We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hospitality and pleasant evenings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Homeros Pension & Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 32 Selcuk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Scandiano, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great hospitality and pleasant evenings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

Nice, clean and typical accomodations, excellent position to visit Selcuk and Efes, good breakfast and dinner in the beautiful terrace. But you mainly will remember Homeros Pension for the funny and pleasant atmosphere and the great hospitality of Dervis and all the staff!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mesules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    606
    143
    23
    11
    5
See reviews for
82
372
116
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Culver City, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

Delightful, humorous, helpful, hospitable and accommodating owner (Dervish), staff, family and friends. Diversity of guests made for joyful conversations. Lovely rooms, clean establishment, nearby parking and proximity to attractions made for an excellent one night stay and great value.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Udine, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

Great hospitality of the owners . Both Saziye and Dervis make you feeling at home. Very tasty breakfast. Rooms are a collection of curious and traditional decorations. Great place to meet other travellers and get information.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 628Paola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

I was traveling with my girlfriend and had booked my stay at homeros after reading online reviews. We reached izmir late at night and Dervis, the owner was there to pick us up. We reached our room in about an hour and around midnight. We were surprised that dervis's mother was preparing fresh hot vegetarian food for us at midnight! He had also made arrangements for our visit to Ephesus. Post dinner, he made us meet his cousin who drove us around the town and even bought us a round of drinks with his friends. I haven't experienced such hospitality and warmth at any place I've stayed before. Both, dervis and his girlfriend Barbara were very friendly and the breakfast they served the next morning was delicious (typical Turkish affair). We went on our Ephesus tour post breakfast. On coming back, I got an email from my boss to complete a task immediately and dervis offered me his laptop without any hesitation. As far as the rooms are concerned, they are clean, elegant, with comfortable beds, and spacious for 2. The hotel is right in the center of the town and only a couple of minutes away from the bars/restaurants/shopping. I highly highly recommend homeros pension for anyone traveling to selcuk!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank kaushalpar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

After read other reviews of this place, I can definitely agree with the majority about the Hospitality of the owners. After we arrived to Izmir from Istanbul by plane, and then we drove by car to this place, we were very warmly greeted by the lady who was in charge. We were immediately offered a coffee, some watermelon, and were seated in a dining area decorated typically in Turkish (Ottoman) style. Firstly, we were impressed with the service and hospitality. The lady sat with us, did some chit chat and eventually showed us our room. Our room was in another building, on the second floor; this whole house is also decorated in old Ottoman style, the room as well, which at first seems to one lovely and nice, authentic…however (and as many reviewers also said) there are a way way way too many things in the room; and having so many these stuff hanging and shelved around, it’s not hard to imagine all the dust that is impossible to clean. I wouldn’t say these rooms were not cleaned properly, but it’s just impossible to get rid of the dust from so many stuff around.
Anyway, we were asked if we’re interested in booking a traditional dinner that night, and we agreed. We went to the National Park to have some swimming in the sea (some 45 mins drive from the Hotel) and came back just before the dinner. Then we met the brother of the lady who welcomed us before. His name is Dervish, and he is surely a witty guy, entertaining the guest, but as well making some sarcastic jokes with the guests, and sometimes even crosses the line. At first it’s amusing, but then it becomes irritating as is so obvious that all that jazz is so artificial and fake. He actually mocks with his guests and it goes beyond the boundaries of hospitality. Anyways, the dinner was nice, typical meze style, all home cooking.
They do not accept credit cards, which I also consider as a negative point.
The location is however perfect. This place is really located just in the middle of all the things one should see and visit (Temple of Artemis, Ephesus, St.John’s Castle….)
Overall, it is a good place perfectly located, but the hypocrisy and bad humour of the owner might be irritating, and if one is allergic on dust, better avoid this place.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gostl_Ivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

This pension is comfortable and lovely, and Dervish's family does everything possible to create a great atmosphere. The meals and view from the terrace were some of the best parts of our stay in Selcuk. Definitely stay here!

Room Tip: In the summer they use the terrace for dinner, in the winter they use the dining room in the buildin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deanna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

As soon as I walked through the door, I was home. Dervish and everyone who worked here were some of the kindest people I met in Turkey - always open to having a conversation and ready to help you find the best way to see all the sights. Dinner and breakfast were great - Dervish's sister cooks delicious food and you get to sit around with the fresh wind blowing and hear about everyone's travelling stories. But perhaps my favorite part is the bedrooms. Each has it's own beautiful touch, but they are like returning to your own bedroom in Turkey. It is not staying in a hotel - it is returning home. This is a great place to stay and I will definitely be back!!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank charlenelilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Selcuk hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bella
Hotel Bella
#8 of 32 in Selcuk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ayasoluk Boutique Hotel&Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Urkmez Hotel
Urkmez Hotel
#7 of 32 in Selcuk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nazar
Hotel Nazar
#3 of 32 in Selcuk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Nilya
Hotel Nilya
#6 of 32 in Selcuk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.1 mi away
Boomerang Guesthouse Ephesus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homeros Pension & Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homeros Pension & Guesthouse

Property: Homeros Pension & Guesthouse
Address: Ataturk Mah. 1048. Sok. No:3 Selcuk Merkez, Selcuk 35920, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Selcuk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Selcuk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1991 a popular place with travelers, run by Dervis with the help of his mother (she cooks great meals) and his sister Oya. The roof terrace gives a splendid 360" view over the old part of Selcuk town, with many antique sites a stone's throw away. Guest rooms are divided over 2 buildings (across the street) and are uniquely decorated with local antiques. Most rooms have en-suite bathroom and aircon. Free: transportation to Ephesus, use of internet (wireless), bicycle use. Every evening before dinner wine is served on the roof terrace to make the beautiful sunset even more enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Homeros Pension & Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homeros Pension And Guesthouse
Homeros Pension & Guesthouse Hotel Selcuk
Homeros Pension & Guesthouse Turkey/Izmir Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing