We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, great service”
Review of Hotel Nilya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Nilya
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Selcuk
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, great service”
Reviewed 1 August 2011

This is a lovely boutique hotel in the middle of selcuk. The courtyard and rooms are decorated with tiles and artwork from the store of the proprietors. One of the proprietors meets the guests personally and helps with any planning needs that you have. They drove us to Ephesus, helped us find a guide and picked us up. They made recommendations for lunch and dinner, both excellent choices. We had dinner at Bella, their sister hotel, which was very good (didn't even mind that we brought our own wine that we had left over). They do have a carpet and pottery shop, but don't make a hard sell if you are not interested. Some of our friends did purchase some rugs which were well packaged or shipped efficiently. Breakfast is included and standard Turkish fare, with eggs made to order.

Room Tip: Within walking distance of st john's basilica - worth seeing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AR08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    101
    28
    10
    1
See reviews for
91
201
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kingscliff, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

The Nilya Hotel was one of the most stylish and comfortable hotels we stayed in during our entire stay in Turkey. The garden is a gem and makes a wonderfully relaxing area to eat the invariably delicious breakfasts served by the most cheerful and pleasant staff. The hotel is furnished with wonderful ceramics and other objects available around the corner at the sister hotel, the Hotel Bella where they also serve delicious evening meals. The attached gallery is full of the best works of art we came upon and we invested in a carpet although there was no pressureto buy but what a beautiful thing it is. The hotel is situated near all of the sights and Erdal went out of his way to assist us when we neede a to find a phrmacy on a Sunday. Because the hotel is so welcoming and comfortable we missed out on going to a few places we had planned to visit in the area ckoosing instead to chill out at the hotel. This has given us good reason t return to Selcuck and once again stay at the beautiful Hotel Nilya.

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nellanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bombay
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Hotel Nilya is a gorgeous little treasure in the heart of Selcuk.
Erdal & Idris are fabulous hosts. We arrived from Side at around 10pm and they immediately made us feel at home as they helped us settle in and walked us uphill (its not as bad as other reviews make it out to be) to Hotel Bella (2mins away literally) for dinner ( the Storks were awake and putting on a show :)
We (husband & I ) had a lovely room on the ground floor (can get noisy at times) , The decor is Turkish Chic and showcases the best of turkish ceramics which you can actually buy from the Hotel's store next to Hotel Bella. My parents had a room on the floor above, which over looks the lovely garden courtyard, with lemon trees and comfortable chairs where breakfast is served every morning and where you can enjoy a quiet read (a good selection of books are available at reception) and sheesha at no extra cost as well as tea/coffee at any hour on the house :)

We chose Nilya, beacuse of the proximity to the sights of interest. Located spitting distance from the Basillica of St John and a short drive away from the temple of Artemis. Both hotel Nilya & Bella, offer a free shuttle to and pick up from Ephesus (along with a guide book) & Cave of the 7 sleepers, where you must eat at one of the little restaurants with turkish women rolling out thin layers of dough and stuffing them with meat or veg of your choice, try one with everything if you'e spoilt for choice. There is a shuttle for a fee to the house of Mary and a private car ride (also for a small fee) to the beautiful village of sirince if you fancy a spot of wine tasting and olive oil/preserves/handmade soap/herb buying.

The Hotel is also well placed and offers a sturdy car and good safe driver if you want to visit pamukkale.

We stayed three nights and loved every minute of it. The Hotel's tag line is come as a guest leave as a friend and they live up to it. Erdal (who owns the Hotel) drove us himself as well and sat down with us at dinner and chalked out our travel plans, THe people who work at the hotel or drive you are family his nephews or cousins. Even though they have a carpet store and one for pottery and ceramics you are never under any pressue to buy which was a first for us during our 12 dy stay turkey!
If selcuk is on you list STAY HERE!!!

Room Tip: pick one on the first floor less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Stayed with friends in July, this is one of the most beautiful genuine Turkish boutique style hotel that I have stayed in.
It is spotlessly c lean, each room is large, beautifully appointed with Turkish antiques, beautiful rugs and elegant light fittings. Bathrooms are modern, with all up to date fittings.

Water always hot when you need it, unlike a lot of other Turkish hotels. The hotel is run and owned by Nazmi and Erdal, who also own and run the equally good Hotel Bella around the corner. The staff are so helpful and friendly, breakfast is a Turkish feast taken in the beautiful courtyard, with small waterfall and beautiful flowers.
There is free transportation to the ruins of Ephesus and free pick up is also arranged, it is worth staying longer at the hotel, just to chill out and rest.
Dinner is great at the Bella hotel and the prices are so reasonable, and the wine selection is great.
I will always return to this very special hotel, visit the wonderful shop in the Bella which sells gorgeous rugs at very reasonable prices and beautiful objects d'art.
Thank you for a wonderful stay Nazimi and Erdal, we will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room, they are on a terrace with seating areas that overlook the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julian_asgaralli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We stayed at Hotel Nilya for one night in order to visit Ephesus the next day. This definitely would have been a nice place to "chill" for a couple of days. Because we arrived early, our rooms weren't ready. Nazmi apologized profusely and gave us water and tea while we waited. He also arranged to have us driven to Sirince and picked us up himself a couple of hours later all on the house. The rooms are tastefully decorated. Dinner on the rooftop terrace at the Nilya's sister hotel, the Bella was very enjoyable too. We watched a family of storks throughout our meal. (Their nest was only a few feet away.)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GingersMom66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

Our stay at Hotel Nilya was lovely. The hotel was recently updated, and the rooms and common areas are beautiful. The rooms are also cool, dark and quiet, which was a welcome respite from the heat outside. Breakfast was very good. The owner of this hotel also owns Hotel Bella, where we had a delicious dinner and purchased the best art that we found on our trip. Both hotels are very centrally located and in walking distance from the Selcuk tourist sites.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Char-02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gold coast australia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Nilya is now owned by the guys ( Nazmi and Erdal) who have the Bella, another gem in Selcuk.
Nilya is hidden in a quiet street behind a high wall that leads to a beautiful courtyard where you eat breakfast accompanied by the sound of the waterfall. The rooms have been decorated with exquisite turkish pieces and the bathroom is a delight with rainwater shower head and modern basin.
The staff speak passable English and do all they can to help. You can have dinner in the rooftop restaurant at the Bella overlooking St John's Basilica, just around the corner.
The costs are very reasonable and include free transfers to and from Ephesus if required.
We will be back and can thoroughly recommend this to couples, singles, friends or families.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msr099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Selcuk hotels
0.0 mi away
Ayasoluk Hotel & Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Urkmez Hotel
Urkmez Hotel
#6 of 33 in Selcuk
523 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bella
Hotel Bella
#8 of 33 in Selcuk
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kalehan
Hotel Kalehan
#12 of 33 in Selcuk
447 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nazhan Hotel & Cafe
Nazhan Hotel & Cafe
#17 of 33 in Selcuk
80 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ephesus Hillside
Ephesus Hillside
#15 of 33 in Selcuk
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nilya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nilya

Property: Hotel Nilya
Address: Ataturk Mah. 1051 Sok. No:7 | Selcuk Merkez, Selcuk 35920, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Selcuk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Selcuk
#2 Romantic Hotel in Selcuk
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Selcuk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Nilya 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nilya, located in the quiet area of St Johns Basilica. With 12 rooms, some 1st floor balcony level, views through the valley to 13th Cent. Isabey Mosque, Pamucak beach, beautiful sunsets or overlooking the garden courtyard. Other rooms on the ground floor opening to the garden courtyard, outdoor seating amongst trees, flowers, bird song and waterfall. Rooms are decorated in traditional Ottoman style, with hand carved furniture and marbled bathrooms. WI-FI access in each room. Relax in our lounge area with open fire (seasonal), enjoy filtered coffee or a drink from our bar, while relaxing with a book, or talking with other guests. Located within 5-10 mins walking distance of historical sites, museum and town centre. Free shuttle service to Ephesus. A mere 300 mtrs, 2 min walk from our other hotel, Hotel Bella. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Nilya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nilya Hotel Selcuk
Hotel Nilya Turkey/Izmir Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing