We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Oasis” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Nilya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Nilya
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Selcuk
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful Oasis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

We were at the hotel three nights and wished we'd booked for longer. The courtyard is a beautiful garden, the rooms are super clean, comfortable and tastefully decorated. The hotel is run and staffed by a family, and they treat their guests like honored family visitors. I could not recommend Hotel Nilya more highly.

As an example of their willingness to go above and beyond, my mother had badly sprained her ankle before we arrived. Knowing that it would be difficult for her to walk to any of the nearby restaurants, they offered to go get meals for us from their sister restaurant five blocks and up a steep hill away - two nights in a row. And, they took my mom her breakfast to the room all the days we were there. They were so thoughtful and so lovely to us, and the hotel itself was such a wonderful place to stay, I would happily stay there for several weeks.

Room Tip: Ask for the second floor so you overlook the courtyard but still have a view from your front door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    280
    101
    28
    10
    1
See reviews for
91
200
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

We chose this hotel based on the very good reviews it received on Trip Advisor. This is one of the few cases where I find I don't agree with the majority. We were lucky enough to have paid quite a bit extra for the "suite" on the second level. Our room was fine and nicely decorated. Our friends were in the standard rooms on the ground floor which were small and dark. Overall we found this hotel expensive compared with other similar hotels we had stayed in in many towns in Turkey (but maybe Selcuk is more expensive because it is close to Ephesus). Breakfast was also more limited than in most places of similar quality. We found the owner to be quite pushy for us to go to the restaurant in the other hotel he owned, which we ended up doing because there were 8 of us and other places seemed quite small. The location of the restaurant was great but the food was very average. He was also very disparaging about the company we had chosen for our Ephesus tour (see separate review) probably because we hadn't booked through him. Overall I struggle to see why this hotel gets such a high rating.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Kiwi-Traveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sechelt, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed at the Nilya for two nights while on a 5-week trip through the Middle East. While slightly on the upper end of our average room cost, the Nilya does offer good value, particularly when factoring in the complimentary transfers to various locations. Selcuk is also a great base to explore Ephesus. Our room was clean, with a modern bathroom, and decorated with Turkish art. The breakfast was very good and served in the walled courtyard, which was also a good base for relaxing at the end of the day with a cold Efis. Their sister hotel, the Bella, just a short walk away, offers a set plate dinner at a very reasonable price, served on a roof-top terrace. Nazim, the owner was extremely generous with his time, driving us to Ephesus, a lunch spot and then to a hilltop village in the afternoon. He also owns a gallery with Turkish Art and rugs and, of course, he would like you to make some purchases but there was no real pressure to buy.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SecheltWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

A beautiful hotel in a magic location. The room was excellent , very clean and nicely decorated with Turkish object d art. The staff were very, very friendly. The breakfasts in the courtyard were excellent. A very enjoyable experience.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Catherine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geraldine, New Zealand
Level Contributor
120 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We were a little disappointed. Nice atmosphere, nice room and excellent breakfast, but we thought it expensive for what you got. For example, we felt we should have got a TV in our room for the price. We've stayed in several pensions in Turkey and for less than half the price of this hotel, we got an excellent room, with ensuite and a TV.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hawean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Great hospitality in the best Turkish style, with sensitive clarity for non-Turkish guests about what's included. A native English speaker on the team is perhaps part of the secret of an excellently orchestrated and articulated service, but Nazmi and 'the boys' are so good in their own right too. Location ideal for Ephesus, where we'd say it's worth paying for a guide. The Basilica of St John is also worth a visit just over the road from the Bella, Nilya's sister, where we ate well on both our nights' stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 345Klaus88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Extremely friendly staff who were really helpful with everything we needed and beautifully decorated. Beds were very firm (fine for me but my partner found them uncomfortable) but a lovely stay overall. Excellent breakfasts. Nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank H B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Selcuk hotels
0.0 mi away
Ayasoluk Hotel
Ayasoluk Hotel
#2 of 32 in Selcuk
5.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bella
Hotel Bella
#8 of 32 in Selcuk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nazar
Hotel Nazar
#3 of 32 in Selcuk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Urkmez Hotel
Urkmez Hotel
#7 of 32 in Selcuk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cenka Hotel
Cenka Hotel
#14 of 32 in Selcuk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Akay
Hotel Akay
#18 of 32 in Selcuk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nilya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nilya

Property: Hotel Nilya
Address: Ataturk Mah. 1051 Sok. No:7 | Selcuk Merkez, Selcuk 35920, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Selcuk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Selcuk
#2 Family Hotel in Selcuk
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Selcuk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Nilya 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nilya, located in the quiet area of St Johns Basilica. With 12 rooms, some 1st floor balcony level, views through the valley to 13th Cent. Isabey Mosque, Pamucak beach, beautiful sunsets or overlooking the garden courtyard. Other rooms on the ground floor opening to the garden courtyard, outdoor seating amongst trees, flowers, bird song and waterfall. Rooms are decorated in traditional Ottoman style, with hand carved furniture and marbled bathrooms. WI-FI access in each room. Relax in our lounge area with open fire (seasonal), enjoy filtered coffee or a drink from our bar, while relaxing with a book, or talking with other guests. Located within 5-10 mins walking distance of historical sites, museum and town centre. Free shuttle service to Ephesus. A mere 300 mtrs, 2 min walk from our other hotel, Hotel Bella. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Nilya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nilya Hotel Selcuk
Hotel Nilya Turkey/Izmir Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing