We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Nilya
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Bella(Selcuk)(Great Value!)
US$39
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$38
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Saint John Hotel(Selcuk)(Great Value!)
US$63
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Kalehan(Selcuk)(Great Value!)
US$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Urkmez Hotel(Selcuk)(Great Value!)
US$30
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$28
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Homeros Pension & Guesthouse(Selcuk)(Great Value!)
US$32
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$26
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Nazar(Selcuk)(Great Value!)
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Wallabies Aquaduct Hotel(Selcuk)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (421)
Filter reviews
421 results
Traveller rating
281
101
28
10
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
281
101
28
10
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssister hotel bellathe ownercarved woodguide booklovely courtyardshort walkjohn's basilicatrain stationwould highly recommend this hotelephesus museumtilesirincepamukkaletemple
Filter
Updating list...
94 - 99 of 421 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is well located for the tourist sights but you will blasted out by the call the prayer at 5 in the morning. There is no sleeping thru it. The rooms are very small but we'll decorated. Owner promised tea coffee anytime. This was ok unless you wanted it early. Early breakfasts were promised by 7:00 but never ready until 7:30. Only got to eat 2 days because tour pickups were a few minutes late. Did not appreciate having to inhale my food. Some staff worked really hard others were indifferent. If I came back I would try choose another hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ladyjacket832000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

After reading all the glowing reviews we decided to book a room here for two nights during our stay in Selcuk. The only positive about this hotel was it's close proximity to all the major tourist attractions. Everything else was one pretty awful.

We got a hotel transfer for 140 turkish lira which was a little expensive but it's also pretty far away. Our first day started well enough. We met the owner who was very nice and gave us some complimentary tea and told us where everything was in town and what to see.

They offer free shuttle service to and from Ephesus which was one of the reason we chose to stay here. However, if you want to see the House of Mary they tack on a fee even though it's really close by which we didn't really understand especially when were going with other people.

The rooms were very small. We hardly had enough room for our suitcases. You couldn't flush the toilet with toilet paper and had to put that in the trash bag which of course makes the entire room smell. The A/C didn't work very well and it smelled very musty when we used it.

Our room was supposed to include breakfast both days. The first day we did get our breakfast in time for our 7 AM tour but it was a joke. We basically got a small plate with a few slices of fruit and a couple small veggies. That was hardly a breakfast but at least we got something that day. Our next day we were leaving early for the airport and asked if we could have something ready in time since the kitchen would be closed. We were told our breakfast would be ready. We were leaving early so if that wasn't possible we would have understood and made other arrangements in advance. But since we were told it was not a problem we did not. Our shuttle picked us up along with another couple but apparently the person who was supposed to have our breakfast ready for us slept through his alarm and we didn't get anything.

We asked the hotel for a partial refund since we didn't get our breakfast and this was declined as it was explained to us that breakfast is offered free so not getting a free service is not worth anything somehow. They further justified not refunding us any money by saying our shuttle to the airport on the way back was only 100 TL instead of 140 TL since we were sharing the shuttle with other people. Well, everywhere I have stayed on our trip usually charges quite a bit for private transfers but shared transfers are always cheaper so I don't think this argument holds much weight. Additionally, 100 TL for a shared shuttle is still a pretty high price in my opinion.

Next, we were running low on laundry and asked if we could have that done by the time we returned the following day around 5 or 6 PM. So we dropped it off in the evening and got it back the next evening and it still wasn't dry! Apparently they have to hang dry the clothes but even still it was 92 degrees outside that day so I don't know how everything was still wet. We asked them to dry it again but my wife had to go to dinner that night wearing her dirty clothes from the hot day since it wasn't finished in time. Most places would give you a refund if they don't perform an adequate service but this hotel just makes excuses. We paid 40 TL (10 TL per KG) which was the most expensive we have seen anywhere on our trip and for that price you should definitely have your clothes dried.

Overall, this hotel was pretty terrible with the small rooms and bad customer service. The staff all seemed nice enough but were mostly young boys who didn't speak English very well. They usually just nodded and smiled. We always had to request that they go find the one staff member there that actually could speak english. Usually TripAdvisor is very good with their recommendations. In fact, this was the only hotel out of 9 during our 17-day trip through Croatia, Greece & Turkey that didn't live up to the positive reviews. Live and learn.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The Hotel Nilya is owned by Erdal Kahya and his partner. Erdal is a high-end collector and shop owner who has decorated the Nilya with some of the most beautiful Turkish tiles and artifacts imaginable. They have a sister hotel (the Bela) around the corner which has a restaurant on the roof with a view of the small, quaint, lovely city of Selcuk. We had a magical day at the ruins of Ephesus and then returned to this oasis for dinner and drinks on the roof of the Bela. It does not get much better than this. Paradise.

Room Tip: There are just 2 floors to this boutique and all rooms look onto a courtyard with a garden and fountain. Absolutely beautiful setting.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I have no complaints about the Nilya and would recommend staying there. BUT, avoid the shop the owners have in their sister hotel Bela. We bought two tiles which were set in a frame while we waited. The tiles were to be flush with each other. When I got home I opened the package I saw the 1/8 " gap between the tiles. The tiles were glued in place and had not shifted. They were set this way. Yes I should have looked more carefully before I let the owner wrap the package. But he should have prepared the tiles correctktly. This is not a cheap tourist trap but a high end carpet and tile boutique. I feel he ripped us off. BEWARE.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This is our third visit to Hotel Nilya, and we are so pleased to report that it is as wonderful as ever! We splurged for their spacious “suite,” number 12 which provided us with some much needed extra room, as well as the use of the wonderful second floor terrace. Their breakfasts are among the best we have had in our six weeks in Turkey, and someone there knows very well how to scramble an egg! The staff members are all exceedingly friendly and helpful, and the hotel is kept in exceptional repair. We are very much looking forward to a return visit to Hotel Nilya when next we are in Turkey! And don’t forget dinner at their sister hotel, Hotel Bella. Their set menu for soup, two starters, main course and dessert for 25 TL is an exception bargain, as well as being very tasty!

Room Tip: We like the extra space in room 12; ask for it specifically!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappytrailsTucsonAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews