We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New, charming hotel”
Review of Hotel Nilya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Nilya
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Selcuk
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“New, charming hotel”
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Hotel Nilya was lovely. Its a newer hotel and therefore has less reviews but seems to be the nicest in town! The rooms looked better in person than in the photos which is a rare treat for weary travelers! The owner arranged a private guide for us for Ephesus who was wonderful! The breakfast was also delicious and the staff friendly. We LOVED the food at sister hotel Bella and the roof top atmosphere. Would surely recommend to everyone!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    101
    28
    10
    1
See reviews for
91
201
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Excellent location, right opposite the St.John Basilca. Very close to Ephesus and the hotel organizes a free shuttle. Nice rooms with good value for money. Breakfast is served in a quaint courtyard. Friendly owners who are always around to provide help. They take pride in their hotels and we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: First floor overlooking the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peregrine230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We had a lovely stay in Secuk, thanks in part to Erdal and his partner Nazir. They were gracious hosts, offering us tour information after we arrived, and lending us guidebooks to some of the attractions we were visiting (Ephesus, Pamukkale). Rooms are beautifully decorated with tiles, hand painted miniatures and carpets. The bathrooms are modern (though cramped) with glass-enclosed marble showers. Rooms are quite small (we stayed in two, a double downstairs and a twin on the upper level), with very sparse drawer space, but a decent amount of space to hang clothing in a beautiful carved armoire. The hotel is very difficult to locate, off a narrow alley, but easy to find once you know where it is. There is a lovely courtyard where a nice breakfast is served (fruit, cheese, eggs). On our first night we had dinner on the roof of the sister hotel, Bella, where a full dinner is only 25 Turkish lira (about $13), but you can also order a la carte.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 811Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Hotel Nilya has a reputation for being the nicest place in town, which I don't doubt. But just be aware that the nicest place in a tiny town isn't going to be spectacular. The hotel's location is excellent, in the heart of town on a quiet street; and there's a charming courtyard overlooking the picturesque hills. Everything's very clean and thoughtfully designed. However, rooms are small - I got one of the pricier "double" rooms, which was dark and tiny. There's no TV, and the muezzin's call in the morning is thunderingly loud. Worst of all, though, was the rock-hard bed. I mean, I totally understand that some people love hard beds, and that this is a matter of personal preference; I like a pretty firm mattress myself. But the bed was so granite-like that the only way I could get comfortable was by making myself a nest of extra pillows and sleeping on top of them.

The staff was very friendly, and the ubiquitous owner was totally on top of my requests for tour guides and airport transfers (though I was a little underwhelmed with the tour guide he arranged for me for Ephesus). The rooftop restaurant at the nearby Hotel Bella has decent food and a beautiful view of the town. And, overall, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this as a good option to explore the local area - as long as you don't mind sleeping on concrete.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AmoryB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

We stayed seven nights at the Hotel Nilya in room 12 (the one with the attached lounge). We loved the taste and decor of the rooms with beautiful tiles and carpets, carved furniture and decorated ceramics (all to be purchased in the shop of course!). The en suite was great with an excellent drench shower and complimentary toiletries.
Little touches we appreciated were the welcome at the Bella hotel when we were toiling up the hill with our bags. Erdal took our suitcases and escorted us to the Nilya round the corner nearby. We were given use of the Ephesus guidebook for the whole of our stay which was pretty much all you needed for sightseeing.we were also given free rides to and from Ephesus and Sirence.
The hotel is quiet and, since it doesn't have a bar, is not exactly a hive of activity. This suited us just fine. We had a verandah outside our room which we commandeered for reading and lounging. It had fabulous views of the hills and of the Temple of Artemis, Isa Bey mosque and Ephesus in the distance.
The room was airy and cool, the bed comfortable and the air con. much appreciated. It would have been a welcome touch to have had a kettle and possibly a fridge, but those are quibbly details.
Breakfasts served outside under the trees were healthy and tasty, if a little unusual to have raw carrot and cucumber next to the bread and fruit on the plate! Lots of bread,honey and jams,eggs done to your preference (fried eggs with paprika and oregano were unusual and delicious).
Erdal and Nazir are undoubtedly keen to sell you their wares (carpets and ceramics) - beautiful and high quality but priced accordingly. It's up to you if you can resist!
Selcuk is an unsung gem with plenty to see and do and away from the masses of tourists and noisy night clubs. If you like history, good and inexpensive food, genuine Turkish friendliness and hospitality, I would strongly recommend the hotel and the town.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are quieter and have that fabulous view, but all the rooms are good. We didn't reg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank harassedmother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravenhurst, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We choice this quaint hotel in Selchuk based on Trip Advisor reviews and the fact that it was so centrally located to visit Ephesus, "PMD", Sirence etc. The hotel was lovely, although a tad difficult to find. The courtyard where breakfast is served is lovely and shaded. Hotel Bella, a sister hotel was absolutely wonderful for dinner - great views from the outdoor terrace. Both Erdal and Nazmir were welcoming and charming...at first. But when we turned them down for a visit to the pottery shop (part of the Hotel Bella) after a very hot day at Ephesus and again after a full day drive and sightseeing they became very gruff with us...so much so that our son certainly noticed it! Too bad...we had really enjoyed our time up until then but we weren't in the market for either pottery nor a rug!-

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jacpoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

This is an offshoot of the Hotel Bella in Selcuk and is run equally well. Erdal and his partner Nazir and their families are determined to make their hotels perfect. The rooms are comfy, decorated with local arts and sufficiently spacious, the breakfast appetizing and served in the lovely garden, and Nilya is off the larger street so it's generally quiet. (The call to mosque at 5AM is a fact of life but not impossible to sleep through.) Elegant bath supplies are provided and the maid twists your fresh towels into animal shapes. The hotel restaurant has simple but well-prepared fare served on Bella's open roof around the corner. Erdal also has a gift shop in Bella with very high quality local crafts which are displayed throughout the hotels. Free transport to Ephesos is provided. The stay prices are very low for this kind of careful service.

Room Tip: Rooms tend to be a little dark, with small windows, so one might want to be on an upper floor facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EvelynBNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Selcuk hotels
0.0 mi away
Ayasoluk Hotel & Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Urkmez Hotel
Urkmez Hotel
#6 of 33 in Selcuk
523 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bella
Hotel Bella
#8 of 33 in Selcuk
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kalehan
Hotel Kalehan
#12 of 33 in Selcuk
444 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nazhan Hotel & Cafe
Nazhan Hotel & Cafe
#17 of 33 in Selcuk
80 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ephesus Hillside
Ephesus Hillside
#15 of 33 in Selcuk
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nilya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nilya

Property: Hotel Nilya
Address: Ataturk Mah. 1051 Sok. No:7 | Selcuk Merkez, Selcuk 35920, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Selcuk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Selcuk
#2 Family Hotel in Selcuk
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Selcuk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Nilya 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nilya, located in the quiet area of St Johns Basilica. With 12 rooms, some 1st floor balcony level, views through the valley to 13th Cent. Isabey Mosque, Pamucak beach, beautiful sunsets or overlooking the garden courtyard. Other rooms on the ground floor opening to the garden courtyard, outdoor seating amongst trees, flowers, bird song and waterfall. Rooms are decorated in traditional Ottoman style, with hand carved furniture and marbled bathrooms. WI-FI access in each room. Relax in our lounge area with open fire (seasonal), enjoy filtered coffee or a drink from our bar, while relaxing with a book, or talking with other guests. Located within 5-10 mins walking distance of historical sites, museum and town centre. Free shuttle service to Ephesus. A mere 300 mtrs, 2 min walk from our other hotel, Hotel Bella. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Nilya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nilya Hotel Selcuk
Hotel Nilya Turkey/Izmir Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing