We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Staff!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Kalehan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Kalehan
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in Selcuk
Vero Beach, FL
Level Contributor
253 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Fantastic Staff!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

I have never stayed a Hotel where the staff was more accommodating. They could make anything happen.

The rooms were adequate and clean. Location is great...a short walk to town.

Breakfast was very enjoyable with fresh orange juice.

I would stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pwiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hakan O, Ön Büro Müdürü at Hotel Kalehan, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear our Guest,

We thank you very much for your reviews of our hotel. We believe you had a nice stay with us and was enjoyable with the details you mentioned. We would be delighted to welcome you back again in our hotel.

Best regards,
Hakan Ozdemirci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    155
    55
    21
    7
See reviews for
101
159
21
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We had a fantastic time at Hotel Kalehan. Even though the hotel itself was rustic and lacked maintenance, the fun-loving manager Mehmet more than made up for it. We stayed there for 3 days but ended up making friends with all staff members. In fact the executive chef Ramadan cooked a special vegetarian meal for us.
If you are looking for luxury may be Kalehan is not the right place but if you want an experience that you can remember then please stay at Kalehan. Interact with the manager and staff for an enriching experience.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Datta-66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hakan O, Ön Büro Müdürü at Hotel Kalehan, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear our Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words of our hotel. We appreciate them indeed. We were all glad that were able to provide nice atmosphere while in our hotel. Hopping to welcome you back again here.

Best regards,
Hakan Ozdemirci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

nice rustic ambience. very poor english skills but you will get along fine if you know French. Owned and operated by a couple. The wife can be quite haughty and inflexible at times. can be pushy about tours. good breakfast

Room Tip: rooms in the main building are bigger compared to the middle cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank adithak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hakan O, Ön Büro Müdürü at Hotel Kalehan, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear our Guest,

We thank you for your reviews of our hotel. However we felt some sort of sad upon your impressions. In our hotel our staff have been quite well enough speak in English, French and German for years. Our hotel has been running by Koptur Tourism for recently and the managers ( on your say "the couple" can provide any help when needed. We have provided at a very late night time a dinner for you on your check in by calling our cook from home and also served your special meal every morning as you requested. We do not agree for the words you spent for them! Hope you may find a better accommodation next time in our property.

Best regards,
Hakan Ozdemirci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We were there in the off season, quiet, no frills, not quite sure why we at the very back of the property. Didn't see another guest, but the hospitality was superb. Too cool for the pool; well established landscaping.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hakan O, Ön Büro Müdürü at Hotel Kalehan, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear our Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your reviews of our hotel. We appreciate your efforts to let us know of your experience. We would be glad to welcome you back again in our property.

Best regards,
Hakan Ozdemirci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights and made it our base to explore the Selcuk area, easily visiting Kusadasi, Sirince, Ephesus, St John's Basilica, Temple of Artemis, and not so easily visiting Pammukale and Hieropolis (long, long day trip from Selcuk, 6hrs in bus :( )

The staff were very friendly and helpful, picking us up from the train station, and arranging the pick up of our lost luggage from the Izmir airport the next day (!). I believe some of them are qualified tour guides although we had pre-arranged our day tour of Ephesus and Pammukale ahead of time. They certainly gave good advice to visit the quaint village of Sirince in the hills by local dolmus (minibus), and to have a look at Kusadasi too.

The room was comfortable (but a bit dusty) in a charming pool and rose garden setting, the bathroom worked well and when we had a slight problem with the toilet, the staff fixed it quickly.

We enjoyed the wonderful choice of food for breakfast and the coffee was real, strong and hot! We also ate at the restaurant for dinner twice and it serves good quality meals and lovely Turkish local wines. The décor and atmosphere of the restaurant is wonderful (see my pic).

The location is on the (slightly busy) main road into Selcuk, but any traffic noise was dulled by the high stone wall surrounding the hotel and lots of trees. It's an easy 5 minute walk to the village centre restaurants and shops and bus station.

We can highly recommend the Kalehan and thank the staff for making our stay memorable and enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hakan O, Ön Büro Müdürü at Hotel Kalehan, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear our Guest,

Thank you very much for your reviews here. We are also glad that you were pleased to have our recommendations of your trips. Since the Selcuk Town is located in the heart of all important areas, it is very advisable and reasonable to do these daily tours nearby staying in our town. It was absolutely nice to see your pictures taken while you stay with us. Once again, we are thankful for your impressions of our hotel.

Best regards,
Hakan Ozdemirci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goreme
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

When traveling we try to stay in small hotels, within walking distance to local activities. Kalahan provided just that. The hotel is not recent and has not been renovated: the room was good (#402) and had everything that we expected : shower with hot water, t.v.. ample room for two. It opens to a rose garden. The pool was functioning but it was too cold to use when we were there. The food was good, but not fabulous. The owners were present and helpful. On a price-value ratio, we were amply satisfied and would recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hakan O, Ön Büro Müdürü at Hotel Kalehan, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear our Guest,

Thank you very much for your reviews here. We have to piont out that we have renewed all the beddings in 2011 and also rooms have been decorated for a better stay. We see you were in our special room as you stated the room number. We hope to be able to welcome you again later in our hotel.

Best regards,
Hakan Ozdemirci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decorah, Iowa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

We spent spent 2 nights in this wonderful older hotel in Selcuk when visiting the area with an educational tour. It's close to Ephesus and other sites in this area and is right on the edge of town so it's easy to walk to anywhere in Selcuk. It's clean and affordable with a nice restaurant. We had breakfast and dinner included in our stay and the food was incredible with excellent service. They have a nice pool and outdoor seating area. I highly recommend this place when visiting this part of Turkey.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hakan O, Ön Büro Müdürü at Hotel Kalehan, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear our Guest,

Thank you very much for your reviews of our hotel. We were glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Your thoughts will encourage us to do better in our business. This will make us continue for sure on our way of what we have been doing constantly. We do hope to be able to welcome you back in our hotel.

Best regards,
Hakan Ozdemirci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Selcuk hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nazar
Hotel Nazar
#3 of 32 in Selcuk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cenka Hotel
Cenka Hotel
#14 of 32 in Selcuk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ayasoluk Hotel
Ayasoluk Hotel
#2 of 32 in Selcuk
5.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Urkmez Hotel
Urkmez Hotel
#7 of 32 in Selcuk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bella
Hotel Bella
#8 of 32 in Selcuk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
0.5 mi away
Canberra Hotel
Canberra Hotel
#17 of 32 in Selcuk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kalehan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kalehan

Property: Hotel Kalehan
Address: Ataturk Cad 57, Selcuk 35920, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Selcuk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Selcuk
#8 Romantic Hotel in Selcuk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Kalehan 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 46 rooms, pool & rose garden with a nice restaurant inside our property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Kalehan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalehan Hotel Selcuk
Hotel Kalehan Turkey/Izmir Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing