We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Independant Travellers Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Kalehan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Kalehan
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in Selcuk
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Independant Travellers Gem”
Reviewed 29 December 2008

This is a great little family owned basic hotel. The hotel is old and is basic but if you are looking for a nice, clean place to rest your head in Turkey, this little place is great. Very close to the Ephesus Museum, Church of St John and walking distance (30 Mins or so) to Ephesus itself. Bear in mind it is a basic hotel, but the service is great, the staff go out of their way to make the stay enjoyable and have stayed in far worse than this one. Overall a good quality and honest 2 star hotel but the service and feel of the hotel is great. In the winter the fire is cooking and there are board games and other things to entertain yourselves in the lobby. The food is also very good, having eaten there one of the nights we stayed. Food in town is aimed at tourists so be wary of the touts that will promise the world and deliver less. Hotel staff are happy to advise good places to eat outside of their hotel. Breakfast is also a good touch. I would reccomend an early start or late afternoon start to see Ephesus to beat the crowds, if you walk, you can stop in about half way at the Temple of Artemis ruins. The short cab ride to Mary, Mother of Jesus house is worth it, Selcuk is a cool little town, out of season it is very quiet, I can only imagine what it would be like in high season. Stay at the Kalehan

  • Liked — The relaxed family run hotel and the good vibe
  • Disliked — On the main road, not a big issue
  • Stayed January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CameronandKristy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    155
    55
    21
    7
See reviews for
101
159
21
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sonoma County
Level Contributor
178 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2008

This very simple hotel is a decent choice, given what we saw as alternatives, for a stay at Selcuk (Ephesus). The hotel is on a major thoroughfare and as a result is noisier than I would prefer. The staff is friendly and helpful (by Turkish standards). But the rooms are very basic as might be expected at a two star level property.

  • Liked — Prximity to Ephesus
  • Disliked — basic level of amenities
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank martin66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2008

This hotel was quite nice to stay in for a short while but the rooms could do with a bit of an upgrade. The sheets they provide to use as a cover are quite rough (like table cloth) and the beds are quite worn looking. The showers was also in need of an upgrade as we spent longer in the shower than necessary due to the shower literally 'dripping' water down (due to lack of water pressure). Having said that though, it was a clean hotel and the restaurant offered really nice food. Would recommend it for a short stay only.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank nz7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpine, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2008

A Turkish friend booked this place for us in Selcuk (we traveled together). It is a beautiful property with a nice dining room, an amazing courtyard, garden, and pool area, and quaint rooms and suites. Staff upgraded us to a nicer room upon check-in, and were extremely kind and helpful throughout our 2-night stay, even bringing some much-appreciated cay late one night after a long hot day.
Air con and bathroom were great, and if you're into satellite TV they have something like 800 channels so you can easily find news or sports in your own language. The rooms could have been cleaner, but overall it was a great experience and 5 minutes in the hammock out in the garden easily made up for some dusty floors.
Particularly if you are looking for an oasis after a hot day touring the local historical sites (Ephesus, Sirince, etc.), Kalehan is a very welcome and relaxing property with great people providing great service.

  • Liked — Garden courtyard
  • Disliked — Cleanliness in rooms
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobalNamaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2008

Attentive staff providing excellent tourist information. All staff: reception, room and table service, gardener, are smiling and very nice. We had a superior room. Luckily because it was not particularly big. Very well tended garden. Very good restaurant

  • Liked — Restaurant, pool, gardens
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heureuxvoyageurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2008

We found this hotel using our Fromer's Guide Book. The place is beautiful, full of antique collectables, and the grounds and gardens are well kept. The hotel is clean. The staff is friendly and engaging. The hidden gem is the restaurant. The food we ate here was the best we had in all of Turkey! All the ingredients are local and organic, and the kitchen and chef(s) are truly oriented toward providing a meaningful and excellent dining experience. We strongly recommend staying here and eating here if you are travelling in the area.

  • Liked — the food
  • Disliked — distance from airport
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rahulioathena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2008

After a not so great hotel in Istanbul, it was refreshing to arrive at Hotel Kalehan. The staff were welcoming and assisted us in bringing our luggage to the room. The rooms are small (expected in Europe), but clean with white walls. The courtyard and pool are perfect for relaxing after a long day of tourist activities. We ate dinner in the hotel restaurant a couple of the nights and enjoyed good service and good food. I would definitely come back here again.

  • Liked — Nice courtyard and pool; and the friendly service
  • Disliked — Smallish rooms
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LondonCalling2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Selcuk hotels
0.6 mi away
Hitit Hotel
Hitit Hotel
#26 of 32 in Selcuk
149 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ayasoluk Hotel
Ayasoluk Hotel
#2 of 32 in Selcuk
295 reviews
0.3 mi away
Urkmez Hotel
Urkmez Hotel
#7 of 32 in Selcuk
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nazar
Hotel Nazar
#3 of 32 in Selcuk
619 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bella
Hotel Bella
#8 of 32 in Selcuk
753 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Akay
Hotel Akay
#19 of 32 in Selcuk
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kalehan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kalehan

Property: Hotel Kalehan
Address: Ataturk Cad 57, Selcuk 35920, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Selcuk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Selcuk
#8 Romantic Hotel in Selcuk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Kalehan 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 46 rooms, pool & rose garden with a nice restaurant inside our property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Kalehan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalehan Hotel Selcuk
Hotel Kalehan Turkey/Izmir Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing