We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant stay at Homeros Guest House.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Homeros Pension & Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 31 Selcuk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2014

A pleasant enough guesthouse with a friendly welcome and a better than average room.
We were disappointed in both breakfast and dinner.
The breakfast was overly large but consisted mainly of tomato , cucumber and carrot.
Dinner which was a tapas type meal was very rushed and all over in 30 minutes not giving much time for conversation with fellow guests which is of course one of the pleasures of staying at a small guesthouse.
We chose to dine out the next evening , taking longer and watching the interesting passing parade.
We found the owners a bit ' over the top' and probably didn't really need the owners sales push for a friends carpet shop.
The steps leading to this accommodation are a bit of a struggle with luggage.
William

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank willie173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (810)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

205 - 211 of 810 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

Wonderful place. Antiques and tapestries all around. Nice family. Shaziye is an amazing cook! Very welcoming family atmosphere. Top terrace has a view, lower terrace for eating. Lovely all around. Dervis, the owner is very responsive by email. Shaziye takes care of your every need.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dbtravelor61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The rooms are decorated in a unique way, somehow look quite old without much care, but still very lovely. There are too many steps up and down so it would be hard if you have a lot of suitcases to manage. The staffs are friendly and the terrace restaurant is nice. The toilets are large and spacious.

Room Tip: There is a room that has a very lovely balcony with a swing. You should ask to get that room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

My remarks:
1. No hot water in the morning.
2. Pile of dust under the bed.
3. Difficult front door lock.
4. Plenty of places to slip and fall.
5. Other than hotel all the shops are at bottom of a hill.
6. Owner tried some sales ploys to get me to go carpet shopping at his friend's carpet store, "Honest Ali's".
7. Forget the internet connection.
8. I let a tour agency in Gocek book me into this place. Big mistake on my part. I should have stayed in Izmir where there are first class hotels. Be carful of letting a tour agency book you into a hotel you know nothing about.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank DoctorCopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We had a great time at this guest house! The place was very well decorated (very cute). The owner met us a couple streets down to help us find the place, and then helped us get settled in (they were very helpful). Every night (for a small price), there is a home cooked meal (delicious!!) with multiple courses in an outdoor but covered area (very well decorated) (definitely recommend). They also have a roof top area where you can look out over the town and see the sun set.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hibiscus0550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

was here on a one night stay in a room with shared bathroom.

location - nice location. not directly in the center, but a bit off center - about a 7 minute walk to the small town center. located near the temple of artemis and st. john basilica, on the way back from ephesus. quiet neighbourhood.

hotel - small family run hotel. the hotel is furnished throughout with turkish rugs/antiques etc... including the rooms. might feel a little cluttered for some, but for me it was interesting and gave a great historic vibe. rooms are on the 2nd and 3rd floor. no elevator. the hotel has an amazing laid back rooftop terrace where some guests hang.
the hotel is family run and the hosts are extremely friendly, happy to assist with any request and give tips on the attractions.

rooms - our shared room was on the small size. not much space. the bed was comfortable. the rooms clean. beddings should probably be updated, although they keep with the hotel's antique feel. nonetheless they are clean. the room had air conditioning. the outside shower and bathroom were well kept as well.

breakfast - great extensive breakfast. includes the standard fresh bed, egg, spreads, etc. but also a few slices of fresh fruit - watermelon, melon, cherries... everything was fresh.

overall - great option. rooms and hotel are unique. service is very friendly and the prices are really low for what you are getting.
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nir E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Why come back to the same pension when there are so many other places to see?
Because Selçuk is the best!
Beause Homeros Pension is the best :-)

No really, my most recent trip to Turkey brought me to different places: Bergama, Assos Cannakale ... all very nice.
But as soon as I came back to Selçuk, I experienced the special feeling of the place!
Just go there and discover it for yourself.

And for me, without any doubt, Homeros pension is THE place to stay in Selçuk.
I love how the rooms are decorated, breakfast is very good, dinner is even better, the location is super, but even more important ... the people ... Dervis turns a smile on everyone's face and his sister Saziye is so helpful ... They make the place extra!!!

Because of the positive vibes in the pension, and because of the nice setup of the dining area, also the guests start to feel extra happy and there's a lot of interaction between the guests, which is sometimes getting rare in these laptop, wifi and smartphone times.

See you next time, Homeros Pension, I had a very nice stay... again!! :-)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tomvan71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Selcuk hotels
0.2 mi away
Urkmez Hotel
Urkmez Hotel
#6 of 34 in Selcuk
530 reviews
0 mi away
Ayasoluk Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Ephesus Palace
Ephesus Palace
#11 of 34 in Selcuk
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ephesus Hillside
Ephesus Hillside
#16 of 34 in Selcuk
10 reviews
0.1 mi away
Boomerang Guesthouse Ephesus
0.3 mi away
Saint John Hotel
Saint John Hotel
#3 of 31 in Selcuk
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homeros Pension & Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homeros Pension & Guesthouse

Address: Ataturk Mah. 1048. Sok. No:3 Selcuk Merkez, Selcuk 35920, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Selcuk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Selcuk
Price Range: £20 - £32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1991 a popular place with travelers, run by Dervis with the help of his mother (she cooks great meals) and his sister Shaziye . The roof terrace gives a splendid 360" view over the old part of Selcuk town, with many antique sites a stone's throw away. Guest rooms are divided over 2 buildings (across the street) and are uniquely decorated with local antiques. Most rooms have en-suite bathroom and aircon. we organise transportation to Ephesus,free use of internet (wireless), bicycle available to use. we have one of most beautiful panoramic view and unforgetable sunset , Every evening before dinner wine is served on the roof terrace to make the beautiful sunset even more enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Homeros Pension & Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homeros Pension & Guesthouse Hotel Selcuk
Homeros Pension And Guesthouse
Homeros Pension & Guesthouse Turkey/Izmir Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing