We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home Gem of an Hotel”
Review of Hotel Nilya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Nilya
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Selcuk
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Home from Home Gem of an Hotel”
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Stayed with friends in July, this is one of the most beautiful genuine Turkish boutique style hotel that I have stayed in.
It is spotlessly c lean, each room is large, beautifully appointed with Turkish antiques, beautiful rugs and elegant light fittings. Bathrooms are modern, with all up to date fittings.

Water always hot when you need it, unlike a lot of other Turkish hotels. The hotel is run and owned by Nazmi and Erdal, who also own and run the equally good Hotel Bella around the corner. The staff are so helpful and friendly, breakfast is a Turkish feast taken in the beautiful courtyard, with small waterfall and beautiful flowers.
There is free transportation to the ruins of Ephesus and free pick up is also arranged, it is worth staying longer at the hotel, just to chill out and rest.
Dinner is great at the Bella hotel and the prices are so reasonable, and the wine selection is great.
I will always return to this very special hotel, visit the wonderful shop in the Bella which sells gorgeous rugs at very reasonable prices and beautiful objects d'art.
Thank you for a wonderful stay Nazimi and Erdal, we will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room, they are on a terrace with seating areas that overlook the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julian_asgaralli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    101
    28
    10
    1
See reviews for
91
201
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We stayed at Hotel Nilya for one night in order to visit Ephesus the next day. This definitely would have been a nice place to "chill" for a couple of days. Because we arrived early, our rooms weren't ready. Nazmi apologized profusely and gave us water and tea while we waited. He also arranged to have us driven to Sirince and picked us up himself a couple of hours later all on the house. The rooms are tastefully decorated. Dinner on the rooftop terrace at the Nilya's sister hotel, the Bella was very enjoyable too. We watched a family of storks throughout our meal. (Their nest was only a few feet away.)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GingersMom66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

Our stay at Hotel Nilya was lovely. The hotel was recently updated, and the rooms and common areas are beautiful. The rooms are also cool, dark and quiet, which was a welcome respite from the heat outside. Breakfast was very good. The owner of this hotel also owns Hotel Bella, where we had a delicious dinner and purchased the best art that we found on our trip. Both hotels are very centrally located and in walking distance from the Selcuk tourist sites.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Char-02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gold coast australia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Nilya is now owned by the guys ( Nazmi and Erdal) who have the Bella, another gem in Selcuk.
Nilya is hidden in a quiet street behind a high wall that leads to a beautiful courtyard where you eat breakfast accompanied by the sound of the waterfall. The rooms have been decorated with exquisite turkish pieces and the bathroom is a delight with rainwater shower head and modern basin.
The staff speak passable English and do all they can to help. You can have dinner in the rooftop restaurant at the Bella overlooking St John's Basilica, just around the corner.
The costs are very reasonable and include free transfers to and from Ephesus if required.
We will be back and can thoroughly recommend this to couples, singles, friends or families.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msr099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Loved this authentic-feeling Turkish Inn in a surprisingly quaint town. The rooms were spotless. No TV ( a plus for us!), but they do have free wifi access. The garden is wonderful. However, the very best part of this terrific hotel is the owner Erdal and the staff. They drove us everywhere (Ephasus, the beach, lunch, the train station), helped us plan our days, and answered all our questions. What a find! Do note that access to the hotel is via a short but very steep road. It may be a challenge for those who have any difficulty walking.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler8001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

The hotel is tucked away in a small street of old Selcuk which is quaint and quiet. The hotel has been recently refurbished and it is done with taste. The bathroom is superb. The only problem is the luck of internet access and no TV in the room. There is a guest common area where one can go and watch TV - to catch up on the news - but for computer access one has to go to its sister-hotel the hotel Bella which is no big deal but could be an inconvenience. Perhaps they have got WIFI by now.
The breakfast is basic and served in the beautiful garden. Luckily it didn't rain as it might be dificult to have breakfast in the common area if the hotel is full as it is rather small.
The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilly062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

I just noticed that this was rated #1 in Selcuk. Very deserving of that rating. The last reviewer described Hotel Nilya very well too. Here's our quick take:

Very classy hotel. Excellent location next to St. John’s Castle and walking distance to bus station, train station, Temple of Artemis, Archeological Museum, Isa Bey Mosque. We were greeted by owner (Erdal) with tea, an introduction to the area, and given a tour book about Ephesus to use during our stay. The courtyard was beautiful with fountains, comfortable chairs, tables, terrace and an amazing view, especially at sunset. Breakfast was freshly prepared and served by the hosts- variety of fruits, vegetables, eggs, cheese, olives, drinks. The unique décor consisted of handmade art (glass, tiles, crafts) and rugs. The rooms had nice bathrooms, a/c, soaps, phone, free wifi. The lobby has a tv, books magazines, and the Bella Hotel (its 'sister' hotel) has a computer if you'd like to use it. They arranged free transportation to Ephesus and offered taxi services to Mary’s House and the beach. Everyone was very friendly, warm and helpful. At our request, Erdal taught us about carpet making and ceramic art in Turkey and gave us a tour of carpet/art gallery at the Bella Hotel, but we were not at all pressured to buy. They were also very accommodating when we had an early train to catch and provided us with a special breakfast before they officially opened!

Just a note for some travelers-- We didn’t mind the walk around the corner from the main street, but it may be hard for the elderly as it was quite steep and cobblestoned.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julia_hiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Selcuk hotels
0.0 mi away
Ayasoluk Hotel & Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Urkmez Hotel
Urkmez Hotel
#7 of 33 in Selcuk
522 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bella
Hotel Bella
#9 of 33 in Selcuk
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ephesus Hillside
Ephesus Hillside
#16 of 33 in Selcuk
7 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nazhan Hotel & Cafe
Nazhan Hotel & Cafe
#17 of 33 in Selcuk
80 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nur Pension
Nur Pension
#15 of 33 in Selcuk
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nilya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nilya

Property: Hotel Nilya
Address: Ataturk Mah. 1051 Sok. No:7 | Selcuk Merkez, Selcuk 35920, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Selcuk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Selcuk
#2 Family Hotel in Selcuk
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Selcuk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Nilya 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nilya, located in the quiet area of St Johns Basilica. With 12 rooms, some 1st floor balcony level, views through the valley to 13th Cent. Isabey Mosque, Pamucak beach, beautiful sunsets or overlooking the garden courtyard. Other rooms on the ground floor opening to the garden courtyard, outdoor seating amongst trees, flowers, bird song and waterfall. Rooms are decorated in traditional Ottoman style, with hand carved furniture and marbled bathrooms. WI-FI access in each room. Relax in our lounge area with open fire (seasonal), enjoy filtered coffee or a drink from our bar, while relaxing with a book, or talking with other guests. Located within 5-10 mins walking distance of historical sites, museum and town centre. Free shuttle service to Ephesus. A mere 300 mtrs, 2 min walk from our other hotel, Hotel Bella. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Nilya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nilya Hotel Selcuk
Hotel Nilya Turkey/Izmir Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing