stop, to make sure didn't miss it, and so he didn't have to walk. Definitely a good find!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mchagnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Selcuk hotels
0.1 mi away
Livia Hotel Ephesus
Livia Hotel Ephesus
#8 of 34 in Selcuk
54 reviews
5.1 mi away
Aqua Fantasy Aquapark Hotel & SPA
4.9 mi away
Richmond Ephesus Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Anz Guesthouse
Anz Guesthouse
#1 of 18 in Selcuk
245 reviews
0.3 mi away
Urkmez Hotel
Urkmez Hotel
#6 of 34 in Selcuk
533 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ayasoluk Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Urkmez Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urkmez Hotel

Address: Ataturk Mh. Namik Kemal Cd. No: 20, Selcuk 35920, Turkey (Formerly Ephesus Suites Hotel)
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Selcuk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Selcuk
Price Range: £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Urkmez Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at comfortable, quiet, nicely decorated 4 Suite rooms with the great view of Temple of Artemis and Roman Baths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Urkmez Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Urkmez Hotel Turkey/Izmir Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing