We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 4 star !”
Review of Hitit Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hitit Hotel
Ranked #27 of 33 Hotels in Selcuk
Montreal
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Not a 4 star !”
Reviewed 29 June 2009

We just got back from a tour in Turkey with Pacha Tours. They booked us a room in this hotel. Bad idea ! Horrible hotel, definitely not a 4 star ! The room was small, looked old and weary. The buffet was limited, and there was no more food half and hour after the buffet started !
I will not recommend this hotel to anyone.
Very disappointing place.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uphnguyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    18
    34
    30
    35
See reviews for
45
41
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2008

This is a bizarre Hotel, on one hand they have a massive beautiful pool that any hotel would be proud of, but then their rooms are incredibly dated and crying out for renovations. The balconies are filthy and unusable because every single one of them is inhabited by nesting birds! There is feathers, and droppings everywhere. And our one had a dying baby bird crying all night! And our door wouldn't close properly.

The contrasts continue with the buffet dinner which was very good and served on a lovely table overlooking the fruit trees, but then breakfast was atrocious - served in a huge room with seating for about 500 people - all set up to feed the tour buses that stop there.

This hotel is handy to Ephesus which is good, but if it wasn't for that you'd be advised to give it a miss.

  • Liked — Pool
  • Disliked — The rooms
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrDBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Selcuk hotels

Antalya
1 review
Reviewed 15 March 2008

Maximal and delicious buffet.Big and clean swimming pool.
Friendly staff.Clean rooms and comfortable beds.İnternet.
Satellite.paid 40 usd for halfboard.What could be more?Thank you for especially servis personel.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank simetra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bleda
1 review
Reviewed 9 March 2008

We arrived at Hitit hotel in August. for 4 nights.It was 20 minutes from İzmir airport.And after the 3 minutes check -in time we were in our room.The room was clean and had all necessaries more than we hoped.(for such a cheap hotel)and than we arrived for swimming.The pool was very big.There were many childrens with their family like us.We still contact with these families.
And for the night there was a türkish music and the folklor show with a wonderful dinner.
The staff were very friendly.Especially the service staff ,for making our stay one of our most memorable travel experiences.
The other day we visited ephesus.ıt was only 3 km's to the hotel.
you also can visit Virginmary's house,İsabey mosque,Şirince,Selcuk,kusadasi etc.There was a service in every half hour from hotel to Selcuk.
Selcuk was a small village.Good for having new friends.
We definitely will stay here again.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
Thank bleda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg
1 review
Reviewed 6 March 2008

We arrived at Hitit hotel in August 2007 from Hamburg Germany with 2 friends.İit was really enjoyable.The staff were very polite and friendly.The Breakfast was excellent.The pool was very big and clean.And the rooms are absolutely very clean.We would stay there again.

Görkem Kilinc

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
Thank toyto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Union City, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2007

This was the hotel that was booked on my 2 days/1 night side trip to Ephesus and Pamukkale. Thank God it was only for one night, and thank God I was too exhausted to think about the condition of the room. It smelled like stale cigarette smoke. Thank God there was a window that opened and a small balcony. I kept them open through the night to bring in fresh air despite the noise from dinner outside. The bed was fine - seemed clean enough and was comfortable. The carpet was absolutely disgusting. It needed to be changed 10 years ago. There were large stains. Honestly, I would have preferred the concrete subfloor than that carpet. When walking around, I never took off my shoes. The bathroom was tired and the tile needed to be changed. Breakfast was fine - a buffet. The staff was nice enough. The whole place needs to be completely renovated. It was, in a word, gross.

How they rated this hotel 4 stars is beyond my comprehension. I think it is used for large tour groups as there was a huge crowd at dinner and I thankfully missed the early breakfast rush. Avoid this place if you can. I booked this tour a day before I left. I wasn't able to research. Serioiusly, skip it. Ask to stay in Kusadasi, a nice resort town not too far from Ephesus.

  • Liked — The Breakfast
  • Disliked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobalGirlyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2007

We arrived at Hitit Hotel on Mon 20 Aug at 9am, having taken a bus from Izmir Bus Garage (by the way, there's an excellent bus service in Turkey, cheap too). We thought we might have to wait for check-in time before being allocated a room, but within 5 mins our room was ready. It was a good enough size, had all the necessaries for a basic hotel. Staff were friendly and very helpful. Not very knowledgeable about Ephesus etc., but they knoew enough to point us in the right direction. The pool was nice, clean and well-positioned, and the food (we paid 60ytl for 1 night half board) was excellent! I would stay there again, though admittedly our only purpose for being there was to see Ephesus - an amazing place, well worth visiting and one of the highlights of our stay. Make sure you haggle over everything, including taxi fares and especially souvenirs, and ask people who speak english (shop keepers generally do) how to go about your stay.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelemahon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selcuk
0.8 mi away
Urkmez Hotel
Urkmez Hotel
#6 of 33 in Selcuk
520 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ephesus Hillside
Ephesus Hillside
#16 of 33 in Selcuk
7 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Akay
Hotel Akay
#19 of 33 in Selcuk
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Nur Pension
Nur Pension
#15 of 33 in Selcuk
114 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Bella
Hotel Bella
#9 of 33 in Selcuk
758 reviews
3.5 mi away
Kirkinca Hotel
Kirkinca Hotel
#1 of 4 in Sirince
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hitit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hitit Hotel

Property: Hitit Hotel
Address: Sarapcikuyu Mevkii PK 66, Selcuk 35920, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Selcuk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 33 Hotels in Selcuk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hitit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hitit Hotel Selcuk
Hitit Hotel Turkey/Izmir Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing