We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely small hotel with real character”
Review of Hotel Nilya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Nilya
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Selcuk
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Lovely small hotel with real character”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Selcuk was our choice for a relaxing holiday giving us the chance to explore Ephesus and other sites. Nilya was the perfect hotel for us with a very peaceful atmosphere in the courtyard and beautifully furnished rooms. The service was very helpful, and we appreciated the lifts to Ephesus, the beach, Meryem Ana etc. The minibus trips booked through the hotel were excellent with a friendly guide and a nice small group. We were there for 8 days so had plenty of time to explore Selcuk and the area, including some unexpected delights such as the Camluk railway museum (dolmus minibuses put British bus services to shame!) Most visitors were there for shorter stays and missed the time to explore locally. The restaurant at the associated Hotel Bella had wonderful views as the sun set over the town, but the food was generally better in the restaurants in the town.

Room Tip: Upstairs balcony rooms have a magnificent view - our room (12) at the end was extra spacious and ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    101
    28
    10
    1
See reviews for
91
201
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This small intimate hotel tucked away in a neighborhood belies its modest exterior. It is built on two stories, around a charming courtyard, a lovely and inviting breakfast room, all furnished with beautiful Turkish decor and antiques. The staff are attentive and thoughtful - so thoughtful they did not move my Turkish coffee cup for two days so that I could have my fortune told. The rooftop of their sister hotel is breathtaking as are the items for sale in their store. Several steps above the usual tourist nick knacks. Owner Erdal is there to help and answer any question you may have. Arranged for a private tour to Pamukkale and Afrodesius as well as to Efes, A little hard to find but well worth the effort.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NikiG1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Our stay was off to a flying start with a complimentary transfer from the bus station, otherwise we would have had a hot, steep hill climb with heavy packs. We were welcomed by the owner who gave us a comprehensive list of tour options and things to do around Selcuk. Our room was exquisite: roomy and decorated with some beautiful ceramic pieces. We appreciated the small touches, such as the bath towels being folded into different shapes each day and the general attention given to us by each staff member.There was a small, leafy courtyard where we had our breakfast and numerous cups of apple tea. This gave us a chance to meet fellow guests and share stories. Location was good, even with the steep climb up from town. The hotel was near St John's Basilica ruins and set in a network of narrow lanes containing lovely whitewashed cottages, close to restaurants and shops, but seeming far away from everything.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are larger and have a shared balcony for good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathat51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
135 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We had a lovely stay at this hotel. We had room 9 - which had a nice view, and our daughters were downstairs (room 4 I believe). Ask for an upstairs room for view. Clean rooms. Nice decor. The staff was very helpful. We had them do laundry there, and they did a nice job for very reasonable price. One thing to be aware of is that one of the owner will meet you for an "orientation". They want to set up dinner at their other restaurant and let you know about their gift shop. We did have dinner at his other hotel, which is on a rooftop, so great view. But food was just OK. On the other hand it was 25 lira for 3 courses, so very reasonable.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LibbyJ6789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bodrum City, Turkey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

The difficulty was in finding the hotel. Drive to the top of St Jean street and turn left at the top of the hill. Then take immediate right. Then take first left which is after about 60 metres. . About 100 metres along this road Hotel Nilya is on your left.

Oleander shrubs at the entrance hide the small nameplate. There is space for about four cars to park outside. The other clue is that next door to Hotel Nilya you may see a dog sitting quietly and tied up, sitting on the step.

Breakfast was very nicely served and several people said what a nice hotel it is. Information about visiting Ephesus was provided on arrival which was very thoughtful. The location is great for visiting the hilltop basilica and in going into the town centre.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claire913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Hotel is close to the train station (5 min walk) and right next to St John's Bascilica. Staff are very friendly and extremely helpful. They helped us arrange a rental car (to drive to Pamukkale - which by the way is well worth the trip). Rooms are small but decorated tastefully. The breakfast was basic but nice. They offered to cook eggs each morning in any style we wanted. Hotel Bella is a sister hotel around the corner - we ate at the restaurant there one night and it was ok - nothing great - there are several better options closer to the train station. The town is small and is very close to Ephesus - the hotel offers a free shuttle service to/from the main gates.

Room Tip: Hotel Nilya and Bella are close to each other and the rooms looks very similar. Nilya is located on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dregish_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

This is a beautiful little hotel in Selcuk with a good location near the castle and St John's church, and a short walk to the town's activity centre. The owners and staff are extremely friendly (I'm terrible with names yet can remember them all) and always offerring me apple tea (because I became hooked on it). They even shared a 'nargile' pipe with me though wasn't really my thing, one puff was enough :-) Breakfast is a set type rather than buffet but its fresh and delicious, and served in a beautiful little garden with sprawling lemon tree (full of yet to ripen lemons too!). The room is beautifully decorated, as expected given the owner has a Turkish decorative shop. There is no television but that wasn't missed at all.

Aboslutely loved it and will return one day, hopefully with more of a budget so I can grab some of the gorgeous items in the owner's shop.

PS: While in Selcuk I highly recommend visiting the nearby hillside town of Sirince (about 8km away). And if you consider yourself fit enough, the walk up (rather than bus) to Sirince is well worth it for stopping and enjoying the views of the beautiful countryside (reward yourself when you get there with lunch at Yorgo's on entering the town - try the plum wine, yum!). There is also a tiny little 'school village' called Matematik (mathematics) around 1km walk from Sirince that you can visit. You might also see a monument built into the mountain around 1km further from Matematik if you keep your eyes peeled (don't try and walk there though, inaccessible as far as I could tell despite my best efforts)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cdchi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Selcuk hotels
0.0 mi away
Ayasoluk Hotel
Ayasoluk Hotel
#2 of 33 in Selcuk
304 reviews
0.2 mi away
Urkmez Hotel
Urkmez Hotel
#7 of 33 in Selcuk
512 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bella
Hotel Bella
#9 of 33 in Selcuk
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nazar
Hotel Nazar
#5 of 33 in Selcuk
621 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Akay
Hotel Akay
#19 of 33 in Selcuk
236 reviews
0.1 mi away
Livia Hotel Ephesus
Livia Hotel Ephesus
#13 of 33 in Selcuk
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nilya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nilya

Property: Hotel Nilya
Address: Ataturk Mah. 1051 Sok. No:7 | Selcuk Merkez, Selcuk 35920, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Selcuk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Selcuk
#2 Family Hotel in Selcuk
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Selcuk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Nilya 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nilya, located in the quiet area of St Johns Basilica. With 12 rooms, some 1st floor balcony level, views through the valley to 13th Cent. Isabey Mosque, Pamucak beach, beautiful sunsets or overlooking the garden courtyard. Other rooms on the ground floor opening to the garden courtyard, outdoor seating amongst trees, flowers, bird song and waterfall. Rooms are decorated in traditional Ottoman style, with hand carved furniture and marbled bathrooms. WI-FI access in each room. Relax in our lounge area with open fire (seasonal), enjoy filtered coffee or a drink from our bar, while relaxing with a book, or talking with other guests. Located within 5-10 mins walking distance of historical sites, museum and town centre. Free shuttle service to Ephesus. A mere 300 mtrs, 2 min walk from our other hotel, Hotel Bella. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Nilya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nilya Hotel Selcuk
Hotel Nilya Turkey/Izmir Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing