We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Space”
Review of Hotel Nilya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Nilya
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Selcuk
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Space”
Reviewed 8 July 2012

When we got to the town of Selcuk, we were a little skeptical; we had imagined a quaint little village, and the downtown area that you enter just off the highway isn't exactly picturesque. But by the time we reached Hotel Nilya, we were reassured--the hotel has the exact quaint village feeling that we were anticipating and hoping for. The hotel itself is beautiful; its main feature is a gorgeous little courtyard where we spent a ton of time, sitting at the tables, reading our books, smoking their nargile. Our room was also lovely; clean and well-apportioned and a brand new bathroom (great shower). Overall, there wasn't much to see in Selcuk, but the ruins at Ephesus were interesting, and there are two beaches within driving distance--Pamucak and Voncakoy--that are both worth visiting. Regardless, there is no better place to stay in Selcuk than Hotel Nilya, hands down.

Room Tip: We were assigned room 2, which is on the lower level adjacent to the courtyard. Because we spent so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bonnvoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    101
    28
    10
    1
See reviews for
91
201
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

What they created with Hotel Nilya is a beautiful Environmental where friendships grow. The decor is spectacular and the art and items for sale are top notch. We never felt pressured to buy. Loved our time. THREE DAYS WAS NOT ENOUGH. That is how much we loved this hotel and the people there. Great dinner too. Eat there twice that good. You cannot go wrong here or at the Bella their other hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VickieW1694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candolim, Goa, India
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

This is a real jewel of a hotel, close to all the sights around Selcuk. The staff are wonderfully friendly and efficient, and the facilities of the nearby Bella hotel can also be used. The courtyard is great for breakfast or a refreshing drink after a busy day at Ephesus. Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Try to get an upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain492001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

This is a great hotel - fantastic location, all-inclusive service, delicious breakfast, beautiful hotel, and very friendly and helpful people. We can't recommend it highly enough.

The hotel is located almost immediately across the street from St. John's Basilica and a short walk from the shops and restaurants of Selcuk itself (which aren't to be missed). Erdil and Nazmi, the co-owners of both Nilya and the neighboring Hotel Bella, speak fluent English and are very involved in their guests' experience, from check-in to check-out. Erdil greeted us as soon as we arrived, served us tea and coffee, gave us a tour book of Ephesus to use during our stay, and presented us with a comprehensive overview not only of the hotel's services, but of the best sites to see in the area, as well. Throughout our stay, the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, with good recommendations about travel options - can't say enough about the service. In fact, I booked the hotel for the wrong days, called the hotel only 2 days before the date we were supposed to check in, and was able to change the dates of our stay without paying any fee and with absolutely zero hassle.

The hotel provides a free bus ride to and from Ephesus, including a trip to the Cave of the Seven Sleepers. There's also a daily bus to the House of St. Mary for 10 TL per person (the only other way to get there is by taxi for about 60 TL). They have connections with tour groups and can arrange private tour groups within Selcuk/Ephesus or to nearby sites (we did not use these, as they are very expensive, and cheaper options are available in town).

The hotel is lovely with a beautiful courtyard. The rooms are a little dark, although beautifully furnished and decorated. The bathroom was comfortable, the shower was excellent, and the bed was comfortable. AC worked great, and the room was very clean. There is no safe, but there is free wireless Internet. (Due to my scheduling snaffu - see above - we stayed in a double room with a king bed for 2 nights and a triple room with 3 single beds, and both rooms were very similar.) Breakfast was fantastic! We were served a variety of jams and spreads, bread, eggs cooked to order, fruit, vegetables, and cheese in the courtyard - it was not only delicious, but a very relaxing and enjoyable experience. The hotel also offers a four course dinner at Hotel Bella for 25 TL (or you can order from the a la carte menu), which other guests raved about, although we did not eat there (we ate wonderful meals in local Selcuk restaurants for slightly less money).

Erdil and Nazmi also own the carpet shop, Divan, attached to Hotel Bella. Nazmi gave us a wonderful 101 introduction to Turkish carpets and kilims with only minimal pressure to buy. Should you actually look to buy a carpet, however, we highly recommend shopping around - there are great carpet shops in town that are much less expensive.

We loved Hotel Nilya and could not recommend it more highly! The only downsides we can think of are that there was no safe in the room, the room was a little dark, and the hotel was a bit expensive - but well worth the money. If we ever return to Selcuk, we will absolutely stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

My wife and I traveled to Turkey in May for a medical meeting in Istanbul but first wanted to visit the area around the ancient city of Ephesus. Based on recommendations from Trip Advisor I contacted Erdal, at the Hotel Nilya and told him that we planned to rent a car in Izmir and asked directions to Selcuk. Erdal responded that I should not rent a car and went on to plan our 4 day trip including a day trip to the Greek island of Samos and sight seeing in the area. All transfers for our excursions were arranged in advance from the hotel
I should mention that our bags arrived in Izmir 1.5 hrs late but Ali was there to meet us and drove us the 72 km to Selcuk, where we were welcomed by Erdal at 22:00 and taken to dinner at their sister hotel the Bella.
OK here is the difference. On our last day in Selcuk we found out that our flight from Izmir to Istanbul had been cancelled. The "boys" at the Nilya were on the phone for hours and we were up-graded for a flight that same day . The only other advice I would give is book room
# 12

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drjmurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Stayed two nights, had two rooms. Great location in town generally speaking, but see below. Might have preferred sister hotel a block or two away, but it was fine for our purposes. Lovely inner courtyard, nice breakfast, staff faultlessly polite and attentive.

Downsides need to be pointed out: there was construction in the immediate vicinity and trash in nearby empty lots, which left a poor first impression; rooms open on to the pretty central courtyard and are nicely decorated (and bathroom very nice too), but are dark since the courtyard is the only source of natural light. The lighting in the bathroom was especially dark with only one bulb. The large suite up on the second level was nicer and brighter than our other room on the lower level. Departing guests made lots of noise early in the morning which felt like they were in the room with me.

Had great dinner at sister hotel Bella overlooking St. John's Basilica on rooftop level. Also, owner had high quality handicrafts, some of which we purchased in his gallery at Bella Hotel.

Room Tip: see if you can get a room on the upper level to have more natural light
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aavery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

I think this a very nice hotel and possibly the best one in Selçuk, but I think some of the reviews here may be inflating expectations. The hotel has been completely renovated and used the owner's supplies of beautiful pottery and carpets exquisitely. Having our towels folded as elephants was adorable. The breakfast is delicious and the flower-filled courtyard is welcoming at all times of day. One of the friendly owners, Erdal, helped us prebook our Ephesus tour with the excellent guide, Mehmet, and drove us to and from the site.

However there are cons to the place as well: our room was small with little closet space, dark inside, definitely noisy (we wore earplugs at night) and plumbing system is "unique." In addition, there is definitely pressure to shop and eat at the owners' other establishments, understandable but not everyone may like that.

Overall though, a very good experience at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deepcover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Selcuk hotels
0.0 mi away
Ayasoluk Hotel & Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Urkmez Hotel
Urkmez Hotel
#6 of 33 in Selcuk
523 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bella
Hotel Bella
#8 of 33 in Selcuk
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kalehan
Hotel Kalehan
#12 of 33 in Selcuk
447 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nazhan Hotel & Cafe
Nazhan Hotel & Cafe
#17 of 33 in Selcuk
80 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ephesus Hillside
Ephesus Hillside
#15 of 33 in Selcuk
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nilya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nilya

Property: Hotel Nilya
Address: Ataturk Mah. 1051 Sok. No:7 | Selcuk Merkez, Selcuk 35920, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Selcuk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Selcuk
#2 Family Hotel in Selcuk
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Selcuk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Nilya 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nilya, located in the quiet area of St Johns Basilica. With 12 rooms, some 1st floor balcony level, views through the valley to 13th Cent. Isabey Mosque, Pamucak beach, beautiful sunsets or overlooking the garden courtyard. Other rooms on the ground floor opening to the garden courtyard, outdoor seating amongst trees, flowers, bird song and waterfall. Rooms are decorated in traditional Ottoman style, with hand carved furniture and marbled bathrooms. WI-FI access in each room. Relax in our lounge area with open fire (seasonal), enjoy filtered coffee or a drink from our bar, while relaxing with a book, or talking with other guests. Located within 5-10 mins walking distance of historical sites, museum and town centre. Free shuttle service to Ephesus. A mere 300 mtrs, 2 min walk from our other hotel, Hotel Bella. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Nilya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nilya Hotel Selcuk
Hotel Nilya Turkey/Izmir Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing