We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem of a hotel, close to Ephesus”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Nilya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Nilya
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Selcuk
Certificate of Excellence
Topanga
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A gem of a hotel, close to Ephesus”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

We truly enjoyed our stay at Hotel Nilya. The same two owners own Hotel Bella, just around the corner and we enjoyed eating dinner on the rooftop at Hotel Bella several times during our stay. The air-conditioned rooms are beautifully but simply decorated and all open onto a lovely patio where breakfast is served... and wine in the afternoons.
All our tourist needs were met by the owners, helping us plan excursions in the local area and arranging transportation too!
We would definitely go back!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    101
    28
    10
    1
See reviews for
91
201
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
DC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

We had 2 wonderful nights here. Host/owner is warm and welcoming. Meets with you upon arrival to orient you to town and nearby sights. We stayed in a triple bed room (#11) which we would recommend for extra room as doubles were small. Rooms are decorated with carved wood and tiles that the owner also sells in his other hotel, The Bella. Bathroom was small but adequate with wonderful shower. Beds were very hard. Breakfast is served in the lovely garden courtyard. Owner will take you to Ephesus (10 minutes away) and pick you up when done. We ate both nights in the restaurant at Hotel Bella which was great.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcplanner123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
75 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

nice little hotel with lovely garden and nicely decorated rooms.

if anything, the rooms are a bit noisy, probably because of quite specific doors on each room. so you could hear the staff setting the garden for breakfast, as well as the garden fountain.

all in all, lovely stay in a great little town.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jelenaeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

Initially the dealings with this hotel were fine until we did not purchase adequate goods from the owners carpet/tile shop. Upon arrival the owner was very helpful booking bus tickets for our next leg of the journey to Marmaris and organising transportation to Ephesus (in fact he drove us himself). Note the owner has both the Bella and the Nilya hotels.

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel and the room was fine, clean and comfortable, breakfast was good and we had no problems in this respect. All was OK until we visited the owners carpet shop, we purchased a ceramic bowl but he was not satisfied with this and became very pushy, even though he said many times "no obligation". After this we never saw him again, he pretty much wiped us. Due to this would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daxter8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

The exterior wall of the hotel made us wonder what we had gotten into, but the door opened up to a beautiful, little courtyard, complete with fountain. The outside and the rooms are decorated with Turkish tiles and ceramics. A very welcoming atmosphere! The owner also runs the Hotel Bella and a ceramic shop a block away. Dinner is offered each night on the terrace of the Hotel Bella and we found it to be a nice setting and wonderful food. We did not buy much in the ceramic shop because we had not sampled the Grand Bazaar in Istanbul, but after seeing what Istanbul had to offer, one of the members of our party called back and ordered some pieces. I had made a mistake with my reservations on the length of our stay and I was able to settle it fairly with the owner, which I really appreciated.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DiabloDen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

The Hotel Nilya has a beautiful courtyard and attractive, though basic, rooms. Do not be put off by the exterior of the hotel or the building next door - this is truly a gem. One of their amazing touches was shaping the towels in the shape of different animals each day. The elephants and swans were most impressive - and yes, entirely out of towel! The staff was extraordinarily helpful. I was having trouble with connecting to the internet with my iPad, and the manager contacted his computer person and had it fixed, free of charge! We were also allowed to use the desk computer to print out boarding passes, also extremely helpful. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank froyo10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

Very helpful staff, charming hotel with comfortable rooms. The same owner runs the Hotel Bella and a gallery with high quality, well priced crafts. Lovely rooftop restaurant overlooking the city.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CWCSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Selcuk hotels
0.0 mi away
Ayasoluk Boutique Hotel&Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bella
Hotel Bella
#8 of 32 in Selcuk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nazar
Hotel Nazar
#5 of 32 in Selcuk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Urkmez Hotel
Urkmez Hotel
#7 of 32 in Selcuk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.1 mi away
Livia Hotel Ephesus
Livia Hotel Ephesus
#13 of 32 in Selcuk
5.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Akay
Hotel Akay
#19 of 32 in Selcuk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nilya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nilya

Property: Hotel Nilya
Address: Ataturk Mah. 1051 Sok. No:7 | Selcuk Merkez, Selcuk 35920, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Selcuk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Selcuk
#2 Family Hotel in Selcuk
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Selcuk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Nilya 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nilya, located in the quiet area of St Johns Basilica. With 12 rooms, some 1st floor balcony level, views through the valley to 13th Cent. Isabey Mosque, Pamucak beach, beautiful sunsets or overlooking the garden courtyard. Other rooms on the ground floor opening to the garden courtyard, outdoor seating amongst trees, flowers, bird song and waterfall. Rooms are decorated in traditional Ottoman style, with hand carved furniture and marbled bathrooms. WI-FI access in each room. Relax in our lounge area with open fire (seasonal), enjoy filtered coffee or a drink from our bar, while relaxing with a book, or talking with other guests. Located within 5-10 mins walking distance of historical sites, museum and town centre. Free shuttle service to Ephesus. A mere 300 mtrs, 2 min walk from our other hotel, Hotel Bella. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Nilya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nilya Hotel Selcuk
Hotel Nilya Turkey/Izmir Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing