We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with grt service- great value for money!”
Review of Urkmez Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Urkmez Hotel
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Selcuk
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel with grt service- great value for money!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed in Urkmez hotel for around 3 days this July and was a wonderful experience. A small hotel but extremely well run and managed.

The rooms were spacious and clean. One of our rooms was a family room which were two rooms joined together. The children's room had a great bunk bed which the kids enjoyed a lot and at the same time it allowed privacy.

The staff and owners were extremely helpful and provided us required information. The breakfast was fantastic- a great spread of turkish breakfast with some fresh cheese, traditional turkish food and also the sweetest watermelons:-)

The location is fantastic right in the center. Dont miss out on the little restaurant right below run by a lady and her family I think which gave outstanding traditional turkish food!

All in all a very happy few days in Urkmez and highly recommended for all types of travellers!

Room Tip: Choose rooms on lower floors as they dont have lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EktaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    205
    43
    14
    2
See reviews for
79
251
47
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This is a small, budget hotel very well located in Selcuk. Selcuk was a surprise for us ...it is pedestrianised...with lots of cafes and shops. It wi well located for trips to Ephasus. When we were there it was ramadan and each night after the breaking of the fast, there were night markets. Breakfast on the terrace each morning was great... lots of choices and great views. The staff were so helpful... a special mention for the young boys who were helping out during the holidays. They lugged our luggage up the stairs on our arrival and insisted on taking our luggage to the train station when we checked out.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clarabella_melb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is conviently located near the train and bus station. The rooms were clean with all the basic necessities. In addition, breakfast was served on the rooftop, so you'll get to enjoy a view while consuming their homemade dishes.

More importantly, the staff were friendly, though they have varying English proficiency.

Selçuk is a small, quaint town will sufficient food options nearby. It is also well connected to Ephesus, pamukkale and Sirince. All of which are worth visiting. But beware of the number of tourists at these places.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank genhxa2707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We really enjoyed our stay in this charming hotel. It reminds me of the lovely smaller 1 star and 2 star hotels In Europe I have stayed in with the narrow multi- level floors, and narrow stairs with charming architecture. The owners and staff were wonderful and new felt very comfortable.

Our family of 8 comfortably occupied 4 different rooms at the Urkmez in Aug 2013. The rooms were small and the bathroom a bit tight, but beautifully decorated and very comfortable. We enjoyed the view from our balcony on the 3rd floor. Especially at sunset.

Breakfast on the roof terrace was good and a relaxing way to start the day.

I like charming boutique budget hotels and the Urkmez was just right - great value and price with a lovely experience overall. No complaints!

Room Tip: Ask nicely when making a reservations ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NomadPeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This is a small hotel in the middle of Selcuk. Wonderful to explore Ephesus and surrounding areas. Make a short trip to Kusadasi and to the market in Tire on Tuesdays. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel as it is clean and very central.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Regina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Urkmez Hotel is just across the street to the train station, it has perfect location if you come to Selcuk by the train. The service people in the hotel were so friendly that we felt like at home. The hotel owner helped us even for planning our visit. We had reserved a car before arriving, but when we talked to the hotel owner, he suggested a few options to us. It turned out to be much better than driving by ourselves. The free breakfast was delicious, and the night view from the top floor to the St. John was awesome. We has a very pleasant stay in Selcuk, thank you, everyone in Urkmez Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hong g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

There is so much more to Selcuk than just the incredible Ephesus: the fort, the food, the mosque, trip to Sirence, and Jimmy, Juju, Alira and the staff of the Urkmez. A great little find in the middle of town, a short walk to the bus station and the train, and the fort, and steps away from great restaurants. There isn't a lift, but the boys will carry your bags, and the rooms are smallish but we had a balcony with an amazing view of the fort - but the best thing by far is the Urkmez team, they are so sweet, kind and helpful and then there's the Canberra connection! Thanks Jimmy and JuJu I'm already planning my next trip to Turkey.

Room Tip: We had a room on the top floor (403 I think) its a few stairs but the view from the balcony is worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aussie_Rema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selcuk
0.2 mi away
Nur Pension
Nur Pension
#16 of 33 in Selcuk
114 reviews
3.4 mi away
Kirkinca Hotel
Kirkinca Hotel
#1 of 4 in Sirince
249 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ayasoluk Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Aqua Fantasy Aquapark Hotel & SPA
5.8 mi away
Labranda Ephesus Princess
5.2 mi away
Richmond Ephesus Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Urkmez Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urkmez Hotel

Property: Urkmez Hotel
Address: Ataturk Mahallesi, Namik Kemal Cad. No: 20, Selcuk 35920, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Selcuk
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Selcuk
#5 Romantic Hotel in Selcuk
#6 Family Hotel in Selcuk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Urkmez Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Freshly decorated rooms. We have a great central location; within metres from the bus and train station, banks, restaurants, shopping centres and just a few minutes drive from Ephesus and the biggest Aquapark in Europe. All rooms have ensuite, TV and A/C. Full Breakfast Buffet (incl. musli, seasonal fruits, omlette, cake, orange juice, filter coffee...) is served on our roof top terrace, included in the price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Urkmez Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Urkmez Hotel Selcuk
Urkmez Hotel Turkey/Izmir Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing