We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hotel I Would Definitely Go Back To”
Review of Hotel Kalehan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Kalehan
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Selcuk
Reviewed 20 March 2014

In March, 2014, following advice gleaned from TripAdvisor contributors and others online, we visited Ephesus, Turkey. This is a small report on that trip from Istanbul to Ephesus which perhaps could be helpful to others. We flew on one of the airlines that has a free shuttle bus from Izmir to Selcuk (Atlas Airlines). The only real hitch there was finding where to catch the shuttle at the airport. You just go out the door opposite where you come in and cross the bridge. At the end of the bridge just past the steps, turn left and walk straight and you will see the Atlas busses. There are several. Look at the placard in the window. Have your boarding ticket stub ready, they will ask for it. (0n the way back, use your confirmed flight documents). Right near the bus stop, which is in front of a small mosque, is a helpful tourist information office who can give you a free map of Selcuk and direct you to your hotel. Also they will tell you to catch the shuttle for the return flight by waiting across the street from the mosque, 2 hrs before plane time.
In Selcuk, we stayed at a beautiful hotel, the Kalehan Hotel, which we found praised online, and our experience was similarly positive. The hotel itself is beautiful, a place that someone has obviously loved. The room was very pleasant, clean, and generous. The staff was attentive and helpful. One of the staff, Seda, is a licensed guide. She took us in a minibus to and very capably guided us through Ephasus, and we went with her also to the Virgin Mary House and St John’s Basilica. Don’t miss the Terrace Houses because they cost extra. In fact, don’t miss Ephasus if you like old ruins.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patricia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hakan O, Ön Büro Müdürü at Hotel Kalehan, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Dear our Guest Patricia,

We thank you very much for your reviews of our hotel. You seem that you observed very detailed everything on your way to Selcuk from the begin. This is very helpful also for those who will come here. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us as well. We would like to be able to welcome you once again later in our hotel.

Best regards,
Hakan Ozdemirci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (448)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Kalehan
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 448 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

I heard this has once been a boutique hotel. Indeed the reception and restaurant are cozy with a turkish touch! The room was also nice and well decorated, but the bathroom....
Needs URGENT renewal! Falling apart, rusty, ugly!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zavar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hakan O, Ön Büro Müdürü at Hotel Kalehan, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear our Guest,

We thank you for your reviews of our hotel. Although you valued in good way the result of your vote seems very low. We wonder why this concluded so! Nevertheless we wanted to find out which room you stayed in to fix the issues you mentioned here. Please advise us your room # by email to check properly. We have been awarded as Top Clean Hotel for 2013 by a very reputable online company. So we seriously felt down of your experience. We look forward to having your email sooner to fix this.

Best regards,
Hakan Ozdemirci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I was lucky enough to stay at the Hotel Kalehan with my sister and mother on our recent trip to Selcuk. We were greeted at the train station by Mehmet's friendly face and our trip just improved from there. When we arrived at the hotel (which is on the main road and a very short walk to the center of town), we were offered tea while we sat by the crackling fire in the lobby. We were shown to our room and were happy to see that the rooms were furnished with cute antiques (with plenty of space for our suitcases). Our room had a hot water pot and tea and coffee as well. The bathrooms weren't big, but clean, and the was plenty of hot water for all of our showers. Complimentary breakfast in the dining room was delicious, lots of choices and everything was fresh and homemade (try the deviled eggs!). And the coffee was delicious (a nice break from the typical instant coffee we have found throughout Turkey). We also ate dinner in the restaurant on our last evening, and it did not disappoint.
The staff were happy to offer advice and suggestions during our stay, and all the suggestions were wonderful. We even booked a private excursion for our trip to Ephesus, the House of the Virgin Mary, and Sirince. Both our guide (Seda) and our driver (Mehmet) were delightful.
I hope to return to the Hotel Kalehan someday in the spring or summer, as the pool, garden, and outdoor restaurant looked like they would be lovely in warmer months.
If I ever find myself in Selcuk again, I will definitely stay at Hotel Kalehan.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blackenberrypie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hakan O, Ön Büro Müdürü at Hotel Kalehan, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear our guest,

We are also delightful for your kind reviews of our hotel. As you stayed on the last nights of 2013 with us while it was freezing cold the fire place in our lobby helped maintain the comfort and happiness for you, we believe. As you pointed out we wish to welcome you next time in warmer days in Selcuk to experience the pool etc.

Best regards,
Hakan Ozdemirci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stayed here as part of a tour, but we found the Kalehan hotel family to be very friendly, welcoming, and accommodating. We didn't require any assistance with things such as getting to/from the historic sites, places to eat or anything like that, but in every instance that we required anything, everyone at the hotel was more than willing to help, and always striving to go above and beyond their duty of service. I found the head waiter, Mehmet, who we had quite abit of interaction with to be extremely helpful, friendly, and quite funny too!
Further to this, I'd highly recommend Kalehan hotel as a great base to explore the historic sites of the Selcuk region - Needless to say, your best off having a vehicle to get around Turkey, but they have generous parking facilities, and are located on the main strip of road, close to local, family run (and delicious) eateries.
P.S. A cute little lady named Pakize sells lace out the front of the hotel during the days, and she's wonderful company for a short chat, and some interesting photos!

Enjoy Selcuk, Ephesus, The Temple of Artemis, Priene, Miletus, Didyma, Kusadasi, Pergamon and Pammukkale which are all within reasonable (Pergamon, and Pammukkale are abit further) driving reach.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Apostcardfromus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hakan O, Ön Büro Müdürü at Hotel Kalehan, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear our valued Guest,

We thank you very much for your kind words of our hotel. We were all glad that you left us in complete satisfaction and shared all what you experienced within our property. We wish you a happy and full of peace in 2014 as well.

Best regards,
Hakan Ozdemirci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Booked Kalehan Hotel during winter season fm 8-10 Dec 13 for a family of 5. Nice hotel with lots of antiques and old photographs. Very beautiful and comfortable dining area with fireplace. Even lobby have huge fireplace. Staff are friendly. Only problem there's no elevator. Rooms are spacious for a couple but the triple room is a bit cramp. We were given the single beds and all are quite old. Have to wait quite a while for the hot water to run. Peaceful area. Within walking distance about 5-10 mins to eateries and small shop houses selling souvenirs. A few minimarts opposite the hotel. Overall surrounding with very good view of the castle atop the hill. We had dinner at the hotel and the food is really tasty.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noor711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hakan O, Ön Büro Müdürü at Hotel Kalehan, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Dear our valued Guest,

We thank you very much for your reviews of our hotel. Your experience tells us the comfort and pleasant you had were satisfying afterall. As we mentioned you about the hot water takes only 2-3 minutes to the rooms since it pours down the roof. Also we have the antique concept in our hotel but this of course does not mean we have old furnitures. On the contrary we have totally renewed all furnitures recently and kept the originality. We would be glad to welcome you back in our hotel later again.

Best regards,
Hakan Ozdemirci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We stayed two nights here. Staff were friendly and helpful. Wood fires in the dining room. Rooms a good size and reasonably comfortable. No hot water one day but piping hot the next. Overall charming.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Queenslanders_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hakan O, Ön Büro Müdürü at Hotel Kalehan, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2013

Dear our valued Guest,

We thank you very much for your reviews here. We would like to point out of hot water issue as we have the water heating equipment on the roof and takes time to be in rooms may mislead its availability. Otherwise we have always how water available in our hotel. We hope to welcome you next time again in our hotel.

Best regards,
Hakan Ozdemirci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

This hotel is by far the best of the five "four-star" hotels we stayed in during our week-long trip around Turkey. It really warranted it's four-star rating, whereas some of the other hotels we stayed in did not. Calm and quiet, despite being on a main road. Large, spacious well-appointed rooms, with a couch and sitting area in addition to the large and comfortable double bed. Only negative was the shower, which had a curtain, not a door, and as a result the floor got very wet when one showered. The shower fixtures were also a bit dated.

Small, intimate restaurant which served a excellent food and lunch and dinner. Copious and varied breakfast buffet. There was even real coffee, unlike the powdered stuff they served in all the other hotels we stayed in.

The season was bit too cool to allow outdoor swimming, but there is a large pool for guest use. Beauriful and well maintained garden. This hotel is defintely a must.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldwideAtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hakan O, Ön Büro Müdürü at Hotel Kalehan, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear our valued Guest Richard N,

Thank you very much for your kind reviews of our hotel. We always try for the best service to provide the optimum quality for our guests. We are truly pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We wish to welcome you once again in our hotel.

Best regards,
Hakan Ozdemirci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Selcuk hotels
0.3 mi away
Urkmez Hotel
Urkmez Hotel
#6 of 33 in Selcuk
528 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ayasoluk Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Ephesus Hillside
Ephesus Hillside
#15 of 33 in Selcuk
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bella
Hotel Bella
#8 of 33 in Selcuk
763 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nazar
Hotel Nazar
#5 of 33 in Selcuk
625 reviews
0.4 mi away
Livia Hotel Ephesus
Livia Hotel Ephesus
#9 of 33 in Selcuk
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kalehan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kalehan

Address: Ataturk Cad No: 98, Selcuk 35920, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Selcuk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Selcuk
#8 Romantic Hotel in Selcuk
Price Range: £37 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Kalehan 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 46 rooms, pool & rose garden with a nice restaurant inside our property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Kalehan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalehan Hotel Selcuk
Hotel Kalehan Turkey/Izmir Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing