We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Worth The Visit - Like DisneyLand”

Meryemana (The Virgin Mary's House)
Book In Advance
More Info
US$80.00*
and up
Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir
More Info
US$71.41*
and up
Ephesus Day Trip from Marmaris Including Breakfast and Lunch
More Info
US$80.00*
and up
Ephesus Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #6 of 56 things to do in Selcuk
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Several years after the death of Christ, St. John brought the Virgin Mother to this house located on the slopes of Bülbül Mountain. It is believed the Virgin Mary lived in this house until she died at the age of 64.
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
319 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Not Worth The Visit - Like DisneyLand”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Make believe. Rebuild stone house build on a foundation is small. The house has two rooms open to sightseers, large living room and small bedroom. The lines were long for a quick walk through. Visitors shuffle through and say a prayer. Tourist shop and snack bar available. The only sight that was interesting was he beautiful garden path leading to the make believe structure that is lined with olive trees. Down the hill there is a fountain that has natural spring water that is blessed with holy water. The wishing well nearby is full of tissues and notes with requests for the Virgin Mary. When I went it cost 12.50 TL per person to enter the parking lot. Unless you believe this place was Mary's final home stay away. There is so much more to see and do. I am sorry that I will never get my 5-6 hours back. Happy travels!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank worldtravelier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,107
    576
    320
    94
    54
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

One of the main reasons we visited Ephesus as my companion is a monk at the Abbey of Our Lady & St John in UK. A lovely little chapel with great Christian significance.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lynne1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
638 reviews
228 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 392 helpful votes
“Beautiful Holy Site and Special Mass”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Went to the site of the House of the Blessed Virgin Mary where she spent the last years of her life. A small church is built on the site and as luck would have it today was Sunday and the Feast Day of Saints Peter and Paul the cornerstones of the Roman Catholic Church. We attended a special mass specifically said for our tour group. What a special day! Outside the church we collected some of the water in small jugs from the Fountain of Our Lady which is a natural spring. As you leave the fountain, visitors post prayer requests on the wall. A wonderful day spent at a beautiful holy site. I highly recommend this beautiful holy site.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank VictoryVisionTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Lorenzo, California
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Serene & Beautiful”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

No trip to the Ephesus area is complete without a visit to Meryemana. My wife is Roman Catholic so I booked this for her. But I have to admit that it had a profound impact on me. Beauty and peace permeated the grounds. We were there just after a special mass had been held for the Turkish mining disaster so it was a very moving day.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Very Spiritual Place”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The house sit at the top of high hills and the ride up is a visual delight. I was with several Roman Catholics who were obviously emotionally touch at this historic and special place. And they left with their empty water bottles filled with holy water.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Meryemana (The Virgin Mary's House) also viewed

 
Selcuk, Izmir Province
 

Been to Meryemana (The Virgin Mary's House)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing