We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall good”
Review of Hotel Nilya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Nilya
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Selcuk
Certificate of Excellence
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overall good”
Reviewed 31 October 2009

We arrived on a bus late at night...I'd recommend taking a taxi to this place if it's dark out because the sign out front is not obvious and you have to ring a bell to be let into the gated courtyard. The courtyard itself is beautiful. Our bedroom was clean and large. The shower in the bathroom was pretty small, even compared with other showers in Turkey, but it was clean and in working order. Shampoo and soap provided. The breakfast in the morning was definitely a highlight, egg soft-boiled to perfection and everything was just delicious.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swimgirl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    101
    28
    10
    1
See reviews for
91
201
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2009

The rooms are very modest and I would think are priced just ok. It smelled a bit of bathroom even with the closed door. The hotel's patio and service is very lovely. It is very conveniently located (just few hundred meters from St. Jean and Isabey) and in a quiet area. Please make sure you call and do not rely on e-mails if you need something last moment (as they didnt see my mail send day before). I was very pleased with hotel service as I needed to leave very early and a little caring breakfast was prepared for me to go. I have visited other places that I found lovelier and with excellent views, but it is only matter of availability and your budget (it was impossible to find much available when I travelled, but you may see my other reviews), so personally if other first choices were not available, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelista2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2009

We stayed here for a few nights when we toured around the local area and it was brilliant. The courtyard is magical and after sightseeing all day it was so relaxing to retire to our own little oasis. Breakfasts are delicious. The family who own Nilya are really hospitable, we arrived first thing in the morning without much notice and they had our room prepared. Our stay here will not be forgotten.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lola1England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2009

We spent two nights at Nilya. The hotel is in a lovely neighbourhood. The garden is just wonderful and very relaxing. Breakfast was very well done and the delicious jams were home made. We checked out quite early in the morning and were given breakfast earlier than the normal start time. The hotel booked a trip to pammukkale for us and helped us out with the trip back to Izmir.

The rooms are fairly basic but comfortable. Lack of TV was a shock at first but we got over it.

This is a great hotel in a lovely town with lots of character. Far preferable to the soul-less chain hotels we normally end up booking.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simran18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Azerbaijan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2008

The Nilya Hotel is tucked away in a quiet street near St Jean Basilica, and a short walk from Selcuk town centre.

We had a triple room which comprised a reasonably large double room with the single bed partitioned off by a folding wooden screen. The room was upstairs and entered from the balcony/terrace which had comfy chairs for reading or admiring the view. You could have tea or drinks here.

The general decor and ambience of the Nilya is delightful, with Turkish antiques and decor - everywhere you look you see something Turkish. It's very homely and inviting.

The staff were welcoming and helpful. In the evening we walked down to the town and ate at Eski Ev (Old House) Restaurant - the delightful cheery waiter here is the same guy as will serve your breakfast at Nilya.

The excellent breakfast was served at pretty tables in the cool flower filled garden.

We only stayed one night, but it's the sort of place I could imagine spending a few days in. There is certainly plenty to see in the area.

The Nilya was perfect for us.

  • Liked — Attention to detail. The decor and welcome. Overall atmosphere.
  • Disliked — Nothing really.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Girl_on_the_GoiNBaku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2008

We arrived late 7.30pm and were soon joined by friends at the Hotel. A request for drinks was made and these were provided with some tasty snacks.
The bathroom plumbing is showing the problems that most of Turkey faces, a very aged system in need of urgent upgrade.
But this did not overly interfere with the comfort of our stay.

A delightful garden for a luscious breakfast was indeed an attraction of this homely accommodation. The hotel is well located and we had no trouble finding it from the Otogar.

  • Liked — peaceful location, lovely garden, beautifully decorated rooms
  • Disliked — slightly smelly bathroom, no internet
  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank almondblossom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2008

On arrival, we were shown to our small room & spent one night in it before requesting another one. Hurray, it was much bigger & solved the problem of space. However, the call to prayer is very loud & we did not have earplugs - so be warned.

Nevertheless, the new room was great. Apart from the tiny bathroom, where you need to sit side saddle on the toilet (I am not a big person either). The hotel also provides a list of 'RULES', I don't know who they have staying there, but we saw mostly mid-aged folk.

Having said all the negative stuff first, now for the good points. It has a beautiful garden, delicious breakfast & lots of Turkish style about the place. I took photos of the garden, it was so pretty.

Choose a room downstairs to lessen the noise, request a bigger room if there are 2 of you. The staff are very helpful & will make calls for you & give good advice.

For evening meals, go to Bella Hotel around the corner. The food is tasty, cheap & its close by. And they are the nicest Turkish people.

  • Liked — location & garden
  • Disliked — nearby mosque noise
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OKAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Selcuk hotels
0.0 mi away
Ayasoluk Hotel
Ayasoluk Hotel
#1 of 33 in Selcuk
5.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bella
Hotel Bella
#8 of 33 in Selcuk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nazar
Hotel Nazar
#5 of 33 in Selcuk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Urkmez Hotel
Urkmez Hotel
#7 of 33 in Selcuk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
0.1 mi away
Livia Hotel Ephesus
Livia Hotel Ephesus
#13 of 33 in Selcuk
5.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Akay
Hotel Akay
#19 of 33 in Selcuk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nilya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nilya

Property: Hotel Nilya
Address: Ataturk Mah. 1051 Sok. No:7 | Selcuk Merkez, Selcuk 35920, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Selcuk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Selcuk
#2 Family Hotel in Selcuk
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Selcuk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Nilya 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nilya, located in the quiet area of St Johns Basilica. With 12 rooms, some 1st floor balcony level, views through the valley to 13th Cent. Isabey Mosque, Pamucak beach, beautiful sunsets or overlooking the garden courtyard. Other rooms on the ground floor opening to the garden courtyard, outdoor seating amongst trees, flowers, bird song and waterfall. Rooms are decorated in traditional Ottoman style, with hand carved furniture and marbled bathrooms. WI-FI access in each room. Relax in our lounge area with open fire (seasonal), enjoy filtered coffee or a drink from our bar, while relaxing with a book, or talking with other guests. Located within 5-10 mins walking distance of historical sites, museum and town centre. Free shuttle service to Ephesus. A mere 300 mtrs, 2 min walk from our other hotel, Hotel Bella. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Nilya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nilya Hotel Selcuk
Hotel Nilya Turkey/Izmir Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing