We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing hosts, delicious food, right in the heart of Selcuk!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homeros Pension & Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Homeros Pension & Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 32 Selcuk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing hosts, delicious food, right in the heart of Selcuk!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We loved absolutely everything about the Homeros Guesthouse!
The moment my family of six arrived, we were graciously welcomed into the dining room and offered tea and coffee. Shesiye then brought us olive oil, honey, butter and all the necessary utensils so we could have a little picnic lunch before setting out for the afternoon. She also invited us to have dinner at the hotel, and it was honestly one of the best, and most filling, meals we had in Turkey. Everything was homemade, fresh and delicious, and she even took extra care to prepare a special vegan meal for my brother! The breakfast the following morning was equally delicious. Tons of fresh fruit, eggs, bread, pomegranate jam, cheese, yogurt, and many cups of coffee. Shesiye even gave us extra oranges to pack for our lunch!
Our hosts further went above and beyond by offering to drive us to the top of Ephesus (so we could get an early start and avoid some of the crowds!), and even arranged two cars to fit all six of us. Dervis was funny and helpful along the way and really made us all feel at home.
The 3 rooms we stayed in were beautifully and uniquely decorated. The beds were super comfortable, and the rooms had everything one might need including warm blankets, shampoo, wifi etc. etc. My sister loved the decorations so much that she bought the ceramic coasters right off the mantle!
Our only regret was just spending one night in Selcuk. We hope very much to be able to go back to Homeros Guesthouse again soon.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    606
    142
    23
    11
    5
See reviews for
82
372
116
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai
Level Contributor
104 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Stay here 2 nights (new year eve) and am sure could not find a better place for my visit to Efes. Homy, friendly, quiet, well located. We also eat one night the food cooked by the owners mother and it was delicious. And all of that for a very reasonable amount.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank CaldeiradaSilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

Stayed with Dervis and Shesiye for three days in December. Fabulous family, perfect location in the heart of town but still up a quiet street away from hustle of tourist district. Best breakfast fruit we had during our third trip to Turkey. Phenomenally kind and funny, they speak excellent English and German and the rooms are a steal of a price, well below a lot of the mediocre ones along main tourist streets.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tsekhok76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hadley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

We loved this place! It is centrally located and the owners are super friendly. They kept plying us with food and tea, and drove us to the top of Ephesus, so we didn't have to deal with the mini bus. The decor is fabulous: Turkish rugs and tapestries everywhere. Our room looked like a Sultan's palace. The only negative was that the heat in the bedroom didn't quite do the job on a winter night, but there was a wood stove in the common room, which was toasty warm. I would still come back happily at any time if I visit this area again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank veggiegourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marrakech, Morocco
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

I loved this place so much I chose to return on the last night of my six-week trip before flying back to Istanbul for an international flight. From the moment I arrived I felt so at home. Tea and biscuits in the cozy salon upon arrival. The always-smiling Shaziye who is just a delight to sit and chat to (and she makes amazing Turkish coffee) will do anything to help. Dervish takes care of his guests to ensure we feel at home and like family and will do anything to ensure a wonderful stay. Returning for one night I felt like I was going home. This place is just so cozy and close to everything. Love love love it here!!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Livingmydreamat29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Babylon, New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

We visited in early November for four days. We are low-maintenance guests that prefer mostly to wander on our own and slip quietly in and out of the hotel without too much fuss. Selcuk in November is a great place to wander the streets and eat where the locals do at their price. Homeros was good for us. The place was clean and quiet. Coming to breakfast at 9 am gave us time for a bit of relaxed conversation with Saziye, which we appreciated. Great hostess.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank drdoc49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

We loved our stay at the Homeros Pension. Dervis and his sister are wonderful people and made us feel right at home. Dervis picked us up from the airport and took us back at the end of our stay. The breakfasts were fantastic and I recommend eating at the pension at least one night for a delicious home-cooked meal (with more food than you can even eat!).

Dervis went out of his way to ensure we had a great stay in Selcuk. This included personally driving us to the Aegean Sea (no charge!) because I wanted to dip my toes in the water and he didn't want us to overpay by taking a taxi. What service!

Our room was comfortable and this pension was conveniently located. One word of warning - Ephesus isn't as close as everyone made it seem. You have to be ready for a long walk back. Also, St. Mary's house is only accessible by taxi or car (unless you want to hike 9km up a mountain). We just weren't quite prepared for how long of a walk it was back to the town.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Selcuk hotels
0.0 mi away
Ayasoluk Hotel
Ayasoluk Hotel
#2 of 32 in Selcuk
5.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Nilya
Hotel Nilya
#6 of 32 in Selcuk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bella
Hotel Bella
#8 of 32 in Selcuk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nazar
Hotel Nazar
#3 of 32 in Selcuk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
0.2 mi away
Urkmez Hotel
Urkmez Hotel
#7 of 32 in Selcuk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
0.1 mi away
Boomerang Guesthouse Ephesus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homeros Pension & Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homeros Pension & Guesthouse

Property: Homeros Pension & Guesthouse
Address: Ataturk Mah. 1048. Sok. No:3 Selcuk Merkez, Selcuk 35920, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Selcuk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Selcuk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1991 a popular place with travelers, run by Dervis with the help of his mother (she cooks great meals) and his sister Oya. The roof terrace gives a splendid 360" view over the old part of Selcuk town, with many antique sites a stone's throw away. Guest rooms are divided over 2 buildings (across the street) and are uniquely decorated with local antiques. Most rooms have en-suite bathroom and aircon. Free: transportation to Ephesus, use of internet (wireless), bicycle use. Every evening before dinner wine is served on the roof terrace to make the beautiful sunset even more enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Homeros Pension & Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homeros Pension And Guesthouse
Homeros Pension & Guesthouse Hotel Selcuk
Homeros Pension & Guesthouse Turkey/Izmir Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing