We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great family run Boutique Hotel in the center of town”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Urkmez Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Urkmez Hotel
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Selcuk
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A great family run Boutique Hotel in the center of town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

This great family run Boutique Hotel is in the center of Selcuk within a short drive to the fabulous ruins of Emphases. The owners were extremely nice and accommodating. I would highly recommend this lovely hotel to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrmtrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    202
    42
    14
    2
See reviews for
74
248
43
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

If you are visiting the House if Mary or taking the Ephesus tour, then this is the place to stay. Spent two nights in November 2011. Hotel booked tour for me on arrival. One of the brothers took me to the airport. Good breakfast. Michael from Nigeria

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ajokpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2011

The hotel staff and management were so kind, helpful, and friendly! They were eager to help and please us and really treated us like family. From local recommendations to arranging our day excursions to neighboring Ephesus and Pamukkale, they ensured we had an amazing three days in the area. There was free wifi, a great breakfast spread, and was smack in the middle of Selcuk. Very comfortable and convenient. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aidil_o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

We agree with most of the other reviews about the stay. Good, clean, though not luxurious rooms. Good location, breakfast and wi-fi were much appreciated. But the customer service really stands out. We had forgotten our phone charger in the room on the day we left. When we remembered it on the way to the airport, the driver phoned the hotel and the owner hopped on his motorcycle to deliver the charger to us as we waited on the side of the highway. Hard to think of another hotel that would provide that level of service!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorothea30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
319 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

The staff was great but the room had seen better days (I hope). Wonderful breakfast & certainly well-located. The washroom was pretty dismal - clean - but dismal.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank imcarthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Thomas, Kentucky
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2011

Urkmez Hotel was very nice and very helpful. The 2 young men who run it, Jimy and Juju, could not have been a better host. The location is a big plus, within walking distance of just about everything.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms have a balconey. You can get one where you can see the old fortress
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terryoldschool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erie, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

My husband and I stayed at Urkmez Hotel for 1 night earlier this month. We chose it due to location, price, and overall reviews here on TripAdvisor. I made my reservation by contacting the hotel directly via email. They were prompt and helpful when responding. We had a double room with a balcony. The room was small, but there was enough space for our luggage. There was also an armoir had we stayed longer and wanted to "unpack" at all. The balcony was cozy and gave us a pretty view and fresh air. It was quite chilly the night we stayed, but we were able to adjust our heat slightly. There were extra warm blankets in the armoir, so we slept very comfortably. The bathroom is quite small, but it is sufficient. I was prepared for bad water pressure after reading another review, but I was pleasantly surprised to have a nice hot shower with very good water pressure.

Whenever we passed the reception desk, the person there (2-3 different ppl during the course of our stay) was very friendly and asked if we needed anything. There were signs indicating tours that could be arranged. There is free wi-fi. Free breakfast is offered on the terrace in the morning - traditional turkish fare, and was very good. We were also offered omelettes.

We had a rental car with us, and were able to park it in a lot 1/2 block away (no charge).

Overall, we had a very positive experience and were happy with our stay at Urkmez.

My only note: I would definitely consider this a hostel, not a hotel. In the reception area there are actually signs indicating that Urkmez has won accolades on hostel websites. If you are looking for luxury, this is not it. If you are looking for a clean, comfortable bed, a hot shower, a good breakfast, free wi-fi, and friendly, helpful staff at an affordable price and close to tourist attractions, then this fits the bill.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selcuk
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nazar
Hotel Nazar
#5 of 32 in Selcuk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nur Pension
Nur Pension
#15 of 32 in Selcuk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bella
Hotel Bella
#8 of 32 in Selcuk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ayasoluk Boutique Hotel&Restaurant
3.4 mi away
Kirkinca Hotel
Kirkinca Hotel
#1 of 4 in Sirince
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
5.2 mi away
Richmond Ephesus Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Urkmez Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urkmez Hotel

Property: Urkmez Hotel
Address: Ataturk Mahallesi, Namik Kemal Cad. No: 20, Selcuk 35920, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Selcuk
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Selcuk
#5 Romantic Hotel in Selcuk
#6 Family Hotel in Selcuk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Urkmez Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Freshly decorated rooms. We have a great central location; within metres from the bus and train station, banks, restaurants, shopping centres and just a few minutes drive from Ephesus and the biggest Aquapark in Europe. All rooms have ensuite, TV and A/C. Full Breakfast Buffet (incl. musli, seasonal fruits, omlette, cake, orange juice, filter coffee...) is served on our roof top terrace, included in the price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Urkmez Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Urkmez Hotel Selcuk
Urkmez Hotel Turkey/Izmir Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing