We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prefer Bella with same owner”
Review of Hotel Nilya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Nilya
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Selcuk
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Prefer Bella with same owner”
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here one night following a night at Hotel Bella. The room was larger and was furnished in the same style. Breakfast was served in the courtyard. As mentioned, there is a mosque across the street and we were abruptly awoken in the wee hours of the morning. It is up and over the hill from downtown in a residential area and it is pretty dark if you come back to your room late. Staff didn't speak much English but the owner was able to assist us. Free transport to and from Ephesus and you can borrow a guidebook as well.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank melindasr5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    101
    28
    10
    1
See reviews for
91
201
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ramsey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This was probably the best place I stayed in Turkey. Their courtyard is very pleasant, the breakfast is good(included), and it is very close to the main drag of Selcuk and about a 3-5 minute walk to St. John's Basilica. The staff are very helpful and friendly. They have a sister hotel, Hotel Bella, and between the two, they coordinate free transportation to the Ephesus, the main attraction near Selcuk. The car picked us up right in front of Bella(across the way from St. John's Basilica. They were also able to provide us transportation to the House of the Virgin Mary, though there is a fee for this trip as the location is further up the mountain. They can also provide airport transfers from the airport in Izmir, though it can be a little expensive. The owner, Erdal, was always around either Hotel Bella or Hotel Nilya and was able to answer all of our questions easily(he was the one who drove us to Ephesus). They suggest their gift shop in Hotel Bella and the restaurant on Bella's rooftop. They didn't try to sell us too hard on the rugs and gifts like I thought they might, and the restaurant was pretty decent with good views and cost about 25 lira for the meal.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Francis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is well located for the tourist sights but you will blasted out by the call the prayer at 5 in the morning. There is no sleeping thru it. The rooms are very small but we'll decorated. Owner promised tea coffee anytime. This was ok unless you wanted it early. Early breakfasts were promised by 7:00 but never ready until 7:30. Only got to eat 2 days because tour pickups were a few minutes late. Did not appreciate having to inhale my food. Some staff worked really hard others were indifferent. If I came back I would try choose another hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ladyjacket832000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

After reading all the glowing reviews we decided to book a room here for two nights during our stay in Selcuk. The only positive about this hotel was it's close proximity to all the major tourist attractions. Everything else was one pretty awful.

We got a hotel transfer for 140 turkish lira which was a little expensive but it's also pretty far away. Our first day started well enough. We met the owner who was very nice and gave us some complimentary tea and told us where everything was in town and what to see.

They offer free shuttle service to and from Ephesus which was one of the reason we chose to stay here. However, if you want to see the House of Mary they tack on a fee even though it's really close by which we didn't really understand especially when were going with other people.

The rooms were very small. We hardly had enough room for our suitcases. You couldn't flush the toilet with toilet paper and had to put that in the trash bag which of course makes the entire room smell. The A/C didn't work very well and it smelled very musty when we used it.

Our room was supposed to include breakfast both days. The first day we did get our breakfast in time for our 7 AM tour but it was a joke. We basically got a small plate with a few slices of fruit and a couple small veggies. That was hardly a breakfast but at least we got something that day. Our next day we were leaving early for the airport and asked if we could have something ready in time since the kitchen would be closed. We were told our breakfast would be ready. We were leaving early so if that wasn't possible we would have understood and made other arrangements in advance. But since we were told it was not a problem we did not. Our shuttle picked us up along with another couple but apparently the person who was supposed to have our breakfast ready for us slept through his alarm and we didn't get anything.

We asked the hotel for a partial refund since we didn't get our breakfast and this was declined as it was explained to us that breakfast is offered free so not getting a free service is not worth anything somehow. They further justified not refunding us any money by saying our shuttle to the airport on the way back was only 100 TL instead of 140 TL since we were sharing the shuttle with other people. Well, everywhere I have stayed on our trip usually charges quite a bit for private transfers but shared transfers are always cheaper so I don't think this argument holds much weight. Additionally, 100 TL for a shared shuttle is still a pretty high price in my opinion.

Next, we were running low on laundry and asked if we could have that done by the time we returned the following day around 5 or 6 PM. So we dropped it off in the evening and got it back the next evening and it still wasn't dry! Apparently they have to hang dry the clothes but even still it was 92 degrees outside that day so I don't know how everything was still wet. We asked them to dry it again but my wife had to go to dinner that night wearing her dirty clothes from the hot day since it wasn't finished in time. Most places would give you a refund if they don't perform an adequate service but this hotel just makes excuses. We paid 40 TL (10 TL per KG) which was the most expensive we have seen anywhere on our trip and for that price you should definitely have your clothes dried.

Overall, this hotel was pretty terrible with the small rooms and bad customer service. The staff all seemed nice enough but were mostly young boys who didn't speak English very well. They usually just nodded and smiled. We always had to request that they go find the one staff member there that actually could speak english. Usually TripAdvisor is very good with their recommendations. In fact, this was the only hotel out of 9 during our 17-day trip through Croatia, Greece & Turkey that didn't live up to the positive reviews. Live and learn.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The Hotel Nilya is owned by Erdal Kahya and his partner. Erdal is a high-end collector and shop owner who has decorated the Nilya with some of the most beautiful Turkish tiles and artifacts imaginable. They have a sister hotel (the Bela) around the corner which has a restaurant on the roof with a view of the small, quaint, lovely city of Selcuk. We had a magical day at the ruins of Ephesus and then returned to this oasis for dinner and drinks on the roof of the Bela. It does not get much better than this. Paradise.

Room Tip: There are just 2 floors to this boutique and all rooms look onto a courtyard with a garden and fount...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I have no complaints about the Nilya and would recommend staying there. BUT, avoid the shop the owners have in their sister hotel Bela. We bought two tiles which were set in a frame while we waited. The tiles were to be flush with each other. When I got home I opened the package I saw the 1/8 " gap between the tiles. The tiles were glued in place and had not shifted. They were set this way. Yes I should have looked more carefully before I let the owner wrap the package. But he should have prepared the tiles correctktly. This is not a cheap tourist trap but a high end carpet and tile boutique. I feel he ripped us off. BEWARE.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson AZ
Level Contributor
217 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This is our third visit to Hotel Nilya, and we are so pleased to report that it is as wonderful as ever! We splurged for their spacious “suite,” number 12 which provided us with some much needed extra room, as well as the use of the wonderful second floor terrace. Their breakfasts are among the best we have had in our six weeks in Turkey, and someone there knows very well how to scramble an egg! The staff members are all exceedingly friendly and helpful, and the hotel is kept in exceptional repair. We are very much looking forward to a return visit to Hotel Nilya when next we are in Turkey! And don’t forget dinner at their sister hotel, Hotel Bella. Their set menu for soup, two starters, main course and dessert for 25 TL is an exception bargain, as well as being very tasty!

Room Tip: We like the extra space in room 12; ask for it specifically!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappytrailsTucsonAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Selcuk hotels
0.0 mi away
Ayasoluk Hotel
Ayasoluk Hotel
#2 of 33 in Selcuk
5.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bella
Hotel Bella
#8 of 33 in Selcuk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nazar
Hotel Nazar
#5 of 33 in Selcuk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Urkmez Hotel
Urkmez Hotel
#7 of 33 in Selcuk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
0.1 mi away
Livia Hotel Ephesus
Livia Hotel Ephesus
#13 of 33 in Selcuk
5.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Akay
Hotel Akay
#19 of 33 in Selcuk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nilya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nilya

Property: Hotel Nilya
Address: Ataturk Mah. 1051 Sok. No:7 | Selcuk Merkez, Selcuk 35920, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Selcuk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Selcuk
#2 Family Hotel in Selcuk
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Selcuk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Nilya 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nilya, located in the quiet area of St Johns Basilica. With 12 rooms, some 1st floor balcony level, views through the valley to 13th Cent. Isabey Mosque, Pamucak beach, beautiful sunsets or overlooking the garden courtyard. Other rooms on the ground floor opening to the garden courtyard, outdoor seating amongst trees, flowers, bird song and waterfall. Rooms are decorated in traditional Ottoman style, with hand carved furniture and marbled bathrooms. WI-FI access in each room. Relax in our lounge area with open fire (seasonal), enjoy filtered coffee or a drink from our bar, while relaxing with a book, or talking with other guests. Located within 5-10 mins walking distance of historical sites, museum and town centre. Free shuttle service to Ephesus. A mere 300 mtrs, 2 min walk from our other hotel, Hotel Bella. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Nilya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nilya Hotel Selcuk
Hotel Nilya Turkey/Izmir Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing