We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“When can I go back???”
Review of Urkmez Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Urkmez Hotel
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Selcuk
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“When can I go back???”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

There is so much more to Selcuk than just the incredible Ephesus: the fort, the food, the mosque, trip to Sirence, and Jimmy, Juju, Alira and the staff of the Urkmez. A great little find in the middle of town, a short walk to the bus station and the train, and the fort, and steps away from great restaurants. There isn't a lift, but the boys will carry your bags, and the rooms are smallish but we had a balcony with an amazing view of the fort - but the best thing by far is the Urkmez team, they are so sweet, kind and helpful and then there's the Canberra connection! Thanks Jimmy and JuJu I'm already planning my next trip to Turkey.

Room Tip: We had a room on the top floor (403 I think) its a few stairs but the view from the balcony is worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aussie_Rema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    204
    42
    14
    2
See reviews for
75
249
43
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We planned to stay two nights in Selcuk and ended up staying five. We enjoyed our stay at the Urkmez Hotel for all five nights. From the moment we walked in the door we were treated like family arriving for a reunion. The owner and his staff are so friendly and helpful and will try as hard as they can to make your stay memorable. As other reviews have said, the rooms are indeed small, the bathrooms even smaller, but they are very clean and the price is right. There's much to see and do in the Seluck region and didn't spend much time in them anyway. We had two rooms, one for our two children and one for mom and dad. The location is perfect, right in the center of downtown with so many restaurants and shops in surrounding streets. Selcuk had much more to offer than I had anticipated and each night there was a Ramadan market and entertainment outside the hotel. We enjoyed the sounds of the events late into the night. The owner helped us organize some day trips and a car rental. He tries so hard to help when he can. He's a bit of a superman. The morning we left he gave us a ride to the pick up location for the Onur Air shuttle (free and very convenient if you fly Onur Air from Izmir) and he even help load our bags on the van when it arrived. The breakfast is served up top on a patio with great views; the food is tasty but of course after day five it became a bit of the same, which was expected. He runs another small hotel in town (Ephesus Suites, I think) , a bit away from the center, but in a lovely neighborhood and It looks great as well, but more up market. BTW if you need a haircut/shave, go to the place right below the hotel where I got the best of both for a mere 30 Lira.

In short, great value and service and I highly recommend.

Room Tip: A few rooms have balconies, which are small but nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beemarcus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I came to Selçuk after an awesome stay in Cappadocia. Didn't really expect anything to match up to Goreme. But Selçuk main square is beautiful. I stayed at Urkmez Hotel and was warmly welcomed by Jimmy and Ozi (Oguzhan Ozan). The best thing about the hotel is that it's 1 min walk from the train station, 2-3 mins from the bus station and sits right in the middle of the most amazing local street that comes to life in evenings. It has a beautiful terrace where they serve breakfast and best place to sit and watch the sunset over the castle. You can almost get a birds eye view of the town. I would recommend this hotel and would hope to come back some day soon again. Thanks Jimmy and Ozi for making my stay most memorable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank khush i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This quaint hotel is only two blocks walk from the tram station out of Izmir. Jimi, the owner, went out of his way to make my stay comfortable, connected me to a local tour guide and helped me mail packages home through the Turkish Post Office. He quickly responded when there was a problem with the air conditioner in my room.

My twin room was clean- but I spent most of my time relaxing on the balcony overlooking the street cafes below. The hum of tourists dining, locals singing and music from one cafe brought a restful sense after a busy touring day. At times, I went down to join the liveliness; otherwise, I read a book, emailed family back home or just took in the sights and sounds of a quaint Turkish town.

One important fact for some travelers, is there is no elevator. My room was three flights up a narrow winding staircase-- but not narrow enough to trigger my claustrophobia. The staff carried my luggage up and down, thank goodness!

The Bascilia of St John is just a few blocks away. It was a pleasant walk through a nice neighborhood of eateries and shops. The hotel's rooftop terrace provided seating overlooking the Fortress... what a great place to begin the day with the breakfast that is provided.

I have seen some remarks about small bathrooms for this hotel. I found my bathroom adequate for my needs. I have no complaints about this facility or Jimi. A wonderful experience that I hope to repeat on my next trip to Selcuk.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deanna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Hi
We were at Urkmez property for a day. Great Place, absolutely friendly owners. Immediately on arrival they offered to arrange the day trips to Ephesus and other attractions near selcuk.
Selcuk its self is a very beautiful place and this property is located near bus depot, central location. Had nice time. Would definitely visit again.
Vinit Ketkar

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dhoondiraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is both close to the station and the entry to the ruins of St John's Basillica and to Selcuk Castle. It is also in amongst the centre of the town. Outside the door there are lots of cafes and restaurants, the remains of the aqueduct and the nearby local markets which give the town such a lovely atmosphere. There was a wide selection at breakfast on the top floor overlooking the Castle. No lift but only a few floors. Staff very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank annobrien1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seremban, Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My friend and I stayed at this hotel from the 22rd to the 23rd of May and honestly, this is my one regret- to not have booked more days at this hotel! The owners are such unbelievably kind and wonderful people. Having arrived after an 11 hour night bus ride from Istanbul, we tried to walk around Selcuk (which incidentally is also a very nice quaint town) but we soon got tired and decided to walk to Urkmez.

We came upon Jimmy, the owner who was just opening for the day and cleaning the front portion of the hotel. He quickly welcomed us and got about to seeing if he could get a room ready. While reading my passport, he actually said "Happy Birthday" when my birthday was over two days ago! Jimmy was very kind and perky and tried very hard to get us a room on the first floor (this hotel has no lifts and I guess the 11 hour bus ride showed on our faces) Mind you, this was only 8.30 a.m and check in is like hours away. That is not all, when he couldn't find any rooms ready, he actually invited us to have breakfast at the rooftop terrace. FREE breakfast and coffee and an early check in! (The breakfast was delicious too).

He quickly got a room ready and asked of we were comfortable, because he "could always get us a nicer room" if we were not happy. We were VERY happy with the room, it was spacious and for what we paid, very good value for money.

Jimmy also went out of his way to book us our bus tickets back to Istanbul the following night. He and his brother also made sure that the Ephesus tour we booked was in order (also something which we enjoyed very much). That is not all, Jimmy actually let us stay in his cozy lounge while waiting for the bus back to Istanbul. He switched on the air-con and asked if we preferred listening to music instead of staring at the programme shown on the tv which was in Turkish.

I felt that Jimmy and all in this hotel genuinely love and care for all their guests. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this to anyone wanting to visit Ephesus and Pamukkale. I would love to come back here again. Urkmez is hospitality at its best!

Room Tip: If you are not into climbing stairs, try and get rooms on the 1st or 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AfniAdnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selcuk
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nazar
Hotel Nazar
#5 of 33 in Selcuk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nur Pension
Nur Pension
#15 of 33 in Selcuk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bella
Hotel Bella
#8 of 33 in Selcuk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ayasoluk Hotel
Ayasoluk Hotel
#2 of 33 in Selcuk
5.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
3.4 mi away
Kirkinca Hotel
Kirkinca Hotel
#1 of 4 in Sirince
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
5.2 mi away
Richmond Ephesus Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Urkmez Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urkmez Hotel

Property: Urkmez Hotel
Address: Ataturk Mahallesi, Namik Kemal Cad. No: 20, Selcuk 35920, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Selcuk
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Selcuk
#5 Romantic Hotel in Selcuk
#6 Family Hotel in Selcuk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Urkmez Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Freshly decorated rooms. We have a great central location; within metres from the bus and train station, banks, restaurants, shopping centres and just a few minutes drive from Ephesus and the biggest Aquapark in Europe. All rooms have ensuite, TV and A/C. Full Breakfast Buffet (incl. musli, seasonal fruits, omlette, cake, orange juice, filter coffee...) is served on our roof top terrace, included in the price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Urkmez Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Urkmez Hotel Selcuk
Urkmez Hotel Turkey/Izmir Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing