We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not clean”
Review of Hotel Akay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Akay
Ranked #19 of 33 Hotels in Selcuk
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We stayed in Akay Hotel for two days 5th and 6th of August 2013. When we arrived the room was ok but the toilet cover was not cleaned! (urine from the previous guest I suppose).
The roof top breakfast is a good idea, but somehow flies have to be kept away, or else food must be covered. Butter was under direct sunlight and had melted.
The price is rather too much for what it offers.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michail P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 239 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2013

The hotel picked us up at the airport in Izmir, an hour away. We had rooms in the new section on the pool. The rooms were quiet, modern, and the finishings were high quality, though the room, and especially the bath, was small. The outdoor private patio was huge! The pool was beautiful and very private with an adjacent bar area. The rooftop restaurant is good (I selected my fish directly from the cooler), and it overlooks the 5th century remains of the church of St John (the apostle's remains are supposed to have been there), a modern mosque (12th century!) and the ancient remains of the temple of Artemis, one of the wonders of the ancient world. The location is perfect for touring Ephesus. The hotel is family owned and is extremely well run, friendly, and helpful. It just felt good! Is it the Four Seasons? No. It is a very comfortable place to stay near Ephesus, and a great place to relax for a few days and see western Turkey by day trips. The staff is exceptional. They define Turkish hospitality! You will love it too. Say hi to Ria for me!

Room Tip: The new sections on the pool are probably the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nobodycareswhoiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

the hotel was situated just off the main area and was very quiet. The room was comfortable and clean. We had dinner the night we stayed which was very nice but we found that the breakfast very average with not much selection. The staff was extremely helpful and would do anything to help you including driving us to the Ehpesus ruins.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

This nice small hotel suited us well, particularly in comparison with where we could have stayed. It feels like staying in a nice quiet Turkish village just by being slightly off the main road. After Istanbul, it was a delightful change! We were upgraded to the rooms by the pool, which were nicer. The pool is great to cool off in a hot day's sightseeing. The staff were helpful. Everything was clean and worked. We were in one of back rooms behind the pool which I like because it was cool and dark and meant we didn't need the air conditioning at night (not that it didn't work, I just prefer not to sleep with it on). We drove through Kusadasi (the closest big town) on the way to a national park for lunch and a swim (a great recommendation from the hosts) and were very very pleased not to have stayed at one of the big hotels there.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amelia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Owned by a delightful Swiss-Turkish couple (Ria and her husband) the Hotel Akay is quite nice. Ask for more pricey new rooms in the section by the pool, although all rooms in the older part have been refurbished and are now good too.
I was surprised that orange juice, eggs, and a couple of other items cost more on the breakfast buffet; seems better to charge a few dollars more for the rooms and offer all food choices "free" at breakfast. Charging extra makes the hotel look not very generous. Or just offer the usual breakfast which is fine, and forget the OJ and eggs altogether.
Ria is wonderful and will help with any request and she speaks perfect English, Turkish, Swiss German and probably more! I will come back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaCynthia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

A moderate hotel close to town. Our room, a twin was smelly and stuffy. The air on blew but didn't cool. Threre were two bed lamps but one wasnt connected to a socket and there was none in the vicinity of the lead!
The shower didn't work and there was a leak out of the bottom on to the bathroom floor. The shower also had mould. The orange street light shone into our room and the curtains were not blackout. The food in the restaurant was nothing special and included soggy warmed up chips.
Good points the reception staff and the new swimming pool.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank olderbutnotout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Set in a beautiful position in Selcuk underneath the Baptistry and with views of the Temple of Artemis. Small comfortable rooms but our shower room could have done with a bit of maintenance. Gorgeous pool and garden, lovely rooftop terrace/restaurant which was great for breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Molly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Selcuk hotels
0.3 mi away
Urkmez Hotel
Urkmez Hotel
#6 of 33 in Selcuk
529 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bella
Hotel Bella
#8 of 33 in Selcuk
763 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ayasoluk Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nazar
Hotel Nazar
#5 of 33 in Selcuk
625 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ephesus Hillside
Ephesus Hillside
#14 of 33 in Selcuk
10 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Kalehan
Hotel Kalehan
#12 of 33 in Selcuk
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Akay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Akay

Address: Isabey Mah. 1054 Sokak 3, Selcuk 35927, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Selcuk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 33 Hotels in Selcuk
Price Range: £34 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Akay 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a welcoming and friendly hotel located next to Isa Bey Mosque and just a short walk to the town center. Our hotel has 23 rooms, 51 beds. 9 rooms with Satellite system TV, Bathroom , A/C. Wake up service, Internet, Laundry service, parking lot, safety box at reception, book exchange, pick up from bus station, horse ride. This is the place where you can experience the best dishes of the Traditional Turkish Cuisine, while you enjoy the magical views of Isabey Mosque, St. John Church and the Temple of Artemis. We have swimming-pool in our garden, you can sunbathe on free deck chairs. A garden bar that you can have some cold drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Akay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akay Hotel Selcuk
Hotel Akay Turkey/Izmir Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing