We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible service!”
Review of Belis Konuk Evi

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Selcuk
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Belis Konuk Evi
Ranked #22 of 34 Hotels in Selcuk
Reviewed 8 May 2014

To make it short. Jimmy's said they have hot showers on all the websites and when I asked jimmy he said they have 25 hrs of hot water because many places only have hot water at certain times.... Well there were 0 hours of hot water. Also at many places it says their internet is free so I didn't like it when later they attempted to charge me for it! Also the staff overall.....had horrible attitudes. I didn't enjoy my stay there. I don't recommend it!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank john l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (292)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 292 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

Jimmy's Place is in a good location, a short walk from the bus station and not far from the central part of town. We paid a small fee for them to drop us at Ephesus but walked back without any problems.

Like others have noted, their website is a bit misleading. We never found a pool and the only food available was the complementary breakfast, which was sub par compared to the breakfasts at other places we stayed in Turkey.

They do have a carpet shop, supposedly for hotel guests only (not sure if that's true). We did end up purchasing a rug, since it was nearing the end of our trip and we found one we loved. Having compared prices around Turkey and even since we've returned home, we're happy with our purchase. I wouldn't call them "pushy" but they did offer the "service" of accompanying us to the nearest ATM so we could pay in cash.

My biggest complaint was the cleanliness of the sheets. The first night we arrived the sheets were full of hair. When we asked that they be changed, they delivered a set to us but left it to us to remake the bed. That led to us observing a little too closely the condition of the mattress. Some things are just better left unknown.

We did meet some nice travelers here and took advantage of the wifi to make skype calls home. All things considered (especially the price and location), we'd probably stay again but it isn't necessarily a place I'd recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Shannon203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

stayed for two nights in off season. no-one else around. Kinda felt like we were in the way.
GOOD: location in centre of town & close to train station. ok breakfast, friendly hosts, price not too bad.

BAD: Limited hot water, especially in mornings. Being asked to settle account in cash at the last minute even though booking had been made by credit card. Prior notice of this would have been appreciated.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ozpix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Decent accommodation in Selcuk, not very pricey, good base to explore the places around. But do not expect much guidance from the hotel owner... he will guide you to the travel companies who will charge you a fortune to show places which you can conveniently walk. Even the hotel owner will not tell you that 3 of the tourist spots are walkable from his hotel. He would recommend some travel agent to you. Best is to explore on your own and trust the internet when you are anywhere in Turkey. The train station is close to the hotel, in case you wish to plan a day trip to Pamukkale from Selcuk.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iyer_kaushik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

good stay, basic accommodation. Friendly owner. Breakfast included. The Ephesus tour was arranged from the hotel. All important sites could be visited in a day with a guide and bus. Nice beach nearby, which could be reached by public (mini)bus.
no complains.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZuluMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Jimmys Place is a very nice clean hotel situated in the centre of Seluk with off street parking nearby. We had a Standard Double room which included an ensuite (toilet and shower). Nice and lean though the water is quite cool in the mornings as it is solar based so make sure you shower well in the evening! Ephesus is within walking distance - about 2 km to the lower gate. We would have stayed more than the two nights except we felt we had been conned, which was disappointing after all the good reviews we had read. We arrived on the 9th November and the price on the website for a Standard Double Room is very clear. From the 1st November, it is a low season rate of 25 Euros compared to the high season rate of 30 Euros, however Jimmy refused to honour the price on his website and charged us 30 Euros. He said they had not updated the website yet. We felt this was very poor and it leaves a bad taste. My advice would be o get the price confirmed on an email before you arrive.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Wendy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Jimmy's Place is located very close to the bus station so you can see why this place is on to a winner. The room was basic, but clean and the staff friendly and good value. Even though it was one of one more basic places I stayed during my visit to Turkey, it was the only hotel with a sink plug,

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WCOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Selcuk hotels
0.3 mi away
Ephesus Palace
Ephesus Palace
#11 of 34 in Selcuk
33 reviews
5.4 mi away
Aqua Fantasy Aquapark Hotel & SPA
5.2 mi away
Richmond Ephesus Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Anz Guesthouse
Anz Guesthouse
#1 of 18 in Selcuk
239 reviews
0.1 mi away
Urkmez Hotel
Urkmez Hotel
#6 of 34 in Selcuk
530 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cella Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belis Konuk Evi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belis Konuk Evi

Address: Ataturk Mh. 1016 Sok. No: 19, Selcuk 35920, Turkey (Formerly Jimmy's Place)
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Selcuk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 34 Hotels in Selcuk
Price Range: £8 - £26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belis Hotel moved to a much better building & location in 2015. 2016 saw renovations: specially-designed 'boutique' deluxe rooms through to budget rooms- something for EVERY traveller! Elevator, central heating, A/C, restaurant with experienced chef, Travel Desk with qualified travel agent, & the biggest and best travel library on Turkey you will find anywhere! Get the most from your visit to Selcuk ! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jimmy`s Place Hotel Selcuk
Jimmys Place Selcuk
Jimmys Place Hotel Selcuk
Belis Konuk Evi Turkey/Izmir Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing